We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful rooms, superb breakfasts with genuine and friendly hosts”
Review of Capernwray House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capernwray House
Ranked #1 of 1 Capernwray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kinsale, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful rooms, superb breakfasts with genuine and friendly hosts”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Often a high quality guest house can offer a more personal experience than a faceless, mass-market hotel chain. Never has this been more true of Roy and Mel Smith's Capernwray House. A genuinely warm welcome awaits you and the rooms are simply beautiful. I thoroughly enjoyed a three night stay here - in a perfectly location for both the charming Yorkshire Dales and the the southern Lake District. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johncollins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
John .... Thanks soo much for your 'glowing' review ... Glad you were so happy with your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime ... Mel and Roy x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
243
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

A return visit to Capernwray. A different room but just as comfortable, quiet and peaceful.
DO try the (pre-bookable) evening meal - it was delicious and excellent value.
Mel and Roy as kind and helpful as always.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank php5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed in the Robin room which was spacious and comfortable with a super king-size bed! The views were stunning and breakfast was lovely. Unfortunately my husband suffered during the night with toothache and the next morning the hosts offered us pain killers, use of a phone, dentist phone numbers etc and were genuinely interested and cared. Thank you!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the information about local pubs and restaurants useful.
We hope to return to Capernwray house in the future and look forward to another relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterSarah75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thanks so much for doing a great review for us ... Hope the too this now all fixed ... Nothing much worse than toothache .. Felt really sorry for you
Hope to see you again soon

Regards

Mel and Roy x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

A beautifully presented room which exceeded our expectations. Our hosts Melanie and Roy could not have been more accomodating. With a tray of tea and coffee and arrival the hospitality continued throughout our stay. Woke in the morning, following a very comfortable sleep, to beautiful views and a fantastic breakfast. Would highly, no very highly, recommend to anyone wishing to stay in the South Lakes, Carnforth, Kirby lonsdale area... or to be honest, and beyond. well worth the journey, we will definitely be back. Many Thanks from L & A

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thanks so much for your lovely comments .... We hope to see you again soon
Regards
Mel and Roy x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

After a long drive and arriving late evening, we were given a very warm welcome and coffee and biscuits in the lounge, which was much appreciated.

Gorgeous rooms, huge comfortable bed, with every attention to detail to make us feel extremely pampered!

The breakfasts were without a doubt the best I've ever had, local produce and freshly cut bread, every detail was super. The smoked haddock, poached egg and hollandaise sauce was so tasty.

Only a few minutes from the motorway, while in a lovely quiet spot.

Would certainly visit again . Lovely break.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thanks so much ... Much appreciated.... Lovely to have met you both and hope to see you again sometime

Regards

Mel and Roy x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frys26
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Myself and my partner recently stayed at Capenwray House for the weekend. After reading excellent reviews about the place we decided that it sounded great.

We wasnt disappointed! The standard of accommodation is excellent and the attention to detail in the rooms is far better than I anticipated from the super kingsize bed to the lovely fluffy bathrobes and the toiletries which are provided free of charge. The owners Roy and Mel are a lovely friendly couple and really make you feel welcome. The breakfast is fab too with a wide choice available, the cooked breakfast was the best I have had in any hotel without a doubt!!

Capenwray house is off the beaten track and therefore wouldnt be suitable if you do not have transport as it is approx 2 mile walk to the nearest pub/restaurant and is down long country roads and is pitch black in evening, but in the summer it would probably be a very nice walk.

I enjoyed my stay at Capenwray and will definitely return in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frys26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to do us a review .. We really appreciate it ... Hope to see you again soon

Regards

Roy and mel smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This was our second trip to Capernwray and it was just as good - maybe even better - than the last time we went there in 2010. We stayed for two nights in January 2012 and while it was cold and a little drizzly outside it was very welcoming and warm inside. We stayed with our two children so had two rooms. Our rooms were spacious and well appointed. Mel and Roy are great hosts - really welcoming, good cooks and know the area well.

Love the fact that the rooms are big enough and have a couple of chairs and a table, so you can enjoy a cup of tea or coffee (or even hot chocolate!) in your room and not feel cramped.

We are looking forward to our next stay at Capernwray.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
It was great to have you stay for a second visit ... Return customers from Australia is brilliant .... Hope to see you again soon .... Maybe when you go to olympcs this summer we may be lucky.!!

Many thanks for review ... Much appreciated

Regards

Mel and Roy x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capernwray
1.3 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tithe Barn Bed & Breakfast
Tithe Barn Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Over Kellet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.6 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#3 of 10 in Carnforth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capernwray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capernwray House

Property: Capernwray House
Address: Capernwray House Hobsons Lane, Capernwray, Carnforth LA6 1AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth > Capernwray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capernwray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Capernwray House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ETB 5 star silver award family run country house B&B - gateway to Lake District and Yorkshire Dales, Lancaster and Morecambe. Set in the heart of beautiful countryside and yet within 5 min of M6 .. Extremely peaceful. Our reviews say it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Capernwray House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing