We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Warm and Friendly”
Review of Capernwray House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capernwray House
Ranked #1 of 1 Capernwray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Warm and Friendly”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Mel & Roy were fantastic hosts and made us feel part of the family.
Would highly recommend to anyone who wishes to stay in the area.
Cannot fault the wonderful breakfasts and accomodation.
Will definately visit again should the opportunity arise

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thanks so much ... Gives us a glow when our guests are so happy with everything

Roy and mel x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
67
252
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

If you need to stay at a Bed & Breakfast with total family appeal, then Capernwray House is the place to stay. Your hosts Mel & Roy will make you feel part of the family before you leave. And you won't fault the breakfast. Perfect.

Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Teal room has wonderful views of the local countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thanks so much for your super review ... Much appreciated ... Hope to see you again soon

Regards
Mel and Roy x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2012

After close to 24 hours of travel arriving at Capernwray House was like an Oasis. Completely refreshing and satisfying experience and would highly recommend to anyone travelling in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy_B974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Many thanks .. Hope to see you again in the future

Regards
Mel and roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinsale, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Often a high quality guest house can offer a more personal experience than a faceless, mass-market hotel chain. Never has this been more true of Roy and Mel Smith's Capernwray House. A genuinely warm welcome awaits you and the rooms are simply beautiful. I thoroughly enjoyed a three night stay here - in a perfectly location for both the charming Yorkshire Dales and the the southern Lake District. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johncollins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
John .... Thanks soo much for your 'glowing' review ... Glad you were so happy with your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime ... Mel and Roy x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

A return visit to Capernwray. A different room but just as comfortable, quiet and peaceful.
DO try the (pre-bookable) evening meal - it was delicious and excellent value.
Mel and Roy as kind and helpful as always.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank php5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed in the Robin room which was spacious and comfortable with a super king-size bed! The views were stunning and breakfast was lovely. Unfortunately my husband suffered during the night with toothache and the next morning the hosts offered us pain killers, use of a phone, dentist phone numbers etc and were genuinely interested and cared. Thank you!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the information about local pubs and restaurants useful.
We hope to return to Capernwray house in the future and look forward to another relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterSarah75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thanks so much for doing a great review for us ... Hope the too this now all fixed ... Nothing much worse than toothache .. Felt really sorry for you
Hope to see you again soon

Regards

Mel and Roy x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

A beautifully presented room which exceeded our expectations. Our hosts Melanie and Roy could not have been more accomodating. With a tray of tea and coffee and arrival the hospitality continued throughout our stay. Woke in the morning, following a very comfortable sleep, to beautiful views and a fantastic breakfast. Would highly, no very highly, recommend to anyone wishing to stay in the South Lakes, Carnforth, Kirby lonsdale area... or to be honest, and beyond. well worth the journey, we will definitely be back. Many Thanks from L & A

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thanks so much for your lovely comments .... We hope to see you again soon
Regards
Mel and Roy x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capernwray
1.3 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
112 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Burton M6 Northbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
1,036 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
1,017 reviews
2.6 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#3 of 10 in Carnforth
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capernwray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capernwray House

Property: Capernwray House
Address: Capernwray House Hobsons Lane, Capernwray, Carnforth LA6 1AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth > Capernwray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capernwray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Capernwray House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ETB 5 star silver award family run country house B&B - gateway to Lake District and Yorkshire Dales, Lancaster and Morecambe. Set in the heart of beautiful countryside and yet within 5 min of M6 .. Extremely peaceful. Our reviews say it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Capernwray House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing