We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Capernwray House
Nearby Hotels
Redwell Inn(Arkholme)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$92
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Bolton le Sands)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Rocquettes(St Peter Port)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
427
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
427
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bon arrivalwarm welcomebed and breakfastcomfortable loungefresh milkcoffee and cakeguest houserural locationbreakfast was deliciousnight's sleeplittle touchesfeel very welcomebeautiful surroundingstop qualitylovely touchlake district
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013

After a 3 hour drive down the M8 to Junction 36 and arriving late and in the rain, what a revitalising experience the 10 minute drive to Capernwray House was. In the deep blue ebbing light, I entered the time warp of rural England as I drove along the beautiful peaceful country road to my destination. On arrival at the rustic and well kept Capernwray House, I was greeted warmly and with real care and attention from my hosts. Mel and Roy helped me feel really welcome and relaxed, by effectively attending to my immediate needs then showing me to my room. I was in 'Robin', well named in relation to the abundant wildlife of the area, which is so grounding and just feels peaceful. Robin was well set out and equipped (wi-fi also) with a fabulous view over the countryside.
Next morning after an amazing sleep, in almost total silence!, I enjoyed a hearty breakfast and chat with Mel and Roy. I thought this was really attentive of them as I was travelling alone.

All in all Capernwray House is a peaceful, wonderful and very beautiful place to stay just 10mins from 2013 and the M8!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Eddie .... Thanks for your gorgeous review .... Hope time travel only means that its a long time since you were previously here, and not our rooms!!!! ..... Hee hee!!

Hope it's not too long till we see you again and hope all goes well with the new arrival ....

Take care

Regards

Roy and Mel xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had a fantastic stay here and would absolutely return. There was a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and everything was of a very high quality. We were very impressed with the extra touches throughout our stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: The Teal room was perfect!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JablesEckersley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thanks so much for your great review and also for 'liking' our Facebook page ... Much appreciated .... Hope you got a huge welcome back from your little one!

Regards

Roy and mel x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

An excellent B&B. Mel and Roy were welcoming, genial hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was lovely and well equipped. Breakfast was superb, poached eggs just perfect. We would definitely stay here again and in the words of the Tina Turner song, simply the best.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tillysmum98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Many thanks for your great review ... Much appreciated ... Ope to see you again soon

Roy and mel x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Having visited for the second time we are already looking to arrange another visit next year. This is a perfect b&b in a great location. Mel and Roy are the best hosts you could ask for, to say we were spoilt rotten is an understatement. Thank you for everything that you do.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thanks so much for your great review .... Really appreciated ... Hope to see you again very soon ..., mel&roy xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We enjoyed a 3day stay at Capernwray House visiting my son at nearby Nether Kellett.
The best b and b we have stayed in.Our room was spacious and the bed extremely comfortable.
Our welcome tea and cake was delightful and the breakfasts magnificent.
Would like to go back again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Peter and Kath ... Thanks so much for your great review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again next time you visit your family.

Regards

Roy and Mel x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews