We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed!”
Review of Capernwray House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capernwray House
Ranked #1 of 1 Capernwray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Capernwray House is in a delightful Country setting. We were made most welcome by Mel and Roy the proprietors. The accommodation was of a very high standard and we all thoroughly enjoyed the excellent breakfast.
The room was very spacious and of an extremely high standard.

We will definitely be visiting again and would highly recommend this lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morwrjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed with Mel and Roy last weekend whilst in the area at a family wedding. The welcome and accommodation can only be described as absolutely excellent. The house and rooms were spotless and the food second to none, all in all Capernwray House is easily of hotel standard. The hosts and house certainly lived up to their outstanding reputation.
It is well deserving of a rating of 5*.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We chose Capernwray House because we wanted a stop off in the Lake District during a drive up to Scotland and it had amazing Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed! The house is located in a very pretty rural setting very near Carnforth and the M6. We were able to see a couple of rooms, both of which were spacious and tastefully decorated, with enormous very comfortable beds and lovely ensuite bathrooms complete with good quality toiletries and power showers.

As soon as we had dropped our suitcases we were offered a cup of tea, which was served to us in the main sitting room alongside homemade cupcakes. We also had the chance to see the breakfast menu, which is much more extensive than that of a standard B&B, offering smoked haddock, kippers and other produce all from the local smokehouse.

We had just had a new baby, and were unable to go out for dinner so enquired about local take aways. Roy and Mel recommended that we get food from the local pub, the Eagles Head, and called them up to ensure they could do a take away, which they did. We ordered fish and chips, which were excellent (and served up on proper plates which the pub was happy for us to return the next day!) and Roy very kindly provided all manner of condiments for us to use.

In the morning we had breakfast in the large hall in the house which is used as the dining room. The decoration in the room is a bit dated, especially compared to the very modern rooms, but it feels very homely. Breakfast was really excellent - wonderful fresh eggs perfectly poached and fantastic sausages, bacon and black pudding.

All in all it was a spot on experience and everything you want from a B&B - comfortable clean rooms, great food and warm, non-overbearing and perfectly pitched hospitality.

Room Tip: We were given a very large room at the back of the house which was lovely, but had no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My sister and I stayed three nights at Capernwray House in early August, 2013 and we were very impressed and satisfied with the care and accommodations. Mel and Roy have given great attention to detail for their guests. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, the towels large and fluffy and the room and bathroom very neat and clean.

Breakfasts were great and we were very pleasantly surprised by the pastry and tea we enjoyed upon arrival in the afternoon. I would love to return someday.

The area surrounding Capernwray House is beautiful for walking. The countryside around is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gkrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

As with the other reviews this is a superb experience. We stayed one night on 10th August and could not fault the welcome, cleanliness and quality of room and house. Probably the best B and B we have stayed in over the past 40 years. The owners deserve all the excellent reviews. Brake fast was excellent.
We have booked anther visit next month.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silcoia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were invited to an evening wedding do in Leighton Hall so we booked in for one night. Such a warm welcome on arrival and the beautiful surroundings brought a great sense of peace. They recommended a local taxi firm and it is worthwhile using this firm as the driver gave us a guided tour enroute to the Hall. Excellent breakfast.

Mary and Alan

Room Tip: The Sandpiper for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryG040648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My wife and I stayed for 1 night at Capernwray House whilst en route from Aberdeen to the South.

We received a warm welcome from Mel and her husband and enjoyed a refreshing afternoon tea with home made cakes.

Our room was extremely comfortable, well and luxuriously equipped and everything was smart, tidy, clean and in apple pie order. There was plenty of information about the B&B and nearby facilities and attractions - very useful if you are not familiar with the area.

Breakfast was good, with a wide enough range of options to suit all tastes.

We would very happily return if our travels bring us this way again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGPAman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capernwray
1.3 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
118 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carnforth
124 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#3 of 10 in Carnforth
178 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ghyll Beck House B&B
Ghyll Beck House B&B
#1 of 1 in Ireby
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capernwray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capernwray House

Address: Capernwray House Hobsons Lane, Capernwray, Carnforth LA6 1AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Carnforth > Capernwray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capernwray
Price Range: £88 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Capernwray House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ETB 5 star silver award family run country house B&B - gateway to Lake District and Yorkshire Dales, Lancaster and Morecambe. Set in the heart of beautiful countryside and yet within 5 min of M6 .. Extremely peaceful. Our reviews say it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Capernwray House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing