We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, comfortable and spotless accommodation of the highest standard”
Review of Capernwray House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capernwray House
Ranked #1 of 1 Capernwray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, comfortable and spotless accommodation of the highest standard”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We spent two nights here (20th/21st Sept ), with friends and the whole experience was fantastic. Excellent food, comfortable and spotless accommodation of the highest standard and Mel and Roy Smith who could not do enough for you. We have stayed in many B&Bs, hotels, lodges and cottages all over the UK, and this comes top of the list!

We will certainly visit again when we next meet up with our friends from our home town - Bolton - as we now live near Cockermouth.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
243
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I only stayed for one night, but a welcome cup of tea refreshed me after a 6 hour drive from London.

A well decorated room and ensuite, free wifi and a lovely breakfast.

Clean and tidy and great hosts

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this delightful b&b. Mel and Roy were such lovely hosts, warm and welcoming. We had the kingfisher room. The room was perfect. Large comfy bed, free wifi, tea making facility, wall mounted tv, iPod docking station, fantastic large bathroom with walk in shower. The breakfast provided was delicious with local sourced produce and generous servings.
We would recommend this charming b & b for anyone who is looking for a quiet location, comfortable rooms, and delicious breakfasts. We will certainly be returning when we are next in the UK.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royston22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A wonderful place to stay. The owners Mel and Roy make you feel very welcome and the facilities are first class. We stayed in the Kingfisher Room, spacious, spotlessly clean with a lovely bathroom. The breakfast was superb and catered well for special diets, especially vegetarians. The quality and range of breakfast items is on a par with the finest hotels in the world.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Capernwray totally exceeded our expectation. Mel and Roy made us welcome from the second we walked in, even giving us a lift to the wedding reception we were attending. The rooms were full of 'special touches' including the fluffiest towels I have ever used. The breakfast was fresh and delicious with lots of choice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riggeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

A wonderful place to stay everything first class bedrooms exceptional as was the hospitality. Shall definitely be going back and Mel and Roy are a really great hosts a really warm welcome from arriving and nothing too much trouble. The rooms are spacious spotlessly clean comfy and everything you want provided even down to cotton buds. A beautiful area and the grounds and views from the house are amazing.

Room Tip: wouldnt like to choose as all rooms are the same exceptional quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I've stayed here several times since 2003 but not in the last three years. I returned this Summer and much to my surprise my previous single room was now a very luxurious en-suite double (Teal). Adding to that, an expanded and impressive choice on the breakfast menu meant that Capernwray House is now more like a boutique hotel than the top-quality B&B it previously was.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capernwray
1.3 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tithe Barn Bed & Breakfast
Tithe Barn Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Over Kellet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.6 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#3 of 10 in Carnforth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capernwray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capernwray House

Property: Capernwray House
Address: Capernwray House Hobsons Lane, Capernwray, Carnforth LA6 1AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth > Capernwray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capernwray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Capernwray House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ETB 5 star silver award family run country house B&B - gateway to Lake District and Yorkshire Dales, Lancaster and Morecambe. Set in the heart of beautiful countryside and yet within 5 min of M6 .. Extremely peaceful. Our reviews say it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Capernwray House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing