We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far too short a stay at Capernwray.”
Review of Capernwray House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capernwray House
Ranked #1 of 1 Capernwray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent two nights here, 19th. and 20th. of September. On arrival we were delighted to be offered tea and homemade cake, which we enjoyed in the guests lounge.
Our room, Teal, had a superking size bed with wonderful views over the surrounding countryside towards the Lake District. The room was spotlessly clean, comfy and spacious with everything you would need including luxury bath robes.
The breakfast menu was extensive with plenty of choices to suit all tastes.
Mel and Roy were lovely hosts who made us feel very welcome in their beautiful home.
We enjoyed the peace and tranquility of Capernwray, and would definitely stay there again.
Roger and Diana T.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Capernwray House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay with Mel & Roy in their lovely home, Capernwray House.
They made us feel very welcome and it was a pleasure to meet them. The location is beautiful, away from the hustle & bustle of city life, but not too far away from the beautiful Lake District.
My husband & I enjoyed our breakfasts and the facilities were second to none. Our bedroom, the Teal Room was spacious, clean & airy with a very comfortable bed & an en-suite bathroom.
It was a pleasure to stay at Capernwray House & we hope to reurn for another enjoyable stay in the future.

Room Tip: I should imagine that all the rooms are well appointed---I think that two of them have baths with ov...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynis636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We spent two nights here (20th/21st Sept ), with friends and the whole experience was fantastic. Excellent food, comfortable and spotless accommodation of the highest standard and Mel and Roy Smith who could not do enough for you. We have stayed in many B&Bs, hotels, lodges and cottages all over the UK, and this comes top of the list!

We will certainly visit again when we next meet up with our friends from our home town - Bolton - as we now live near Cockermouth.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I only stayed for one night, but a welcome cup of tea refreshed me after a 6 hour drive from London.

A well decorated room and ensuite, free wifi and a lovely breakfast.

Clean and tidy and great hosts

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this delightful b&b. Mel and Roy were such lovely hosts, warm and welcoming. We had the kingfisher room. The room was perfect. Large comfy bed, free wifi, tea making facility, wall mounted tv, iPod docking station, fantastic large bathroom with walk in shower. The breakfast provided was delicious with local sourced produce and generous servings.
We would recommend this charming b & b for anyone who is looking for a quiet location, comfortable rooms, and delicious breakfasts. We will certainly be returning when we are next in the UK.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royston22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A wonderful place to stay. The owners Mel and Roy make you feel very welcome and the facilities are first class. We stayed in the Kingfisher Room, spacious, spotlessly clean with a lovely bathroom. The breakfast was superb and catered well for special diets, especially vegetarians. The quality and range of breakfast items is on a par with the finest hotels in the world.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Capernwray totally exceeded our expectation. Mel and Roy made us welcome from the second we walked in, even giving us a lift to the wedding reception we were attending. The rooms were full of 'special touches' including the fluffiest towels I have ever used. The breakfast was fresh and delicious with lots of choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riggeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capernwray
1.1 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
114 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
4.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bolton le Sands
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,060 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
1,028 reviews
2.6 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#4 of 10 in Carnforth
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capernwray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capernwray House

Address: Capernwray House Hobsons Lane, Capernwray, Carnforth LA6 1AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Carnforth > Capernwray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capernwray
Price Range: £85 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Capernwray House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ETB 5 star silver award family run country house B&B - gateway to Lake District and Yorkshire Dales, Lancaster and Morecambe. Set in the heart of beautiful countryside and yet within 5 min of M6 .. Extremely peaceful. Our reviews say it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Capernwray House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing