We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Capernwray House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capernwray House
Ranked #1 of 1 Capernwray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Lovely location, spacious bedroom with comfortable beds and a modern bathroom, and a friendly, helpful "landlady" - all you need for a wonderful stay. The thoughtful extras like the fresh milk for coffee/tea in the room or the lovely Cumbrian brand "Bath House" toiletries in the bathroom add a 5 star feeling to your trip. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have just had a two day break at the excellent Capernwray House. A wonderful welcome with tea & homemade cake, a nice touch & much appreciated. A superb bedroom/en suite with everything spotlessly clean & gorgeous fluffy white towels & super toiletries. Breakfasts amazing with plenty of choice for the most discerning visitor. A meal at The Redwell restaurant was recommended with, can you believe it, transport there & back. The meal was excellent and the 'lift' a great idea. The Capernwray is a hidden gem that we hope many more will enjoy discovering. We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same high standard, with excellent views. The only difference is twin or double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Once again we had an excellent few days at Capernwray, Mel & Roy are wonderful, welcoming hosts, nothing seems too much trouble for them. Bed & bedroom were quiet & comfortable & breakfasts wonderful as before. We shall certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front which I think affords better views over the beautiful countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Nothing much to add to the previous comments (267 people out of 269 found it excellent as well). Great and quiet location and event better hosts.
Excellent 5 stars bedroom with private en suite bathroom and fantastic breakfast. Little hidden gem that we were delighted to discover, we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superclarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My first visit to Capernwray House, although other members of my family had been previously and recommended Mel and Roy's hospitality before.
I had a great welcome and a superb room with all the luxuries one would expect.
Delicious evening meal and brilliant Banoffee Pie worth of the 'Bake off'!
Breakfast was spot-on too, so for just one night a great result!!

Room Tip: No need to choose, they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xJALx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We needed a long weekend in this area, within striking distance of Manchester & booked at the last minute. We were treated to an excellent break. Nothing could have been better, lovely house & bedroom, peaceful countryside. Mel and Roy were most helpful and considerate, super breakfast. Even provided transport to an excellent nearby restaurant on the Saturday evening. This is a lovely property and we hope to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed for two nights. We were met with a warm welcome by Mel and Roy, who were both lovely and couldn't be more accommodating. The room was of a very high standard, with a king size bed (necessary for my 6'5 husband!), shower and bath, all decorated beautifully. The breakfast was delicious! I will be recommending this B&B to other people, and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Teal room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capernwray
1.1 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
117 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
4.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bolton le Sands
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
1,038 reviews
2.6 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#5 of 10 in Carnforth
173 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tithe Barn Bed & Breakfast
Tithe Barn Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Over Kellet
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capernwray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capernwray House

Address: Capernwray House Hobsons Lane, Capernwray, Carnforth LA6 1AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Carnforth > Capernwray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capernwray
Price Range: £88 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Capernwray House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ETB 5 star silver award family run country house B&B - gateway to Lake District and Yorkshire Dales, Lancaster and Morecambe. Set in the heart of beautiful countryside and yet within 5 min of M6 .. Extremely peaceful. Our reviews say it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Capernwray House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing