We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Capernwray House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capernwray House
Ranked #1 of 1 Capernwray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a fabulous break here while visiting family in the area. Mel & Roy were the perfect hosts: breakfast was excellent. Their link with a local restaurant meant we had a fabulous evening meal too. Lovely accommodation, brilliant bathroom and lovely, friendly and generous hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
243
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Having booked 4 rooms for our engineers staying away on install, their feedback of Capernwray House was all praises.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were fantastic, with plenty of choice.
The small details in our engineers rooms, (sweets etc) was a perfect touch and very welcoming when coming back from a hard days work.
We will have absolutely no reservations on staying here again, and recommending the Capernwray House.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWRefrigeration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Lovely quiet location, just a few miles off the M6 so very handy if moving on or staying local. Spotless rooms and very comfortable beds. Homemade cakes were lovely and the breakfasts plentiful!! We would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Lovely location, spacious bedroom with comfortable beds and a modern bathroom, and a friendly, helpful "landlady" - all you need for a wonderful stay. The thoughtful extras like the fresh milk for coffee/tea in the room or the lovely Cumbrian brand "Bath House" toiletries in the bathroom add a 5 star feeling to your trip. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have just had a two day break at the excellent Capernwray House. A wonderful welcome with tea & homemade cake, a nice touch & much appreciated. A superb bedroom/en suite with everything spotlessly clean & gorgeous fluffy white towels & super toiletries. Breakfasts amazing with plenty of choice for the most discerning visitor. A meal at The Redwell restaurant was recommended with, can you believe it, transport there & back. The meal was excellent and the 'lift' a great idea. The Capernwray is a hidden gem that we hope many more will enjoy discovering. We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same high standard, with excellent views. The only difference is twin or double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Once again we had an excellent few days at Capernwray, Mel & Roy are wonderful, welcoming hosts, nothing seems too much trouble for them. Bed & bedroom were quiet & comfortable & breakfasts wonderful as before. We shall certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front which I think affords better views over the beautiful countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Nothing much to add to the previous comments (267 people out of 269 found it excellent as well). Great and quiet location and event better hosts.
Excellent 5 stars bedroom with private en suite bathroom and fantastic breakfast. Little hidden gem that we were delighted to discover, we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superclarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capernwray
1.3 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tithe Barn Bed & Breakfast
Tithe Barn Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Over Kellet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.6 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#3 of 10 in Carnforth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capernwray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capernwray House

Property: Capernwray House
Address: Capernwray House Hobsons Lane, Capernwray, Carnforth LA6 1AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth > Capernwray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capernwray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Capernwray House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ETB 5 star silver award family run country house B&B - gateway to Lake District and Yorkshire Dales, Lancaster and Morecambe. Set in the heart of beautiful countryside and yet within 5 min of M6 .. Extremely peaceful. Our reviews say it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Capernwray House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing