We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Excellent, just what we needed"”
Review of Capernwray House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capernwray House
Ranked #1 of 1 Capernwray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Excellent, just what we needed"”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

"from the moment you arrive you know your in an excellent establishment"
the awards from the tourist board aren't enough in my view
you aways fell welcome, quality throughout the establishment, service and wow the breakfast. what can i say? other that 'Tremendous breakfast with a wide range of options'
Rooms immaculate, we stayed in the Kingfisher room .
We will be recommending to friends and family with our 5 star rating

well done and thank you Mel

regards Peter & Sheila

Room Tip: king fisher room ideal for our needs, quiet spacious and clean. quality you do need your own tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
247
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Beautiful location, good size room with lots of nice extras such as robe and particularly nice toiletries. Amazing choice of items at breakfast, beautiful food. Very well kept hotel, lots of attention to detail. Thank you Mel for a warm welcome , we will be back :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer75467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a fabulous break here while visiting family in the area. Mel & Roy were the perfect hosts: breakfast was excellent. Their link with a local restaurant meant we had a fabulous evening meal too. Lovely accommodation, brilliant bathroom and lovely, friendly and generous hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Having booked 4 rooms for our engineers staying away on install, their feedback of Capernwray House was all praises.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were fantastic, with plenty of choice.
The small details in our engineers rooms, (sweets etc) was a perfect touch and very welcoming when coming back from a hard days work.
We will have absolutely no reservations on staying here again, and recommending the Capernwray House.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWRefrigeration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Lovely quiet location, just a few miles off the M6 so very handy if moving on or staying local. Spotless rooms and very comfortable beds. Homemade cakes were lovely and the breakfasts plentiful!! We would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Lovely location, spacious bedroom with comfortable beds and a modern bathroom, and a friendly, helpful "landlady" - all you need for a wonderful stay. The thoughtful extras like the fresh milk for coffee/tea in the room or the lovely Cumbrian brand "Bath House" toiletries in the bathroom add a 5 star feeling to your trip. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have just had a two day break at the excellent Capernwray House. A wonderful welcome with tea & homemade cake, a nice touch & much appreciated. A superb bedroom/en suite with everything spotlessly clean & gorgeous fluffy white towels & super toiletries. Breakfasts amazing with plenty of choice for the most discerning visitor. A meal at The Redwell restaurant was recommended with, can you believe it, transport there & back. The meal was excellent and the 'lift' a great idea. The Capernwray is a hidden gem that we hope many more will enjoy discovering. We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same high standard, with excellent views. The only difference is twin or double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capernwray
1.3 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
106 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Burton M6 Northbound
14.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
575 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capernwray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capernwray House

Property: Capernwray House
Address: Capernwray House Hobsons Lane, Capernwray, Carnforth LA6 1AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth > Capernwray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capernwray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Capernwray House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ETB 5 star silver award family run country house B&B - gateway to Lake District and Yorkshire Dales, Lancaster and Morecambe. Set in the heart of beautiful countryside and yet within 5 min of M6 .. Extremely peaceful. Our reviews say it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Capernwray House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing