We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury in Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ratnakara

Welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome
Pool area... pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Welcome
Pool area...
pool
pool
pool at night
pool at night
pool at night
lily pond
Lily pond
getting ready for dinner
Beach at the end of the garden
Double rainbow over the house
Walking along a nearby beach - Great for swimming / surfing  / body boarding year round !
Beach at the end of the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Dondra, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jofreebir...
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Luxury in Paradise”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This house is gorgeous with a lovely sized pool area, perfect for relaxing with a cold drink or partying with the sunset. The location is stunning with the sound of the waves washing away your stress.

The monkeys are pretty cheeky and it is fun to see them jumping through the trees that surround the house.

The staff are excellent and friendly at all times of day and night!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the pool
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2016
Hi Jo, Many thanks your great review and for staying with us. Hope to see you back with us again soon! Best regards, Ratnakara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SERPJR71
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Ratnakara for 14 days - and have just returned to the UK. Having spoke with Ian about the property back in 2012, we had planning this trip for some time - and I must admit for all of us it was amazing.
We travelled as 2 families - so 9 of us in total - kids range from 7 - 15. Everything was perfect. The staff at the property led by Wasantha were amazing - he helped to arrange local trips, Tuk Tuks, Taxi's, Local dancers, Yoga lessons - and also cocktail lessons!!!
The location of the property is not in a tourist element, but that adds to the charm - in our first week we did not see another tourist...which was great - as you get to experience the real feel of the place.
Trips to Galle were fun - with return by train - which just added to the experience.....1 hour train ride for 9 cost grand total of about £5!
Despite travelling in the 'rainy season' - the temperature was in late 20s/early 30s throughout with it only really raining briefly at night.
Beautiful beaches - we said farewell to Sri Lanka from Talalla beach on our last day - stunning - and we were the only people on it.
Go experience it for yourself - thanks again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Many thanks the for the fantastic review. I know your holiday was a long time in the planning so I am delighted that it was everything that you hoped for and more.

Hope the cocktails taste as good in the UK as they did sitting on the decking watching the sun go down! .Best regards, Ratnakara.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JStewart2...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“10 days in paradise”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Ratnakara for 10 days in August 2016 and loved every minute of it. The villa is set in a beautiful, secluded location overlooking a small bay at the bottom of the garden. Unspoilt beaches are a short walk or tuk tuk drive away.
What really makes Ratnakara unique is the exceptional service from the staff, who struck the perfect balance between detailed attentiveness and sense of privacy.
The food prepared by the chef was consistently of exceptional quality and was some of the best we tried during our 5 weeks in Sri Lanka.
It is like having your very own 5* hotel.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thanks for the most fantastic review Jack! We thouroughly enjoyed having you and your group stay with us and hope you can make it back to see us again some time. Thanks very much for the Youtube clip and for allowing us to post it on our FB page. Very Best Regards, Ratnakara. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjaveren...
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a blissful oasis”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

a divine sanctuary for total bliss, relaxation, meditation, yoga, wellness, amazing food
and wonderful staff, views to the sea and jungle, privacy and a lovely stretch of bathing beach in walking distance through a cute little village.

You would not want to leave once you enter

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
Hi Anja. Delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us and many thanks for the fantastic feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again shortly for your next break! Very Best Regards , Ratnakara.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana M
1 review
“A Little Slice of Paradise”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Ratnakara for 2 weeks in July 2016 and really felt like royalty. The location is secluded, beautiful and peaceful, set in jungle just opposite the beach with monkeys, monitor lizards and peacocks roaming around. Every night we fell asleep to the sound of the waves. We had our own chef cooking world class Sri Lankan and Western food, as well as support staff and a very attentive Manager looking after our every whim. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they did everything they could to make tour holiday a 5 star experience and indeed it was.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for a great review Jana. Glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back here in the future. Best regards, Ratnakara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel A
2 reviews
“Great villa, great staff, great food”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My husband and I stayed at Ratnakara for ten days towards the latter part of February. The house itself is immaculately kept and once arriving, you can tell the staff take pleasure in their work. The food we ate was incredible and there was never a meal we were disappointed with. Wasantha, the manager, was always helpful and provided transportation whenever we wanted to leave the villa. The location in the jungle is amazing and I loved swimming in the pool and looking out to the trees. We would definitely stay here in the future and recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing, delicious stay in Sri Lanka.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2016
Hi Rachel, Many thanks your time and effort in writing this fantastic review! It means a lot to us to hear that people had an amazing experience staying at the villa as we love the place so much and enjoy sharing it with others. We hope we can look look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Regards, Ratnakara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela D
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“Place of friendship, flexibility and love”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This place is incredible: I stayed there for two weeks and the place is like showed on the pictures. The rooms are very clean and beautiful build. There are always little things, the staff is showing their love while working, f.e. flowers on the bed. The food is excellent: they are cooking local food, but are always open for special wishes. The organisation is great, there is missing nothing. If you need a cab to travel somewhere else, if you need clean clothes,....everything no problem. I found back to may energy at this place, making it easy for me ;-) thanks to team Ratna *

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view from the balcony
Liked least: that time was running out
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
Hi Daniela, Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are delighted you had a stay with us that exceeded your expectations! Please come and stay with us again, you know you will always be welcome. Best Regards, Ratnakara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing