We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bribe the Dude!”

Dondra Head Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Dondra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Bribe the Dude!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is an amazing place to get breath-taking photos if you are a photographer. We had to bribe the guy who administer this colonial tower, since it's not opened for visitors (according to the same dude) however Rs. 400/- or 500/- would suffice for one person. The key thing here is to negotiate!! i don't know the effects of standing next to a radar but keep that hazard in mind. i haven't seen how the maritime radar function, until i went there, but you are not going to get any education on how it works, since you gonna walk pass it to the top.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thinesh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    44
    13
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very dangerous!! Martime radar on top!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Please avoid going up the tower!
Right on top of the viewpoint there is a Martine radar!
This is a big health risk because it transmits a lot of radiation. You should never stand close to a radarstation.
Radar is like a microwave, stand that close and do the math....

Directly when i came down in told the supervisor the risk that are involded. The reaction i got was that they had people going up there very often and had no illnes.

Avoid going up!



Helpful?
1 Thank Justin-case-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matara, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Wrong”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Dondra is not a main city in Sri Lanka. Please add this place under Matara Category.Less than 10 Km Between Matara City and Dondra.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank vayantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
457 reviews
258 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 608 helpful votes
“A Unique Point”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Dondra Lighthouse is a pleasant hour's drive S of Galle along the coast road. You can go up to the top of the light and walk around outside for great views of the seas. Some other reviewers mention in passing that it's neat the southernmost point in Sri Lanka. However, all the other reviews on TA don't mention the #1 reason I went to see it, So to speak, they may have missed the point.

Just as arbitrary lines on maps mark the borders of countries, other lines on charts mark the arbitrary boundaries of seas. The southernmost point of Dondra marks exactly where major seas come together. The ocean rolls on heedless of the boundaries, just as the Alps themselves don't care whether we call them Swiss, French or Italian; but the borders are quite official. The IHO, the International Hydrographic Organization, agrees on the lines, and they agreed the three major bodies of water meet at a single point, "the Southern extreme of Dondra Point. If stand at this point and look due south, you're looking at the Indian Ocean. But from the same point headed west, you see the Laccadive Sea. And from the same point an imaginary line running East by South marks the Southern boundary of the Bay of Bengal.

Technically you can jump into the Bay of Bengal, swim across the Indian Ocean all the way to the Laccadive Sea and swim back again in under five minutes. Better be a good swimmer though, depending on the conditions. Today there were heavy waves coming in from the west, and quite a strong current running from west to east; it was like swimming in a river. Rip tides are a real danger in Sri Lanka; if in doubt, better to err on the side of caution.

Naturally, all three bodies of water can be seen from the top of the lighthouse. I will try to attach two pix. The first was taken looking NW; the water in the foreground is officially the Bay of Bengal, while the water on the far side of the point is the Laccadive Sea. The second pic shows the point itself, where all three meet.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelaniya, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth visiting”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We wanted to go to the south most point of Sri Lanka and visited the Dondra Lighthouse, At the time we arrived, there were few foreigners at the top of the lighthouse taking photos. When we asked to go up there, the caretakers told us we have to obtain a permission from Colombo to go up there. I was laughing to myself. What an idiotic system is that. They better bring that person right down to Dondra to give permission to visitors.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kapilabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dondra Head Lighthouse also viewed

Matara, Southern Province
 
Dikwella, Southern Province
Mirissa, Southern Province
 

Been to Dondra Head Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing