We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Cabin”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

What a wonderful place to be so close to nature, feels like your in God's country.
My family loved getting up to a country breakfast. The guys went fishing as we girls took the kids to the pool. Then a nice country drive thru the mountains and back to grill our dinner. Then a nice walk around the resort. The kids werer amazed at all the fish in the trout pond. Then we had a nice camp fire in the firepit with the kids favorite marshmellows and smores. Along with great stories.
The next day we went to Eagles Outfitters, just a ride down the road to rent canoes for a day trip down the Potomac River.... It was absolutely beautiful and so much fun! We highly recommend it!
Over all we had a very relaxing and fun vacation. And we will definately be back!
PS... this was not our first time at smokehole cabins, we stayed several years ago with friends. And we could not wait to take our daughter and granddkids this year. Also if you have never gone zip lining, check out Nelson Rock.... We did it and it was great!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had a awesome stay.The cabin was clean and very cozy. The staff and was helpful and very friendly. We will definitely be going back. We enjoyed walking over the grounds and watching the kids feed and catch the fish.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmrawlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I made a reservation at the Log Motel at $79 a night, but didn't notice it did not have Wifi. My fault. They did have vacancies at their cottages up the road, but at $139 a night. I had to do some work online that night so I had no choice. Would have lost my deposit if I had stayed elsewhere.

Should have stayed elsewhere. The cabins are old & dated. Old wood panelling, dated & scratched furnishings, and one window A/C unit for the whole place.

When we drove north to Petersburg we found other comparable local hotels for much less all along the way.

This place is a ripoff!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We fell in love with our family log cabin as soon as we opened the door. It was very clean and so comfortable. Very relaxing to sit on the front porch in the rockers with your morning cup of coffee. It was the most beautiful home away from home. We all would have loved to pack the cabin up and take it home with us. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda10573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I did a long weekend for our honeymoon at Smoke Hole Resort and we were so highly impressed. The cabins were well decorated and amazingly clean!! Kitchens were stocked with the simple necessities making less packing for me! The staff was wonderful and so helpful. We are already planning on going back in a few weeks and taking friends. I honestly can't say enough about the resort and the wonderful family that owns it. They made us feel so welcome and almost part of the family! We can't thank them enough for making an already special weekend, even more special.

Chris D.

Room Tip: I'd highly recommend the honeymoon cabins, the family cabins or the cottages. The motel is righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chrisld2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Clean and simple lodging at a reasonable price.
We tried the motel because it's right next to the caverns, the main reason we came.
Clean little room with a strong stale odor of mildew, including the linens, making it hard to sleep. Heavy trucks rumble past all night long, which didn't help.

Staff was very friendly and hospitable, and the cavern tour was fun.
We considered upgrading to a cabin and staying another night, but decided not to gamble that they might smell just as bad, which would leave us with a negative impression.

We will likely return at a later date, and try a cabin.

Room Tip: while the price is tempting, skip the motel and pay the double rate for a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poprox21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Smoke Hole Resort Honeymoon Cabins last year in 2013. We towed our Harley from New Hampshire and rode some of the most amazing roads (lots of fun curves) with the most breath taking scenery. Smoke Hole Rd is a MUST! We loved it so much that we came back again this year and brought some friends with us. All agree that the Smoke Hole Resort is a beautiful place to stay. The cabins are incredibly clean and well equipped (just bring your clothes and food and you are all set). The property is well maintained. The pool, after a nice long motorcycle ride, is quite refreshing and then relax on your front porch or back deck. We highly recommend The Smoke Hole Caverns and Log Cabin Resort. We are already planning our next trip for 2015!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honeymoon cabins during both visits and would definitely recommend them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabins
13.5 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
16.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
60 reviews
15.0 mi away
South Branch Inn Moorefield
South Branch Inn Moorefield
#1 of 2 in Moorefield
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
North Fork Mountain Inn
17.2 mi away
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
5.0 mi away
Park Motel
Park Motel
#2 of 2 in Petersburg
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort

Address: 8290 N Fork Hwy, Cabins, WV 26855
Region: United States > West Virginia > Cabins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabins
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort property starts out with Smoke Hole Caverns, the brand new gift shop, the main office, and our log motel being located on the same property. As you travel 2 miles north you will see separated the Smoke Hole Log Cabin Resort area and the Smoke Hole Cottage area. Both groups of cabins our located on their private properties and offer a simply gorgeous rural retreat to the Appalachian Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Hotel Seneca Rocks
Smoke Hole Caverns And Log Cabin Resort
Smoke Hole Family Log Hotel
Smoke Hole Family Log Motel
Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort West Virginia/Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing