We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”
Review of Redbook Restaurant

Redbook Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 60 Restaurants in Charles Town
Price range: US$45 - US$65
Cuisines: American, European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: In a league all its own. Using the freshest seasonal and local ingredients, our talented culinary team create a fine dining pre fixe experience!
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Food was ok and the staff was very nice but way to overpriced. The rooms were not up to standard and left a lot to be desired. Dinner at Apple bees was way better.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sueob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Redbook Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We take pride in creating an artistic and innovative culinary experience, which I understand may be different from what you are used to eating.

Our guest rooms are cared for with the utmost attention to detail, from our luxury linens and custom quilts to the iPads available in every suite. I wish we would have known you were not satisfied with your accommodations while you were here so we could have upgraded you to a different room.

Our staff makes an effort to meet the needs of every guest that stays at Hillbrook, so I am glad you were able to experience our superb hospitality. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback.

Respectfully,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    6
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantabulous!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

WOW is an understatement! Every morsel is better than the previous one! There are no menus, so be prepared to be pleasantly surprised. If you really need to know what is being served, you can call the day of your reservation to find out. We were delighted with one of the freshest and quite possibly the best salad we've ever had as our first course. Second course was scallops and thin slices of steak served to perfection. We thought we couldn't eat any more until we were served an unusual presentation of red velvet cake that just had to be tried. Five course meals are offered, but that is quite a bit of food. Reservations are required and it is highly recommended you be on time as the waitress had just a bit of an attitude. She was great once we were seated.

We didn't have a room reservation but were given a private tour of rooms that were not booked. Call the reservation desk for a specialist to help you determine the accommodations that will work best for you. Take a walk around the premises as the grounds are immaculately landscaped. Can't wait to go back and stay the night!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 636StephanieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Redbook Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
“WOW is an understatement!,” is a wonderful statement to read! Thank you for your kind words and description of the dining experience at Hillbrook Inn! We have a very talented culinary team to work beside and appreciate all they have brought to the inn! I will talk to the serving staff about arrivals of guests.
I am happy to hear that you were able to tour our Inn as well as the grounds. We look forward to future visits.

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent gourmet food!”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Chef's Justin and Jim make unique meals with the freshest ingredients. Definitely recommend eating dinner here if you're staying at the inn. You won't want to miss it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MD6313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Redbook Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for giving feedback about Chef Justin and Chef Jim! We are blessed to have them as part of our team. Not only because they are fantastic at what they do, but more importantly they are wonderful people to work beside!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Possibly the best filet I have ever had”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Cooked to perfection and served with smashed red potatoes and garden carrots. Breakfast the next morning equally delicious, eggs Benedict and baked strawberries topped with the Inn's signature granola. These two chefs have taken dining at the Hillbrook to the next level, can't wait to return

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TruHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Redbook Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your "Hillbrook Culinary Experience". It is deeply appreciated! Chef Justin and Naysa were the culinary team behind those meals and we have to give them credit. They add so much to the Inn and all it has to offer. Thank you for noticing and sharing it with others.

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A cozy and romantic place to dine!”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Small and intimate, there is one small dining room that only fits about 10 people. There is one sitting with delicious food!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbsalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Redbook Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
I am happy to hear that you find Hillbrook to be "cozy and romantic". We have done our best to create an atmosphere that is comfortable for guests to enjoy and spend time together. Thank you for taking the time to write about it!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Redbook Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Redbook Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing