We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great pick”
Review of The Tap House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Tap House
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Sports bar, bowling alley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a great pick”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We went in there for a quick bite and drink. The bartenders seemed very uninterested as we sat down. It took about ten minutes to place a drink order and then another 30 to get it,counting on every beer we wanted was out and so we ended up settling for a "get it anywhere" beer. The food was ok,very overpriced though! The bartender that was working name was Kristin she had a very stuck up attitude. And they allow smoking in the bar still, good if you're a smoker BAD if you aren't the whole place was a smoke cloud and they keep it pitch black in there. My suggestion: Pick somewhere else in Charles town there are many other welcoming bars!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnspiderfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is a bar with good steaks and wings - not a restaurant”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Service great, steak and wings excellent. Drinks pricey. Music a bit loud. Front of house clean. Don't be put off by odd exterior. Would recommend to carnivore friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OlReliable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In town for a wedding”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were in town for one night for a wedding & wanted to grab a couple of drinks before the wedding, especially since they seemed to have the best selection of beers in town. We walked in & were almost knocked over by the smoke in the bar. We did not have an option of non-smoking b/c that section had a chain/padlock on the doors. The two bartenders just stared at us as if we were unwelcome & did not even acknowledge us, so we walked out. I read someone elses review prior, who said they were rude, but figured to give it a shot thinking it was an isolated incident. Apparently not... Would not suggest anyone going there!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Autumn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clurwitch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good Beer Selection”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Stopped in for a drink and to catch some of the Olympics. They had a decent selection of beer and the bartender was knowledgeable about the area in general and the beer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clurwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

Dropped in here to eat after a local float trip. Was turned off by the attachment to the bowling alley - that was unfounded. Food was very good, well prepared and presented. Service was just fine. The only negative - for those of us not from WV, is that WV allows smoking in bars. This is a Bar/Restaurant, and there were smokers sitting at the bar. While the HVAC system did a pretty good job of keeping the smoke away from the tables, there is still a noticeable smell of cigarette smoke, which was a bit of a turn off.

They have 50 or so beers on tap, so it was fun to sample a few. Lots of TV's going with various olympic events. Good place to chill and grab a bite.

Helpful?
Thank tchristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tap House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing