We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Carriage Inn while visiting Harpers Ferry and we truly enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious and comfortable, the hosts were very friendly and the food was delicious. You would have to search for a long time to find accommodations as nice as the Carriage Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
167
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore Maryland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband & I returned to the Carriage Inn for a second stay. We did a food tour in Frederick, Maryland and then made the short drive to Charles Town. This is one of our favorite places. The hosts are delightful and friendly, the house has a wonderful Civil War history, the rooms are spacious and warmly decorated. We stayed in the room on the first floor that has a double jet tub. It is a great room that also has a small screened in porch. Breakfast was wonderful with very nice touches. You can tell that the owners care about their business as they put a lot of effort in making your stay as nice as possible. There is coffee and tea available during the day and evening and an afternoon baked good treat is put out daily. The location is walking distance to the town, close to the casino, and a short drive to Harper's Ferry. I highly recommend this B & B for a nice get away. Donn was teaching while we were there so we did not get a chance to visit with him, but Marie was gracious and a wonderful hostess. We will go back.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms with the two person jet tub. Request one if that is what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nreigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Charlestown and Harpers Ferry. We stayed at the historic Carriage Inn B&B and it was a delight for history fans like us. Donn and Marie are delightful and warm hosts and the house is full of Civil War history ( I won't tell you more so I don't ruin the history surprises). The breakfast is served on beautiful china and includes fresh fruit, homemade muffins, quiche and breakfast meats, etc. Coffee is great too. Homemade treats are set out on the dinning room table in the afternoon too! The walk into Charlestown is about 3 blocks with sidewalks the entire way. We enjoyed our trip and chatted about the B&B on our way home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
230 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just got back from a whirlwind hiking trip, and we discovered Donn and Marie's (no relation to the Osmonds) "home" for us. We loved it and them. You will have to look long and hard to find better accommodationsand food and innkeepers at such an affordable price. Be sure to have Donn's crustless quiche. It is to die for. We just can't say enough about the place and people. You should treat yourself and visit them. I miss them already.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reynoldsburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This house is gorgeously refurbished. We got there late, but since the other guests were later, I got to explore all the rooms. So pretty! Neat little 6-inch deep closets (extra storage is provided for modern guests). The third floor is awesome. Our Jacuzzi was just the thing we needed after a day on a motorcycle. Charles Town itself is very pretty, with lots of history. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The blue room (Sunrise) was the prettiest. The Shenandoah suite with the attached porch was awesome...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Navylady--retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilderness
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Donn and Marie are wonderful hosts and have a gift for hospitality. Since I was on a business trip, I was working late in the main dinning room one night on my laptop. To my surprise, Donn and Marie came in with fresh strawberry shortcake for me at 10:00 PM. Not only was it delicious, it was classy. A nice touch to my stay. The breakfast is outstanding, my room was well appointed and comfortable, and the location is great. Hats off to this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
458 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I spent a beautiful sunny weekend here when one of us received a gift certificate to the inn and wow! What a hidden treasure just blocks away from Charles Town Races and Slots! Donn and Marie have a natural gift for hospitality and inject all those special touches that make for an outstanding experience. We appreciated their thoughtful suggestions for places to eat and things to see.
When we arrived, Donn introduced himself and gave us a tour of some of the key historical parts of the house, and that established a weekend with a different vibe than we had anticipated -- mainly because we had only known the town as a casino town. We were pleasantly surprised to learn about the civil war history associated with the house and the connection to George and Charles Washington, as well as dozens of other Washingtons buried in a cemetery just up the street. As others have written, Marie and Donn are warm, gracious, and friendly, and truly treat their guests like family.
We loved our room, the Garden View; it was immaculate and provided a quiet retreat for an afternoon nap and good night's sleep, and the spaciousness of the room felt luxurious. Breakfasts were traditionally sized American feasts- we especially enjoyed the first course of fruit, and on our second day, the vegetable quiche and carrot and raisin muffin. Yum! We noticed that Donn and Marie went out of their way to prepare a hot individual dish for a guest with special food requests.
We definitely plan to return again when we have time to do some additional exploring of the WV panhandle. A real find!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
5.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
223 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
5.1 mi away
Hillbrook Inn
Hillbrook Inn
#1 of 6 in Charles Town
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Charles Town
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a National Register of Historic Places site, The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, with seven rooms and suites, is the perfect place for your relaxing getaway, "close to home" vacation, or romantic weekend away! Business Travelers will receive special care including flexible breakfast times, high-speed wireless internet, and a "no charge" cancellation policy. Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Battlefield Park and Antietam National Battlefield. Antique shops, great restaurants, and Charles Town Races and Slots are within easy walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Charles Town
Carriage Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing