We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like home!:-)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Felt like home!:-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here just one night but we did not want to leave. The hospitality was wonderful! Such charm and home-like feel from as soon as you walk in. The breakfast was outstanding. We did not say anything about one of us being gluten free and by them not even knowing. They made a special gluten free breakfast for us. The rooms were large and comfortable. Close to restaurants, casino and downtown.

We will be back and we highly recommend this B & B for everyone. Thank you again Don and Marie!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donn D, Owner at Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Our goal is meeting your needs so you can relax and have fun! We are honored that people entrust their "special" dietary needs to us! We're glad you didn't have to worry about food! Thanks for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
166
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We lover Trip Advisor....we wanted to stay in the Charles Town area and the TA ratings for the Carriage Inn were off the chart. So we decided to try it and stayed last week. We travel a lot and found this to be one of the very best B&B's anywhere. The house an historic landmark loaded with period antiques. The bedrooms are very large and comfortable,. The breakfast was amazing. It is so nice to have the owners Donn and Marie so helpful with the history of the house, recommendations for restaurants, and other local activities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donn D, Owner at Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
How nice of you to take the time to reflect on your stay! We loved having you guys! Our guests make our lives SOOO rich! All th best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan twp, nj
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

There is no way to express how great of an experience it was to spend this past weekend at the Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast. We celebrated my birthday and it was the first time my boyfriend and I had ever been at a B&B and it will be hard to top. We stayed in the Carriage House Suite which was a private buiding separate from the main home. It was once was the servent's quarters and was beautifully decorated in a period style. We had a 2 bedrooms,a sitting room, private bathroom and separate room with an amazing 2 person Jacuzzi soaking tub. Breakfast was delivered to us on the patio each morning. The owners Donn & Marie are sweet, witty and more than accomodating. Marie gave us the history of the house upon our arrival, which made us appecriate its beauty even more. Donn is the chef and breakfast was truly to die for. They both go all our to give you a special experience. They want you to feel pampered and you really do. Thank you again. We will definately be back.---- Robin and Jack.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myohzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donn D, Owner at Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We loved having you guys and watching you enjoy each other and have fun together was a thrill for us! We look forward to your return!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I checked in on Friday 7/18/2014. We had never been to a Bed and Breakfast so we were a little nervous of what to expect. We were MORE than pleasantly surprised!!

We were greeted by Marie and were given a short history lesson of the house. We also got our first taste of Donn's wonderful cooking, fresh ginger snap cookies! We were then taken to our room, The Shenandoah Suite. It was BEAUTIFUL, just as clean as in the pictures! I really enjoyed the separate porch that my husband could watch tv in while I could shut the door and relax.

Listen to the dining suggestions and check out the menus in the folder provided in your room. The Mediterranean Grill was excellent, and we would have never picked this type of restaurant to visit if it had not been for Marie's suggestion.

Breakfast was served in the formal dining room and it was EXCELLENT! The first morning we had Caramel Apple french toast and eggs and the second morning we had a Spinach and sausage polenta. Donn really outdoes himself and you can tell he enjoys what he does.

We had such a wonderful experience at The Carriage Inn that I am not sure if another B&B could compare! Donn & Marie are such wonderful hosts and know how to make you feel at home. They have truly found their calling!

The only thing that could have made our stay better was if Donn was able to cook dinner as well!

Room Tip: The Shenandoah Suite has a separate enclosed porch with a door that you are able to close. Great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donn D, Owner at Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Serving our guests and trying to exceed their expectations is our goal! Thank you SO MUCH for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Very comfortable inn with lots of civil war history both at the inn and in the surrounding environment.
Banana bread was a welcome treat on checking in. The hosts were very helpful about getting us oriented about places to visit and dine. The copper beech suite was immaculate and we particularly enjoyed sitting in the enclosed porch. The jacuzzi was wonderful! Thank you Donn and Marie.
Just a little note to future guests that you may occasionally hear a train in the background during the night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Washingtonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donn D, Owner at Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
WOW! Thanks for taking the time to reflect on your stay! You input is so important to us! We're always looking to do what our guests need to make their stay as special as they expect it to be! We treasure your friendship!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a gem...! My fiancé and I didn't know what to expect when we arrived and boy were we pleasantly surprised! From the warm coffee cake (right out of the oven!) upon arrival to the impeccable room, lovely hosts, this was truly a trip we will never forget...! Thank you Donn and Marie...we will be back! (Christmas time maybe?) :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donn D, Owner at Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Our guests are SO great!! We love it when we are able to make them happy, relaxed and in a very short time, friends! Thanks so much for your very kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I had previously read the reviews of the Carriage Inn and now I know why the customers are raving about it. We just got back from a 2 night stay, and just going to add to the accolades. Hosts Marie and Donn are wonderful, friendly, and helpful without being intrusive, they truly make you feel at home from the moment you arrive. The Inn is within walking distance to restaurants along a quaint Main Street, or even fast food if that is what you are looking for. But you won't want to miss the breakfast, its fresh hot and waiting for you when you pick your time! The Inn has a wonderful history, which the hosts are well versed in, and great scenery and attractions nearby. We particularly liked Harpers Ferry, which is only 6 miles away. And the Skyline Drive is about an hours drive to enter this wonderful scenic drive and National Park. Marie was gracious enough to show us the entire Inn, and its all lovely and the rooms are all large and spacious. We stayed in the Garden Room. All rooms have private baths. You can't go wrong with this Inn. I am craving Donn's scones, muffins and cookies! There are lovely touches in their hospitality and charm throughout.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donn D, Owner at Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We SO appreciate these reviews! Your kind words encourage us to keep on doing what we love! We LOVE our guests and want them to have a GREAT time while they are with us! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
5.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
8.6 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
10.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a National Register of Historic Places site, The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, with seven rooms and suites, is the perfect place for your relaxing getaway, "close to home" vacation, or romantic weekend away! Business Travelers will receive special care including flexible breakfast times, high-speed wireless internet, and a "no charge" cancellation policy. Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Battlefield Park and Antietam National Battlefield. Antique shops, great restaurants, and Charles Town Races and Slots are within easy walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Charles Town
Carriage Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing