We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place for a Romantic Get Away!”
Review of Hillbrook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillbrook Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Place for a Romantic Get Away!”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed in the Summer cottage which was absolutely wonderful. We felt as if we'd been transported to a secluded up-scale Eurpean setting in the country. The staff were all incredibly helpful and friendly. We both enjoyed the 5 - course gormet dinner in the Inn's gormal dining roomthat evening in the Inn as well as a deliously prepared breakfast in the enclosed porch the next morning. If you enjoy participating in the bed and breakfast experienc, the Hillbrook Inn is a special treat that should not be missed!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but the seansonal 'cottages' are suite style rooms with fireplaces!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickster53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
Wonderful to hear you enjoyed the Summer Cottage and all Hillbrook has to offer. We enjoy hearing that the guests enjoyed a well rounded experience! Our European style hide-a-way is a treat to share with guests and hope to share it with you again in the future! Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    73
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
338
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My boyfriend and I spent a night in the Hillbrook's Winter Cottage after a nice friend offered me her Living Social coupon (we needed an escape from the city)! The night was so wonderful that we were disappointed to learn (although not surprised) we couldn't extend our stay because the entire Inn was booked the following evening. The Cottage was gorgeous, with a jacuzzi tub, comfortable bed, fireplace and iPad. The grounds were lovely and so conducive to relaxing, which was our goal (loved the hammocks). The food was tasty, and the staff was top notch - when we decided to try to find another inn to stay for the rest of the weekend since they were booked, the wonderful staff did a web search for us and helped us find somewhere to stay. And the best is that my two little dogs were able to enjoy the vacation with us, and they even had bowls and special "Paws" towels and treats waiting for them upon arrival. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockstar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
We are happy to hear you and your boyfriend enjoyed the Winter Cottage. It is always nice to escape the city and the hectic lives we all lead! We do wish we were able to extend your stay with us, it would have been nice to visit longer. Next time we hope that the visit can be longer for you both! Thank you for stating the " Cottage was gorgeous with a jacuzzi tub, comfortable bed, fireplace and iPad". Our goal is to make your stay as comfortable, easy and enjoyable as possible. It is nice to hear we achieved our goal and look forward to your goal to return for more relaxation and pampering! We are looking forward to the visit! Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2011

In search of a weekend getaway spot within an hour+ of the DC metro area, we found the Hillbrook Inn to be an excellent choice, with warm inviting grounds, outstanding accommodations and an absolutely melt-in-your mouth dinner at their resturant. Definitely a new go-to destination for a quick get away.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petersva95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Me and my wife love B&Bs, I have to rank this one top 3, and we have been to a great deal of B&Bs through out the United States.
The staff could not have been friendlier, especially Jeff he took great care of us during check-in and during breakfast the next morning.
All of the five courses for dinner melted in your mouth in a really romatic dinning room.
We absolutely loved this place, we will be coming back hopefully in the near future.
I could go on and on but I think you need to experience it for yourself.

Thank you to the staff at The Hillbrook Inn for a great weekend and congratulations for making it a terrific B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddiestw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Dear Eddiestw: Thank you for ranking us in the to 3 Inns you have visited. That is a true honor and deeply appreciated. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff and especially Jeff. He is one of the newest members to our Hillbrook family and it is nice to hear that guests are enjoying him/ He is really nice and we are happy he is with us as well! I will also let Christine know that you enjoyed her five-course meal. Lastly, thank you for enjoying Hillbrook with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future.~ Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This was our second visit to Hillbrook and we had a lovely time. We will definitely go back - it's close, they accept well-behaved dogs, the staff are superb, the rooms are lovely, the food is good, and the rates are reasonable given the quality of everything.

The only issue we had on this trip, however, was enough of one for me to mention it here. We asked for a cot of some sort be put in one of the three rooms we reserved. We were told that would not be a problem and, indeed, there was a cot placed in one of the rooms. However, the quality of the cot was similar to that which you would find in a bad youth hostel. The mattress looked like a tea cup it sagged so much. We mentioned how awful it was after the first night and for the second night we were given an air mattress which deflated an hour later. My sister ended up sleeping on the floor on a mattress that was 75% deflated - not good.

So, that was not pleasant, especially for my sister who had lousy sleep the whole time. Other than that, though, we all enjoyed ourselves, our dog adores the place and, as I mentioned above, we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear Rachel: I am delighted to hear that you returned to the Inn and that you will return again. However, I am also disappointed in the experience your sister had at the Inn! I agree this was not pleasant, therefore, we would like to make this right. Please contact us before your next visit and we will offer you something special for your next stay! In addition, in the future please feel free to contact us immediately, even if it is through the middle of the night! Your stay is so important to us and we want to make things right! Our phone numbers are listed in the rooms specifically for instances such as this. We do enjoy your visit and do hope that the celebration went well though and your family enjoyed the time together! We look forward to seeing you again! -Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The hospitality is second to none. We stayed for three nights in the Bamford Suite and it was to die for! Bed linens are exceptional and the atmosphere is out of this world! The Tavern bar is a great place to hang out and the chef's culinary skills are one of the best we have ever experienced! The grounds are delightful and we loved the life-size chess pieces....check mate in to this inn!!! Thanks and can't wait to revisit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StiophainNiTaluin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank you for the wonderful tag line of "America's Best"! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Bamford Suite and all it had to offer! I am sure you enjoyed the wonderful private patio, so next time you will have to visit in the fall or winter and enjoy the wood burning fireplace! We look forward to dining with you in the future, talking to you and helping you to relax on your next visit as well! - Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

You are delightfully surprized when in the middle of nowhere you drive up on this manicured but rustic grounds and this gorgeous home. The food, both dinner and breakfast are five star quality for taste, appearance and service. The accomodations were spacious, with all the extras from robes, to cookies waiting when you arrive and the comfort of a quality bed but all in a historic atmosphere. This is a location I would visit again and recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 707sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear 707sandra, we are excited to hear that you enjoyed our rustic hide-a-way in Charles Town! It is a little story book to us and appreciate when guests take notice to all the details from the grounds, additional amenities, overnight accommodations to the elegant dinners and delightful breakfasts. We try to put something in the corner of every aspect of your stay! Thank you for enjoying it with us! It was our pleasure to have you as a guest and look forward to seeing you in the future! -Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
10.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
14.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
11.9 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Charles Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillbrook Inn

Property: Hillbrook Inn
Address: 4490 Summit Point Rd, Charles Town, WV 25414-4682
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillbrook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable West Virginia Inn and Restaurant in lovely Charles Town. We were just named in the Top 10 B&B's in the US! Our fantastic Select Registry property is an historic country estate with beautiful gardens on 17 wooded acres. Relax in a romantic suite with comfy beds, whirlpool tubs & fireplaces. Experience the gracious service and award winning dining at our secluded inn that makes us stand apart from any property in Harper's Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hillbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillbrook Hotel Charles Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing