We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hillbrook Inn January 2012”
Review of Hillbrook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillbrook Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hillbrook Inn January 2012”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This was our second stay at Hillbrook and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the fall cottage and everything was as advertised.
We also did the five course dinner and it was excellent.
They go out of there way to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cj1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear CJ1701,
It is nice to hear that you were back to the Hillbrook and enjoyed your stay. It is always nice to see familiar faces! We will tell Christine that you had a delightful five course dinner and will commend the entire staff for making you feel welcome! We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    73
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
338
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The property is very nice in a rural setting. The dinner(not included in rate) and breakfast were very good. The service was good but the room's heat was supplied by a noisy and variable in-wall unit. The temp seemed to vary 20 degrees at what ever setting (there was no temp. indicator). We went on a "Living Social" deal which turned out to not be much of a deal with us paying $28 more thant the room rate for a bottle of champagne, some cookies, and two after dinner drinks.

Room Tip: Don't get the smaller rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolling_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for your honesty! This was the first living social special that we ran and enjoy hearing the feedback. We wanted packages to be value added packages, giving each guests something more for their stay. We had a very positive response to the "living social package" and apologize if you feel it was not the value you had wished for. If you want to contact Hillbrook I would be happy to talk to you and make things right for you on your next stay if you choose.
Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Best B&B my wife and I have stayed at, the main house is charming, rooms were great, the property is beautiful and the food was top rate. There were no flaws in this B&B, no expense spared. The Ipads in the rooms were a nice touch! Best one in the area by far!

Room Tip: We booked in the main house but were upgraded to the summer cottage. It was a wonderful room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for the comment "hidden gem", it is an honor to share Hillbrook with each of our guests. Thank you for taking notice to all the touches, especially the i-pads and the food. We are happy to hear that you were able to upgrade to the summer cottage and were able to enjoy every minute of your stay! We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed every bit of our stay! The rooms are beautifully decorated and the entire property is fantastic. Every single person at the Inn was friendly, accommodating, and professional. We truly enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was quite good and we enjoyed that as well.
We did eat dinner there one evening and felt it was good but not worth the hefty price tag but that did not detract from our enjoyment of the beautiful property. We'll just explore dining options in the local area during future stays. We will return for the wonderful ambiance of the property.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBBSTEPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBInn, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
We are so happy you were able to spend two nights with us! Thank you for mentioning our rooms and property! Our staff works very hard to create an atmosphere that is warm and inviting, therefore, I will be happy to tell them you enjoyed your stay. I will also share your feelings about the dining, I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with the dining experience, but happy to hear that it did not distract from your stay. In the future we would love to make it up to you…or point you into a direction for dining in the area. We look forward to seeing you in the future and hope you enjoy the day! Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Carissa is an amazing hostess! Everything was taken care of for us; room was spectacular --- everything the website showed and more! Christine in the kitchen did an amazing job with our 3-course dinner - including coming out to the dining room afterwards. It was the perfect weekend getaway where we didn't have to do anything except relax and enjoy the beautiful inn and each other!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherC789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBInn, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear Tim B,
It was a pleasure to share the Hillbrook with you and your wife. I am happy to hear that your wife was able to take advantage of the spa while visiting and you were able to get to read. Hillbrook is a special place to us and anytime we can create a relaxing atmosphere for guests, we feel we have accomplished something great. Thank you for being our guest!
Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed in the main house and enjoyed a stress-free stay. My wife enjoyed both a pedicure and a massage, while I spent time catching up on my reading. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was very good. The rooms were comfortable and spacious, and we would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My husband and I celebrated 36 years of marriage and just wanted to relax and be pampered. We really enjoyed the Winter Cottage and the king size bed. Beautiful grounds and the main house was nicely decorated with comfortable chairs and sofas throughout. The staff was very friendly and treated you like you were family. Hats off to the Chef, the 5 course meal was delicious. The candlelight and fireplace in the dining room made it very romantic and comfortable. The history of Hillbrook is very interesting. Please put together a historical review for your guests to read and take with them to share with others. The only thing missing was wood fireplaces in the cottage, gas just seemed out of place. We will highly recommend your B&B to others.

Room Tip: You have to take a room at the cottage for a king size bed but I like the rooms in the main house b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
It was an honor to celebrate your 36th wedding anniversary with you both! We are happy to hear that you were not only able to enjoy the cottages, but that you ventured over to the main house to enjoy what we have to offer there as well! I will let the Chef know that you were happy with everything during dinner as well! As for the history, yes it is very interesting and enjoyable to hear and share with guests. Currently we are working on something to place on the I-pads in the rooms for guests to read on the history of the Inn and property. In addition, I will get with my marketing manager and put something together for guests to take home with them as well. As for the fireplaces, yes we love the wood burning too; we do offer a wood burning fireplace in the Bamford Suite. If you enjoy the ambiance of the main house, this room just might be a good fit for your next visit. Guests are always able to enjoy the wood burning fireplaces in the Living room as well.

I deeply appreciate your feedback! It is wonderful and helpful to hear what guests have to say and look forward to future visits with you both!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
10.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
14.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
11.9 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Charles Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillbrook Inn

Property: Hillbrook Inn
Address: 4490 Summit Point Rd, Charles Town, WV 25414-4682
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillbrook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable West Virginia Inn and Restaurant in lovely Charles Town. We were just named in the Top 10 B&B's in the US! Our fantastic Select Registry property is an historic country estate with beautiful gardens on 17 wooded acres. Relax in a romantic suite with comfy beds, whirlpool tubs & fireplaces. Experience the gracious service and award winning dining at our secluded inn that makes us stand apart from any property in Harper's Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hillbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillbrook Hotel Charles Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing