We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvelous Hillbrook Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillbrook Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hillbrook Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hyattsville, Maryland
1 review
“Marvelous Hillbrook Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I can't say enough good things about Hillbrook Inn. The setting is idyllic, the rooms beautifully furnished, and the atmosphere warm and welcoming. My favorite room is the living room where you can sit in front of a fire and relax. The dining room is intimate, candlelit and on cool nights has a fire going. The food is outstanding.

What makes the HIllbrook stand out, even more than the lovely inn itself, is the staff. This visit we were greeted and checked in by Richardo who served us the HIllbrook welcoming cocktail. Bobby, the manager, is terrific. She is friendly, knows everything about the Inn and makes sure that your visit is as perfect as possible. Chief Justin served us a fabulous, beautifully presented 5 course dinner. If you book dinner for Saturday night you will be served by the wonderful Wilson. Bekky, queen of breakfast, was away, so Roz and Naisa wowed us with their breakfasts.

The owners, Carissa and Chris, have created a marvelous place for romance, r&r or whatever you have in mind and I highly recommend the HIllbrook Inn. Go if you haven't been

Room Tip: Every room has its own charms. The 5 rooms in the main house are equally good. The 4 rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Moira,
Thank you for describing our inn as "marvelous." We deeply appreciate your compliments, especially about our wonderful staff. They truly make Hillbrook the special and memorable place that it is!

I'm glad you were able to experience the warmth of a fire in our beautiful living room and the comfort of gourmet cuisine prepared with our guests' preferences in mind. It was our pleasure to serve you. We hope to see you again in the near future -- maybe this time for a relaxing swing in one of our backyard hammocks.

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    72
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
333
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We just stayed at the Hillbrook Inn in Charles Town over the weekend and we had an "OK" time. We stayed in the Main house in the Locke's Nest.

I'll start with the Cons first :

CONS -

Walls were PAPER thin in the room. We could hear everything going on downstairs as if we were in the conversation with the couple beneath us. At one point the gentlemen sneezed and I said, "God Bless you." We didn't feel as if we had a very private room at all.

Stink bugs/bugs were in the room, alive and dead ones. I left a note for the cleaning staff because the fan/light in the shower was filled with dead bugs. Didn't make for a romantic atmosphere.

The Daybed in the room was scary. Sat on it for 2 seconds and felt like it was going to fall apart. Did not use the rest of our stay.

Be forewarned that if you pick the Locke's Nest it is quite a steep hike up the steps to get to the room. We actually had no problems but I can see where other couples might.

PROs -

We only had breakfast at the Inn and are kicking ourselves for not trying the dinner. Every morning the food was fantastic and fresh. We really enjoyed it!

The Grounds around the Inn are also very nice. We laid in the hammock and played the giant game of chess. The streams and ponds around it were relaxing and beautiful.

Inside of the Inn was very beautiful but watch your head. Some low ceiling areas!

The Bed in the room was amazing and once we got over the noise we slept like babies. GREAT comfortable Queen. :)

Overall:

We would probably stay again, however in a different room/location. (Farmhouse etc..)

Room Tip: The Locke's Nest's walls are paper thin so you hear everything! You also have to walk up ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMarkus79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We truly appreciate your feedback! We are sorry to hear that you had some issues during your stay. We would have loved to move you to a different room if we had not been fully booked while you were visiting us. However, I'm glad that you enjoyed our "fantastic and fresh" gourmet breakfast.

Since the main inn was built in the 1920s, we have made every effort to maintain the character and charm of the home, while providing modern amenities like an amazingly comfortable bed! Our offsite properties offer more modern accommodations, while our Cottage suites and Serenity suite provide additional privacy. We hope you decide to come visit us again and stay in a room that is more to your liking.

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Innkeeper/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Taking my wife on a secret getaway trip, I was looking for a nice B&B, near a casino (she loves the slots). After much research, I found the Hillbrook Inn & Spa located near Charles Town, WV. It is only eight miles from the Hollywood Casino and only and an hour and a half from our home. What a great experience from start to finish. The day could not have been any better. The service, food and accommodations at Hillbrook were awesome, and most of the Trip Adviser reviews were right on target. Andy and Marcy (husband and wife) handled our reservations and they could not have been more informative and gracious with our every question and need. We stayed in the cottages, specifically, the Spring cottage, up the hill from the Main House. Highly recommend any one of the four cottage choices. All are great, but maybe pick the Winter because of the view and King bed. The ambiance of the place is romantic and very private. The rooms are large, with an I-Pad included, an oversized jacuzzi tub and a gas fireplace. Upon check in, Bobbi greeted us with a welcome cocktail of prosecco with grapefruit and cranberry juice. She gave us a brief tour of the main house, history of the Inn, and spent a few minutes going over the charges for the day. As great as the service is, the food is the main star. We selected the five course dinner and was it delicious! We had a scallop appetizer, broccoli cream soup, chicken breast stuffed with spinach, filet mignon and a chocolate pate dessert which tasted like a delicious slice of nutty fudge with fresh strawberries and cream. The dinner is a Chef's Choice, so you do not know what's on the menu, but he will take into account any diet restrictions. Breakfast is included with the initial rate, so don't miss that. They have two seatings, either 8:30 or 9:45 AM. Oh, at the end of our fabulous dinner, Chef Justin came out to the dining room and greeted the guests- nice touch. We heard Living Social does a deal with Hillbrook but be aware it does not include the cottages. They have 18 total rooms but some are two miles down the road from the main house. If you are looking for a nice escape from daily living, travel to Charles Town, during the week (better rates), book a room at Hillbrook, gamble a little and experience fine dining in a bucolic setting that will enhance any relationship!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourtugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your recent stay at Hillbrook Inn & Spa. We truly enjoyed having you! I am so glad to hear that you not only enjoyed the beautiful accommodations and impeccable service, but that you also were able to enjoy the "main star" -- our fine dining experience. Our culinary team goes to great lengths to ensure each guest has memorable meals that are to their individual liking. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to sharing Hillbrook with you again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We visited the Hillbrook Inn on January 17th and 18th. It was absolutely wonderful. The Inn is historic and very quaint. We arrived on Saturday and there was snow on the ground, which just added to the beauty of the Inn. We stayed in the Bamford Suite, which had it's own entrance. It was very cozy with it's own fireplace. We had dinner at the Inn on Saturday night, a great choice. We were pampered and the food was out of this world. Breakfast the next morning was also great. Just what you needed to get your day started. If you want a great getaway weekend, this is the place. We visited a couple of the wineries on the wine tour and had a great time. Also worth a visit is the Bloomery distillery. Great people and good "moonshine". We hope to visit again in the Spring!! Thanks for the hospitality!!

Room Tip: The Bamford suite has it's own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irunrunrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience with us! It's great to hear that you enjoyed the quaintness of the inn and the surrounding attractions. I agree - the local distillery and Northern Virginia wineries are definitely worth a visit!

The Bamford suite is our largest main house room, so I'm glad you were able to enjoy all it has to offer, including the private entrance and romantic wood-burning fireplace -- perfect for a snow-covered day. It was our pleasure to pamper you and show you unmatched hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again this spring!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

My friend picked Hillbrook Inn for a girls weekend. It's a beautiful and quaint, roughly a 10-15 minute drive outside of downtown Charles Town. The Inn is located on 800 acres of land that was once owned by George Washington's family. We had a lovely tour of the property by Ricardo before making our way to the Farmhouse where we were staying. Since there were three of us, we had a spacious room with a king and queen bed. The bathroom was also massive. It had a separate shower and tub with a beautiful vanity. The bedroom looked like it was out of a Pottery Barn catalog. the house is also surrounded by apple orchards.

We had a five-course dinner at the inn. The food was excellent and catered to any intolerance or dietary restrictions we had. All dining tables are near a fireplace giving the meal a rustic, romantic feel. We enjoyed every course. Breakfast the next morning was also delicious.

I look forward to returning to Hillbrook, for another country getaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jleong16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
I appreciate you sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. The Hillbrook Farmhouse is a beautiful property with rooms that are perfect for more than two guests, so I'm glad you were able to enjoy the space. It's also great to hear that dinner and breakfast were to your liking. We certainly look forward to spending another weekend with you in the future!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Virginia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I found Hillbrook Inn & Spa on Living Social as one of their featured escapes back in June 2013. Living Social was also running a promo code with additional savings and I just could not pass this up as an opportunity to book a nice trip for my wedding anniversary in January. My parents were also celebrating a milestone year so my mom also purchased. The deal was for one night in Snuggery, Lookout, Overlook, or Point. I went with the Point because my husband is tall and would prefer a shower as opposed to a tub. The irony is he almost didn't fit through the door. The Point's entrance is a narrow, yet charming tunnel. But nevertheless he was fine. The room was big enough for the two of us, had a iPad with Netflix on it for movies or quick room service, keurig, electric fireplace, and wine for an additional charge. We visited in January and this is an old manor so the room was cold but by the time we went to bed we were both comfortable. We were greeted by Marcy, one of the managers, and she was warm and friendly. She gave us a tour and we later enjoyed some complimentary hot chocolate. The grounds were beautifully snow covered and the fireplace was going. It really was the perfect setting. My parents were in Overlook where the entrance was located outdoors but features a balcony. The LS deal included $25 off of the 3 course prixe fix meal at 6pm so we all decided to participate in that. We were seated in one of the gorgeous dining rooms by the roaring wood fireplace. The first course was butternut squash soup and rolls. I am gluten free for medical reasons and they were more than happy to accommodate me. Second course was a perfectly cooked filet mignon, followed by apple tarts for my family and meringue soufflé for me. After dinner we decided to make the 15 minute drive to the casinos in Charles Town. When we returned the 5 course 8pm seating for dinner had concluded and my only complaint for the stay is that our room was situated above the kitchen and we could hear all the noise. This is an old manor and there is nothing they could have done about that. The next morning we enjoyed the 2 course breakfast that was included in the package. We overlooked the rear of the property and it was beautiful. We enjoyed a yogurt parfait with berries and an egg and potato bake with chicken sausage. Another part of the LS deal was $50 towards a spa treatment so we booked massages. We both really enjoyed them and it was a great way to end the trip. I felt that all the staff were exceptional and their hospitality was fantastic. For history lovers, the inn sits on land once owned by George Washington himself. I would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Overlook and Lookout entrances are located outside the building and have stairs up, this may not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for purchasing a Living Social deal to come stay with us at Hillbrook Inn. I'm so glad you and your mom were able to celebrate your anniversaries together! It's also great to hear that you were able to take advantage of everything we offer at the inn, like the dinner and spa services, as well as some local attractions.

Since the original home was built in the 1920s, the unique architecture of the eves and narrow doorways adorn several of the main house rooms. We do our best to ensure guests are not disturbed by any unwanted noises, but as you said, it can be difficult at times due to the layout of the home. If you're looking for a more quiet and private room, you may want to consider staying in a Cottage suite the next time you visit.

Thank you again for your sharing your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I got this voucher in July 2013. Tried to book a room in the fall, but all the rooms were gone. Finally, we got a chance to check-in in Jan 10th 2014.
Everything was as described, the room was spacious and clean, as warm as home. The "free" breakfast were gorgeous. Everything in the hotel looked aged but nice.
However, the location were terrible. You have to drive about 10 miles to get some food and drink from Charles town. There were no light in the dark, I felt bad when I drove back home after dinner.
The bed were too soft for us and the water press were not good enough to have a comfort shower.
We stayed there just for one day and we found 3 buds in the room. It was in winter now and I thought it would be worse in summer.
After checked out,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Lei Wang,

I'm sorry to hear that you not completely satisfied with your recent visit. It seems as though the title of your review and the rating are not congruent with your experience since you said your room was "spacious and clean" and the breakfast was "gorgeous." Thank you for sharing those compliments - we certainly do appreciate it!

We were disappointed that you did not decide to dine with us during your stay because then you would not have had to travel off of the property. Since we are a quiet country inn located several miles from town, we make sure our guests have everything they need right on the property so they do not have to leave. That's also why we offer our Living Social guests a $25 credit to use toward dinner.

We wish we would have known while you were here that you were not happy with the shower pressure and the other things you mentioned. Although we had already upgraded you at no additional cost to one of our most luxurious suites, we would have been more than willing to move you to a different room if we knew you were not satisfied with the accommodations. We are also in the process of making adjustments to the property lighting to ensure the safety of our guests.

We do appreciate your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience.

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
9.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
14.4 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
4.8 mi away
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
11.6 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillbrook Inn

Property: Hillbrook Inn
Address: 4490 Summit Point Road, Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillbrook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable West Virginia Inn and Restaurant in lovely Charles Town. Our fantastic Select Registry property is an historic country estate with beautiful gardens on 17 wooded acres. Relax in a romantic suite with comfy beds, whirlpool tubs & fireplaces. Experience the gracious service and award winning dining at our secluded inn that makes us stand apart from any property in Harper's Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hillbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillbrook Hotel Charles Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing