We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dubai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good for the airport”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This is a typical Embassy Suites as you will find in all major cities in the US, good sized suite for a very reasonable price.
This hotel is handy for the airport and convention centre but a good 20 minutes out of town (although the hotel offers a bus for around $20) .
Breakfast is busy so get down there early to avoid the queues and the food is of an ok quality, mass produced and probably quite cheaply but there's plenty of it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear James H
Thank you for talking the time to review your most recent stay at the Embassy Suites in Charleston WV. I hope that if your travels return you to the area we will have the opportunity to serve you again

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    268
    131
    76
    38
See reviews for
274
124
38
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay! Large rooms with a bedroom and a living room. Breakfast was great too. Loved the omlet bar in the morning. Well worth the pay. It also was really fancy. :) It was really neat how it had its own gift shop inside!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hippo1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Hippo1231,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review of our hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings and especially our cooked to order omelets add our large suites. I hope that you will return again if your travels bring you back to the area

Regards
Mark Cherry
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I've stayed at this hotel many times for business and with my family. This particular trip was for a nearby family wedding. The location was perfect.

The room was clean and he hotel staff was very helpful -- the bellman was very kind in making sure we got a luggage cart for our departure.

Parking is not particularly convenient -- especially if you have small children. We try to park in the limited parking in front, if possible.

Breakfast was plentiful and offered a variety of choices but average in quality.

The pool was extremely crowded during our stay, and the pool deck was very slippery and unsafe for our children. We did not stay long in the pool area, as a result.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear StephRad,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, I thank you for your comments and we will use your feedback to improve or hotel. I am very happy that you found our staff to be helpful and I hope that we will have the opportunity to serve as your hosts again in the near future.

Sincerely


Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is the second time we have chosen this hotel as a midway resting point as we travel from Michigan to North Carolina. Our kids love this hotel (esp. riding up and down the elevator - thw views!- and checking out the fish in the ponds throughout the first floor.
Our suite was clean, the bathroom was absolutely spotless. Sheets were good quality and our kids slept well on the pull out sofa. The blanket for this sofa had been rolled up in a semi ball in an armoire and we didn't feel it was clean. We asked for a clean blanket and more pillows and they arrived at our room within 15 minutes - great service.
Breakfast was good (coffee was awful though, the coffee in the suite was great), swimming pool is very clean with swim towels provided. I think paying for parking is a bit much and no-one should have to pay for internet anymore but aside from this, we will never stay in another hotel on our way down south. Staff are polite and again, the cleanliness of our room was superb. As we left, we mentioned we had booked and paid for a king suite and had been given a queen and we were generously compensated with points (we are Hilton Honors members) as a result. No such thing as uncaring staff here, they are highly professional.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear loveran,

Thank you very much for your kind words. I am very happy that you had a nice stay and hope that you will again return when your travels bring you back through the area.

Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Nice hotel. Centrally located. For a hotel as expensive as they are, guests should not have to pay $10/day for internet and $12/day for parking. That makes me deduct points despite the excellent breakfast (incl. made to order omelets). If the parking and internet were free, I would given them 5 stars.

Room Tip: They said some of their rooms have wired internet. If wired internet is free, it's worth asking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkrchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear dkrchicago,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Embassy Suites, we will use your feedback to improve our services and make our hotel better for our guests.
Thanks once again
Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We recently stayed at this embassy suites, we always love staying at the Embassy Hotels, this time was a little different, we enjoyed the hotel but the parking was horrible! There was only a small area to park for free at the front of the hotel and the other was in a parking garage (several steps away!) that you had to pay $12.00 a night for! We were able to park after several attempts, in front the first night, but the second night we HAD to park in the garage. The garage had us swipe our room key which we assumed would be charged to our room. Upon checking out of the hotel we found out they charged us for both nights of parking automatically! They did refund the first night but not the second. The Hotel needs to fix this!! Was also disappointed with the maid service, we requested our trash be emptied and fresh towel and supplies for the next night, she straightened the room, and left towels but did not empty the trash we had asked her to nor had she left any new supplies.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
3 Thank Randy- H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Randy-H,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay. I am very sorry about the housekeeping issues you encountered and we will work to improve our services for all our future guests. Parking at the Embassy Suites and in fact at most downtown hotels is a challenge. The hotel does charge $12.00 per night for parking which allows you unlimited access to the adjacent garage (which is not owned by the hotel).
I hope that if your travels return you to the Charleston area that you will once again consider the Embassy Suites for your accommodations needs
Sincerely
Mark Cherry GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Good location. We found a great pizza place walking distance away. Breakfast was just okay although the staff in the dining room was excellent. Room was large enough for our family. Room was fine, not all that memorable. We parked in the front of the hotel and had to deal with a panhandler in the lot. There was a security guard on duty though and no problems.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyG96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#8 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301-1607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing