We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lumberport, United States
1 review
“Awesome hotel”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I loved every luxurious moment I was able to spend in this hotel. I wish my stay could have been longer. I did not have time to visit the pool or the fitness center, but I know from past experience that they are very nice. I will stay here every time I am in Charleston.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    260
    131
    75
    38
See reviews for
271
123
38
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Embassy suites have large rooms, very possibly the best free breakfast offered at a mid-priced hotel chain, this property is no different. The rooms are comfortable, but the decor is slightly dated. The check-in desk has been reconfigured, again, the kiosk check-in is gone. This property has some quirks especially around arrival and parking. The property is bounded on all sides by one way streets, you need to navigate around the block after check-in to get to the parking garage ($12/night) and you need your room key to get into the parking lot. There is no walk bridge between the parking lot and the hotel so you end up walking in the street or across the curb to get back to the hotel. There is a charge for wi-fi, which isn't warranted at this property, it isn't that good. There were no luggage carts available during our check-in and a request to the bell-boy received a response of "they are scattered on various floors", he did not offer to retrieve one or offer to help carry our luggage.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazmwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We will be sure to share your experience with the team and find ways to improve upon our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pineville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place is awesome! The rooms are beyond perfect, the beds are comfortable and the breakfast is great! Very nice place to stay so convenient and close to everything you need .Pool and hot tub always a plus after a long day!

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faithwalker76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The good- spacious room- nice location- free happy hour drinks

The bad- Outdated decor- charge for parking in lot not attached to hotel- room not completely clean (trash in bin not emptied/tissue not replaced/tub not cleaned)- lack of healthy options for "free" breakfast.

Other- Snafu during check-in was handled well by Manager. Staff seemed genuinely pleasant.

I have tired of the whole Embassy Suites experience. This part of the Hilton brand has become more of a family hotel, catering to those looking for a pool and free food and drinks, rather than one catering to the business traveler. Not bad, if that's what you want, but not good if you don't.

All-in-all, this average hotel was nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwcharacters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Everything is great except the pillows!!!!! They go flat as soon as you lay your head down. Do not stay here if you're banking on a good night's sleep. Bring your own pillow. You've been warned. Overall the hotel is nice, and the breakfast and evening reception are what sells it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Zackery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments. We will share your thoughts with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elkins, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel is located perfectly for the concert we attended, once parked we did not have to move our vechicle and fight the traffic which was great. the room was spacious and clean, breakfast was awesome, and lobby was beautiful. Only problem we encountered were the guest beside of us being extremely noisy and rude, we listened to it until 2 AM when we reported it to the front desk, wihtin 1/2 hour the problem was resolved. Rest of stay was great!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We will share with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Embassy Suites Charleston and overall had a satisfactory experience. The only things which were bothersome are parking and a lingering bit of cigarette smoke smell in a non-smoking hotel room.

This is a downtown property next to an in-town shopping mall and parking is provided in the deck which also serves the mall. It costs $12 per night for overnight guests and there's no direct access into the hotel lobby from the parking facility. Getting into the hotel involves leaving the deck at street level and walking to a back lobby of the property so I see this as a somewhat inconvenient and potentially dangerous arrangement. Most other hotels which have a parking deck like this also have some kind of direct access to the hotel lobby. This isn't a deal breaker, but I might next time consider staying at a nearby Hampton Inn which offers free parking and is also a Hilton branded property.

I don't know what can be done if someone breaks the rules and smokes in a non-smoking room, but I'm thinking it happened in our room more than once. Probably the only way to counteract that completely is to repaint and re-carpet the room. Also, the ice-maker on the sixth floor wasn't working so I used the staircase to use one on another floor. The stairwell must be the smoking lounge because it reeked of cigarette smell.

As with all Embassy Suites, the breakfast was well prepared and tasty and the suite was comfortable.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laz1544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We will be sure to share with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#8 of 23 in Charleston
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301-1607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing