We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Solid Stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This Embassy Suites is exactly like all the others, and I suppose that's why I pick them. I know what I'm going to get. It's a good solid stay when traveling for work, and sometimes for pleasure. The food isn't going to win a James Beard award, but it's included when other hotels charge the same rate without it. So, why not!?!? This hotel is in a good central location, although downtown Charleston does not have all that much to see or do. Anyway, it's a good choice if you find yourself in town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayTravelGuyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We will be sure to share your thoughts with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    267
    131
    76
    38
See reviews for
274
124
38
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Having our family reunion at the Embassy Suites was an excellent choice. We had around 80 guests in attendance and the hotel staff was able to accommodate each of us eloquently. The rooms were spacious and clean. The pool and the fitness room were fine. Complimentary breakfasts were exceptional. We will recommend Embassy Suites to all our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tonsie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a very nice hotel. I haven't stayed at an Embassy Suites in a long time. This stay has definitely made me want to stay at another one. I really enjoyed the breakfast and evening receptions. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to our family celebration.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Elise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed for 19 days for work. Marriot booked up so stayed here. Older hotel probably last renovated in the 90's; rooms are dated and dark. Hotel staff vary from friendly to down right rude. Lost my laundry twice, room service constantly getting orders wrong or not delivered at all, parking situation out front is ridiculous. Clients on weekends are usually family reunions or groups who trash the place. Not a very safe area either as a person was stabbed in front of the hotel one night I was there. Dishes and silverware not washed properly and you can see old food particles on both dishes and silverware used at breakfast. Rooms are not cleaned well. Gym equipment sub par. If you are here for a couple of days is bearable otherwise pass; it is convenient to a mall and lots of restaurants though. As stated old hotel has atrium center which when full is very noisy.

Room Tip: there are none that i am aware of.
See more room tips
Green Features: there are none that i am aware of. If you call changing sheets every 3 days and changing towels every 3 days then yes they do however we all know thats just an excuse to save the hotel money on laundry.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We’re very sorry that your experience at our property wasn’t up to our usual high standards and we apologize for all the inconvenience you experienced. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area and experience the excellent level of hospitality that the Embassy Suites brand is known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel itself is nice, yes rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable, but that's were the good stops.
Number one it's self parking in their lot and you are charge $12 to park. I can see that if you have valet or have to share a lot as some hotels do. But this is their parking lot. Plus I need handicap parking and the spots are in a line with no space between to even open your door much less unload a mobility scooter, our wheel chair. I would guess this is problem for ADA.
The clerk at check in was rude and completely unfriendly, never greeted in any fashion with a hi or welcome or recognized as Hilton Diamond member.
After we got to our room and freshened up we went down to the bar for a drink. Now this Embassy does the reception a little different, it's in another area and not at the bar. But I really wanted a call liquor and not the reception so I went to the bar. Scott the bartender was unreal rude. He kept telling me to go over there and I kept trying to say I want a drink here and don't mind paying.I had to ague with him to get served at the bar. Then he went in the back never to be seen except every so often he would stick his head out from behind a door and look at me to see if I wanted another drink. Never speaking a friendly word or a word period, maybe a grunt when I thanked him for my drink.
So to sum this stay up, if you don't mind over paying for a hotel and it's amenities and want rude service. This is for you. Not me I will not be back if I can help it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We’re very sorry that your experience at our property wasn’t up to our usual high standards and we apologize for all the inconvenience you experienced. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area and experience the excellent level of hospitality that the Embassy Suites brand is known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckley, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Embassy Suites, Charleston, WV is a fantastic place to stay. The staff is so courteous and helpful. They go out of their way to make your stay wonderful. I am in Charleston for business at least every month and would never choose to stay anywhere else. The location is great, close to shopping, dining, points of interest and an airport. Great for the business traveler, or the family!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Great staff, good location, comfortable beds, good room service, great breakfast. The breakfast area even featured an omelet bar with a nice chef. The bathroom is nice as well as the toiletries. The couch and chairs in the great room in the suite were also comfortable. This hotel will provide you with a wonderful stay...

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#8 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Address: 300 Court St, Charleston, WV 25301-1607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Charleston is centrally located in Charleston, WV close to many local restaurants, shopping and more. Enjoy a meal at the onsite restaurant, the Athletic Club Bar and Grill, or visit one of Charleston’s many restaurants. Mingle with other guests at a complimentary manager's reception, held daily each evening. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, indoor pool and spa tub, WiFi (surcharge), express check-out, multilingual staff and more. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary during limited hours. Parking (subject to charges) is conveniently located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing