We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a fan...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I had never been to West Virginia and trusted the tripadvisor reviews to pick a good hotel. The reviews have said that it was quiet and they slept great. While it is redone and updated ... The lobby smells awful... Not like a stench just like cigarette smoke and perfume like someone tried to mask the smoke and failed. The carpets on the 4th floor were stained and I guess it depends on where in the hotel your room is but I could clearly hear the person down the hall slamming their door at 4am and the train across the river goes through at all hours of the night blowing it's horn multiple times. I had an interview the next morning and slept horribly.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meh369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Meh369,
Thank you for your review. We are sincerely sorry we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. We strive to maintain a relaxing and quiet accommodations for our guests, and we apologize this was not your experience. Rest assured, your comments have been shared with our team and properly handled to ensure future improvement. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience, and we hope you will give us another try to better impress you. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

I travel to Charleston a lot for work and have stayed nearly everywhere in town. This hotel is by far the best stay. The rooms were amazing and very quiet so I had no issue working and the food is exceptional! Everything is very clean and the new lobby is absolutely gorgeous. I've found my new "permanent" temporary home here in Charleston!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsAFTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Rooms were clean, very spacious and modern. We had a large TV, free internet access, and the lobby area was renovated and nice. Service was polite and efficient. We were just passing through Charleston during a long road trip, and this hotel had easy access to all major highways and was very reasonably priced. Perfect for our purposes.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank es o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Our experience this past weekend is in line with very positive reviews provided by prior reviewers.

It is worth mentioning that we did run into one situation which disappointed us enough to talk with Aaron the manager. Instantaneous action was taken to remedy the situation. Aaron also offered us very kind remuneration. And then each day for the balance of our trip, checked in with us. He cared about the outcome and it mattered to us.

Aaron turned a "situation" into a win for Four Points. I cannot recommend this place and the service provided by Aaron and his crew any more highly. Thank you.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Rob B,
It’s our team’s goal to provide outstanding service to our guests and best accommodate their needs. However, we will recognize Aaron for paying careful attention to making your stay memorable. Thank you for your very kind review and recommendation, and we hope you will return to stay with us again the future. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The staff is top notch! Everyone that we encountered was friendly, courteous, and always a smile! Thanks to Robert, Spencer, Aaron, Barbara, Sue, Pam for making our trip so memorable. Free shuttle to take you anywhere, day or night. Lots of recommendations available for where to eat. Food in hotel delicious! Late night dinner available. Breakfast (buffet on weekends). Great location. Convenient to everything we wanted. Super staff! I can't stress that enough. Ask and they shall do!

Room Tip: We had a lovely view of the Kanawha River. A tad noisy on free outdoor concert nights, but they sto...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SingingMima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A newly remodeled hotel but the construction continues. My room was on the ninth floor under the condo renovations. When I checked in they did not give me any information that I may encounter "loud, I mean cannot hear the TV loud noise".

Started a nap after lunch but woke up to the drilling. Called down to front desk got a "am sorry they should be done by 5:30pm". Went to the front desk and they said that they had no control over the construction since the condos are not owned by the hotel. No offer of moving to another room was made. The rooms are nice got a RiverView and a free bottle of H2O since I am a Sheraton Member. No frige in room, nice bed and pillows, ac is a window unit a bit noisy but better than the construction. Breakfast buffet was average but 10 bucks. Scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, pancakes.

Room Tip: ask for river view away from construction
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

This newly remodeled hotel is extremely clean and was nicely remodeled. All staff members that I encountered were extremely nice and courteous. Breakfast was tasty although a bit pricey and the bed was very comfortable.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank sethwvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Charleston

Address: 600 Kanawha Blvd E, Charleston, WV 25301-2181 (Formerly Ramada Charleston Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £76 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in everything that West Virginia’s capital has to offer at the Four Points by Sheraton Charleston. Our riverfront location provides easy access to the State Capitol, the Charleston Civic Center, the University of Charleston, and the Charleston Town Center shopping mall. Take advantage of our free on-demand shuttle service to and from Yeager Airport (CRW), which is 10 minutes away.Admire beautiful Kanawha River or downtown views from one of our 176 guest rooms and suites. Get plenty of free extras, like High Speed Internet Access, bottled water, and a daily newspaper. Take care of business at the spacious work area with an ergonomic chair, or watch your favorite show on the 42-inch flat screen TV. Get a great night’s sleep in one king-size or double Four Points by Sheraton Four Comfort Beds™.We have everything you need for a productive business trip or a fun, active vacation. Stay in touch with the office in our lobby’s open business center. Or swim laps in our new indoor heated swimming pool and work out in the expanded fitness center. Watch the game at the family-friendly Recovery Sports Grill, or head to the quieter lobby lounge for grab-and-go breakfast or an evening cocktail.The Four Points by Sheraton Charleston can host a range of events, with nearly 9,000 square feet of total space. Let our professional planning and catering teams help you stage a successful, memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Downtown Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing