We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Nearby Hotels
US$152
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$131
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$193
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$61
US$50
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
137
133
73
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
137
133
73
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscivic centercinnamon rollsfront deskpancake machineroom was cleanacross the streetbreakfast staffcookiesbreakfast was excellentwould stay here againdowntown arealong drivenext morningroad trippleasant staygreat roomchecking in
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our first night at the hotel was on July 20, when entering the room, we checked the refrigerator and found a take out box from Chilis and 4 yogurts. It was obvious that the cleaning staff did not clean out the fridge from last customers. The microwave really needed a cleaning as well. Bathroom floor had not been cleaned thoroughly but it was a good room for the night.

Our second night was a week later. The first room we were given was very musty smelling and the toilet was leaking on the floor. We switched rooms and this room had an patched ceiling where water must have leaked. Also, the bathroom tub didn't drain properly while showering. The same room was clean but the fan on the air conditioner was popping outside as it was winding down, sort of sounded like fireworks. Also, after getting 3 keys, one worked and the other two still didn't after being rekeyed.

The people working the hotel were very pleasant and the location is great and close to the mall. Which is great when you need to get some energy out of kids from being in a car all day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAP1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear JAP1011,

Thanks for the review of our hotel you recently posted. Your views and comments are very important to us as we constantly look for ways to improve both our facility and services. I have shared your concerns with both our housekeeping and maintenance managers and can assure you that corrective actions are in place to prevent such oversights in the future. Your kind comments about our staff are very much appreciated. Kindest regards....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Charleston on a cross country trip. We got a great price for the rooms. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. When we got to our room, we saw that the bed looked like a full size- not ok. I called the desk and they quickly put us in a room with a King. The room was spacious with a couple of seating areas. The bathroom could have been a little cleaner. The tub did not drain well. Very good free breakfast with hot choices like scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, pancakes etc... A certainly acceptable place to stay if you are in the area.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank marsalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear marsalv,

We appreciate your taking the time to post your review and I am glad to hear that overall you were pleased with your stay. I have relayed your housekeeping concerns to our housekeeping manager so that remdial action can be taken. Please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience this may have caused, and we hope to see you again upon your next visit to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel has a great location within walking distance from the Charleston Civic Center and the Charleston Town Center Mall. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice. The only thing missing was refrigerator and microwave. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Check in and check out was very easy. I did have an issue with my stay though. I was using my rewards points and I still got charged for the room. I called back and was told that it was taken care of and yet it cleard my account and has yet to be removed. So always pay close attention when using your rewards points.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Lisa L,

Thank you so much for your recent review, and especially for being a loyal IHG Rewards Member! You gracious comments concerning both our staff and services are much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hotel was the host hotel for our Family Reunion. We had an amazing experience. The staff was friendly and professional. The server in the conference room was excellent. He made sure everything was arranged to our satisfaction and he remained available throughout the evening. The food service was plentiful. The rooms were neat and clean. The lobby and all areas were well decorated. The shuttle service was outstanding. The driver was prompt and courteous. We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randall-Banks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Randall-Banks,

Thanks for sharing you amazing experience with us! We are delighted to hear that your overall experience with our hotel exceeded your expectations. Certainly we appreciate your choosing us to host the Randall-Banks reunion and hope that should your travel plans bring you back to the area that you will again allow us to be your home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed in a ground floor handicap room. Not sure why we were in a handicap room but not a big deal. The kids liked the pool, it was a good size for a small hotel. The room was clean the pool was clean with clean towels to dry off with. The breakfast was good the next morning. Very easy access to the highway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrienNVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear BrienNVanessa,

Thanks so much for the kind remarks about our hotel taht you posted reccently. It is always nice to hear directly from our guests when we have accomplished our mission of providing excellent service and accomodations! Your views and opinions are truly helpful in providing the high level of service expected of our brand. Hope to see you on your next visit to Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews