We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience. Clean. Repeat.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here before. We always stay on the 2nd floor. Both sides face the rd, but the front is quieter. Lower floors are cooler in the hotter months, & they have done a little renovation of things here & there(they were putting in new mattress covers while we were checking out).
The free WiFi in room is nice & fast. Free breakfast is hot & plentiful. As long as you get down early on busy weekends, it's not too crowded. Clean sheets & duvets & fresh washed shower curtains. They gladly provided more towels for us. The staff was friendly each time. Decent small workout facility.
Only down side: we came for an event going on at the Civic Center, for this stay, which is conveniently located across the street. Great. Here's the bad part. We got a parking pass for staying. There was a full parking lot, which made it look like the hotel was full. It was from people parking for free avoiding the fee at the parking garage directly across the street. Every time it was like this.
We walked to Pies & Pints and Charleston Brewery, Black Sheep Burrito. So, very convenient.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear D R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It is very nice to know that you have enjoyed some of the amenities and facilities of our hotel. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with the parking. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. Again, we appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here March 11 through March 23 for the basketball tourney. Everything wa perfect as always when you stay here. On wednesday the 2nd week my wife got sicker than she was when we left on vacation and we had to get an ambulance. The night clerk took care of everything and even came to the room to see if there was anything else he could do for us. The sickness was the tough part of the vacation. Through it all we were still able to watch most of the state basketball tourney. When we got back from the hospital the staff had signed a get well card for my wife. Mr. Eaton and his fine staff ALWAYS goes the extra mile for his guest.

Room Tip: If you are staying here book your room early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooks321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stay here routinely for work. It's a fairly clean and quiet hotel. It appears that in the last year or so they've remodeled making the interior much nicer. There is a nice continental breakfast. It's located almost across the street from the mall so if you're looking to kill time, fun isn't far away!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Hotel was average fort the money. We stayed here one night before meetings. Good hot breakfast and they served us a great lunch. Room was up to date but only downfall was the shower didn't drain. Overall good experience. Staff were helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms about the same I suppose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariggle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear ariggle 3,

I appreciate your taking the time to share your recent experience with our hotel on TripAdvisor. Your kind remarks about our team and the services we provided are also much appreciated! I have asked our maintenance department to follow up on the slow tub drain you mention. Should your travels bring you back to Charleston we hope that you will continue to choose us.

Best regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

First of all the staff is amazing. We were there during a bad snow storm and staff was super helpful on what roads to take when freeway was closed. Breakfast was very good. Housekeeping leaves alot to be desired. Room needed dusted and bathroom looked like it needed to be cleaned a little better. Heater is room was either good or hot, no warm..

Room Tip: Be ready to have one of your best sleeps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiggsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I was here for a conference that focused on Southern Travel and Hospitality and I must day that the HI Express held up its end of the deal! Room was clean, lots of varying degrees of firmness to the pillows, breakfast was great (even the smell of bacon at 4:45 in the morning as it cooked ;) ) Front desk was very friendly and helpful. Bottled water was plentiful and the cookies were appreciated. I really liked the open, ground level parking lot as opposed to valet or garage parking. I think it is the most convenient to the Civic Center and walking to the mall and restaurants was easy. I would stay here again

Room Tip: I had ground level and loved the convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HorryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I was here for a conference with my wife. I must say the staff was very friendly but to have an elevator out during a time when there were people from all over the South for a conference was more than just an inconvenience.Having to wait for several minutes and then wait again was a bit much. Our room had not been dusted, and during our three day stay, the room was not refreshed one of those days, so no fresh towels and the trash cans was not empted for a period of three days. With the water problem on the minds of everyone, there should have been water in the room, instead, we had to ask for it at the front desk. Yes, there were cookies, but other motels do the same without the elevator as a problem.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Ron B,

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate the kind comments about our staff as well. While we had hoped that our elevator work would be complete before your stay, some things are simply beyond our contral. I am happy to report evrything will be complete on March 3rd. I have addressed the housekeeping concerns you mentioned with our leadership team and can assure you that necessary action has been taken. We're pleased that you chose our hotel for your lodging needs while attending the Travel South conference and we hope that you will consider us again should your travels bring you back to Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charleston South, WV
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Address: 100 Civic Center Dr, Charleston, WV 25301-2527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £71 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Civic Center is located in the beautiful riverfront capitol of Charleston, West Virginia. Our hotel was just beautifully and completely renovated. Our entire team will work diligently to exceed your expectations while providing an abundance of comfort, safety, and amenities which reflect our Southern hospitality! Finding your way through the majestic mountains of West Virginia and past the winding New, Kanawha, and Elk Rivers to the junctures of I-64, I-77 and I-79, the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center invites you to a contemporary ambiance and warm atmosphere with its ideal location for shopping, dining, and theater going even while doing business in our capitol city. The Holiday Inn Express houses 196 rooms. Nestle into the comfort of your own private room and get a peaceful night’s rest on our luxurious bedding. All rooms come complete with free high speed internet access, HD flat-screen TVs, a work desk area, and coffee maker. Select rooms come with a microwave and a mini fridge. In the mornings satisfy your hunger with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet included with your stay. If your taste buds are in the mood for something different then stroll to one of over 16 restaurants located within blocks of the hotel. Enjoy a leisurely walk on a path along the Kanawha River or engage in a friendly game of volleyball on the courts at Magic Island. "Meet and Greet" in our lovely appointed Sternwheeler Room for all your meeting needs for up to 100 people. While enjoying your stay in the beautiful town of Charleston, West Virginia, be sure to visit some of the local attractions such as Charleston Civic Center, Charleston Historic District, Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences, Coonskin Park, Craik-Patton House, and Haddad Riverfront Park. Choose the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center in the downtown capitol city of Charleston, West Virginia where you’ll find a truly warm Southern Hospitality experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing