We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Switzerland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong here”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a good quality standard traveler's hotel. As Holiday Inn Express should be... the best surprise is no surprise.

Convenient access to the interstate.

Important to my wife: it is clean.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatPro93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear ExpatPro93,

Thank you so much for the great review! I'm certain that it will be very helpful to others who use this trusted site to make their lodging decisions.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Kindest regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    118
    67
    20
    9
See reviews for
74
77
21
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We visit Charleston on our way north to Niagara Falls. After reading the reviews of the hotel we were a little unsure what to expect. Wow, it had a great location and the rooms were very classy. The breakfast was also one of the best we had on our trip to USA. We were pleasant surprised with this hotel

Room Tip: We stay on the 6 floor and it was good to be away from the reception and breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ossietripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear ossietripper,

Thank you for your review, and most importantly for choosing us for your stay in Charleston! Your nice remarks about our rooms and breakfast are also very much appreciated.

Should your travels bring you "back across the pond" we hope that you will again stop in Charleston WV and stay with us again!

Sincerely,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Clean, nice Hotel, stayed due to the proximity to the airport. Breakfast was fast and on time. Staff was veery friendly and extremely helpful. I did not use the pool or gym area. Business area was great and everything worked!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear David H,

Thanks so much for your recent review, especially the great comments about the friendliness of our staff, breakfast, and business center services. Feedback such as your still remains our best source to gage our service delivery.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

After a long drive, it was great to have a reliable hotel that had WiFi for my husbands work meeting in the morning, a great breakfast bar including those fabulous cinnamon rolls, warm cookies and water bottles upon arrival, in a clean room with a soft bed. Thanks to Anthony who checked us in, Amanda and William at the front desk in the morning who were very helpful, and sweet Wandell who was keeping the breakfast bar filled making sure you had everything you need! Every hotel personnel who we walked by said hello and welcomed us. What a refreshing experience. We will be back to visit when we passed through this way again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Diana H,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! It is our mission to not just meet, but to exceed our guests expectations. And it looks like with the help of our associates Anthony, Amanda, William, and Wandell we did just that! We appreciate your thoughtful comments and very much look forward to seeing you again the next time you pass through Charleston.

Warmest regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foley, Alabama
Level Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with a large group. Check in was very easy and the staff was friendly. Breakfast was good with lots of choices. It had several restaurants only a block away so it was convenient. The only complaint I had was I didn't receive my requested wake up call.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LAtraveler36542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear LAtraveler36542,

Just wanted to say thank you for such a wonderful review! Your gracious comments about our staff service, breakfast, and location are very much appreciated. I am so sorry that you did not receive your requested wake up call, we are currently looking into why this happened and will make every effort to assure this does not happen to a future guest.

Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kindest regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kusadasi, Turkey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Arriving very late and tired after a long drive was hard enough. I wanted to take shower and sleep. The hotel was clean but not like the other holiday inn express hotels. I little falling behind. I got into my room after a useless long talk at the reception. Too talkative he was. Room was clean shower was smelling nice. its ok for the price nothing more...

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jazzhearted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear jazzhearted,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. We were very happy to hear how pleased you were with the quality of the room and services offered. Please accept my appology for our guest service representative being a little too chatty at check in. Your feedback is very important and is our greatest resource for improving service.

Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beech Bottom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference at the convention center. Chose this hotel for price location and amenities. Previously stayed several years ago. Hotel was clean. Mary and Russell were awesome when I checked in after a long day of work and travel. Breakfast was tasty. I will stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank WLSC2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear WLSC2008,

Thanks so much for your recent review. We were delighted to hear how pleased you were with both our staff and services, particularly the excellent service you mentioned receiving from both Mary and Russell. We wre very priviledged to have such fine associates.


We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Kindest regards,

Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#8 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Address: 100 Civic Center Dr, Charleston, WV 25301-2527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Civic Center is located in the beautiful riverfront capitol of Charleston, West Virginia. Our hotel was just beautifully and completely renovated. Our entire team will work diligently to exceed your expectations while providing an abundance of comfort, safety, and amenities which reflect our Southern hospitality! Finding your way through the majestic mountains of West Virginia and past the winding New, Kanawha, and Elk Rivers to the junctures of I-64, I-77 and I-79, the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center invites you to a contemporary ambiance and warm atmosphere with its ideal location for shopping, dining, and theater going even while doing business in our capitol city. The Holiday Inn Express houses 196 rooms. Nestle into the comfort of your own private room and get a peaceful night’s rest on our luxurious bedding. All rooms come complete with free high speed internet access, HD flat-screen TVs, a work desk area, and coffee maker. Select rooms come with a microwave and a mini fridge. In the mornings satisfy your hunger with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet included with your stay. If your taste buds are in the mood for something different then stroll to one of over 16 restaurants located within blocks of the hotel. Enjoy a leisurely walk on a path along the Kanawha River or engage in a friendly game of volleyball on the courts at Magic Island. "Meet and Greet" in our lovely appointed Sternwheeler Room for all your meeting needs for up to 100 people. While enjoying your stay in the beautiful town of Charleston, West Virginia, be sure to visit some of the local attractions such as Charleston Civic Center, Charleston Historic District, Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences, Coonskin Park, Craik-Patton House, and Haddad Riverfront Park. Choose the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center in the downtown capitol city of Charleston, West Virginia where you’ll find a truly warm Southern Hospitality experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing