We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as other Marriotts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not as good as other Marriotts”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Positives:
- good location, right across from the mall
- clean room, comfortable beds
- well equipped gym with individual tv's
- friendly staff, gave me room on higher floor when asked
Negatives:
- no wifi, only wired internet, fortunately free for the summer
- inconsistent hot water temperature. only had cold water for 10 minutes when I initially turned on the shower.
- silverware, glasses, plates not cleaned from hallways for many hours
- one of the older Marriott properties that's looking a bit tired both inside and out, needs renovation

Room Tip: Get a room above 5th floor, the lower level rooms' view is blocked by a tent built for a restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xienon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    212
    112
    36
    8
See reviews for
118
101
28
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
vidor tx
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Here for a funeral, not familiar with area was a good choice, easy to get to location... next to mall Great helpful friendly staff. Room was clean and bed very comfortable ! They also let us use a wheelchair to take to mall for my 83yr old mother ! Which was wonderful ! let my sisters and i shop much longer! = )

Room Tip: any room should be great, we were on the 9th floor rm 926, close to elevator which was great with 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryandkarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The Perfect hotel. All kinds of activity across the street Mall Movies. Great food and bar area. Well maintained. My Home away from home when I need a get away to Charleston...Close to AirPort Great Shuttle service. Evening mini Meal for elite guess. Real food and Beverage are complimentary for the top elite there. Always welcome with a smile. Would Recommend to all and the Price is Right!!!

Room Tip: Plenty to see and do Great Hospitals all around. Great for all occassions
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecroadwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Me and my family stayed here first week of Sept for my cousin's wedding and i'm impressed with the service we received. Housekeeping was friendly (we got chocolates and ice every night), feather pillows and blankies are comfy, our room and washroom didn't stink and the A/C worked perfectly.

I just wanted to give a big thank you to JERICA from the Front Desk. In the rush rush process of the bridesmaids (me) going from one pavillion to the other, I left my eyeglasses in the Tent. I was scared that I wouldn't be able to drive home; and she assured me that she will talk to the Banquet Manager to find it. Soon enough, I got a call that they have it. You guys are amazing !

I would also like to thank the kitchen staff of the banquet hall we were on. The food was yummy ! It's the best Lemon Sorbet i've tasted so far ... not to mention the bacon wrapped shrimp and crab in beurre blanc was mmmm !!

We'll stay at the Marriott next time, take care you guys :-)

- CHRIS B.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineland, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I have been a Marriott Rewards Member for over 40 years and experienced the Marriott brand when it was new and many of the properties were Marriott owned. Time and the current business model have reduced many of the properties to also rans, when compared to the competition. The Town Center is no different. Over the years, I've stayed in rooms with peeling wall paper, water leaking into the room during a rain storm, noisy HVAC system and less than adequate cooling in the summer.

What brings me back (obviously the rewards points also) is a wonderful staff. Front desk reception is always very, very good and you are made to feel welcome and appreciated. If you're lucky enough to be checked in by Daniel (rooms manager) you'll see what I mean about being made to feel like a really "welcomed guest".

The concierge lounge is a joke. Not so much the area itself, but the meager and cheap snacks offered - greasy pigs in a blanket anyone?

For years I've complained about the condition of the garage elevator. Entering it from the garage, you feel as if you are about to be taken to a run down road side motel. Dirty most of the time and noisy and rough operation.

Forget about dinner and/or lunch. Check out the Tidewater and Chop House right across the street, in the mall. However, the breakfast buffet is very good, with great variety, lots of fresh fruit, custom made omlets and a very accomodating and sincerely doting waitstalff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noise of the HVAC system, ice and vending machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob46890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback in regards to the Charleston Marriott Town Center. You are correct that the hotel is in need of a redo. Although the staff does a great job of keeping it clean and maintained to the best of their ability at some point as with any structure you need to reburbish and upgrade the facility. The plans are set for a complete rooms redo and a lobby redo to be started in January of 2012. We will start with the rooms in January and then finish the year with the lobby. We will also be addressing the HVAC issues and making improvements. I will pass on your compliments to the Front Desk staff and particularly Daniel. Thank you for acknowleging them. I encourage you to try the concierge on your next stay as the Chef has change all food items and I know you will be impressed. Although we do not operate the garage I have addressed the cleanliness issue and can assure you progress has been made. The Chef has also designed a new menue for the the Whitewater Grille and I encourage you to give it a try. Again thank you for your nice comments in regards to the breakfast buffet and the waitstaff, I will be sure to pass them on. Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts, very much appreciated.

Steve Lemmerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I was in this hotel for only one night, and that was more than enough. The location is super, but the hotel is older and has nott kept pace with the time. I was upgraded to a suite, which was extremely large, but smelled old, was filled with outdated furniture, and had an air conditioner that was not sufficient to adequately cool the room. I have stayed here before, and have noticed the steady decline in the property - but it is time for Marriott to get on the ball and update this property before it gets any worse!

The Concierge Lounge was probably one of the worse ones I have ever encountered...we still aren't sure what the appetizers were that they were serving!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevenVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thank you for your comments. All these things have been addressed and a complete rooms redo is scheduled to start in December of 2011. This will include the concierge lounge. Again thank you for your comments it is always very helpful in helping us improve our product, as well as, our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was very professional. Location was great. Would recommend anyone to stay at this property

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlienohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott Town Center

Property: Charleston Marriott Town Center
Address: 200 Lee St E, Charleston, WV 25301-1508
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unmatched travel experience at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Charleston, West Virginia, our hotel offers guests superior amenities, gracious service, and comfortable accommodations. Our guest rooms and suites are designed to facilitate relaxation and productivity, boasting features like high-speed Internet access, plush bedding, and expansive floor-to-ceiling windows. Begin your morning in our state-of-the-art fitness center and indoor pool, before exploring a variety of local attractions, including the adjacent Charlestown Town Center Mall. However you choose to spend your day, we invite you to dine with us at our popular on-site restaurant, Brick Salt Bar+Kitchen, which features modern American cuisine. If visiting Charleston for business, you'll be delighted by our comprehensive on-site corporate facilities, which encompass 17,500 square feet of modern meeting room space. We look forward to your visit here at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Charleston Marriott Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Charleston Town Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing