We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Morgantown wv
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I stay in this hotel twice a week and am very familiar with it, as well as other marriott properties. The location is the best in Charleston (right accross the street from the mall) and close to several restaraunts, both casual and find dining. The gym and indoor pool are very nice. The hotel is older, but the rooms have been recently renovated and they are going to renovate the lobby this fall. The best part of the hotel is the service. The concierge lounge attendants are wonderful with Carmen in the evening and Brian in the monrings. They will make you feel quite at home. Downtown charleston is very nice and quaint and the hotel is only 4 blocks from the historic capitol street with many drink and dinner options, with some lively nightlife. My only complaint is the wireless service in the rooms is somewhat slow and needs updating. 1-13mb/sec is common. The lobby is much better to get a good signal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noah684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    212
    112
    36
    8
See reviews for
118
101
28
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stopped here last minute en route to PA. They are undering going a renovation (mostly complete) and the rooms and lobby were fresh, stylish and clean! Keith, who could not be more friendly, helped us to our room and pointed out certain things in the room. Even though there was a private party on site, we never heard any loud music or late-night partiers. The next morning we had the breakfast buffet. Our server was also very friendly and we enjoyed the wide variety of hot and cold foods. As we checked out, another staff member helped us to our car and she was again, very friendly. More than I can say for the people here in Pittsburgh so far....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wndrwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbin, Kentucky, United States
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Had a great overnight stay at the Marriott in Charleston. Our room was clean and very comfortable. The mall was really close and enjoyed shopping that evening. The breakfast bar was really good and started our day off well. Great place to spend the night!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accokeek, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was my first time ever in WVa and the staff of the Marriott made my stay "worth the trip". Having flown in on a propeller plane, I was tired and a bit frustrated. The staff of the Marriott greeted me warmly. Although my room was not ready yet due to my early arrival, they provided excellent concierge service and gave me great information for dining and relaxing. Throughout my stay, all the staff were very friendly - having delightful conversations when time permitted and getting to know the desires of the guests. Although no complimentary breakfast was provided to all guests, as was other hotels in the surrounding area, I still highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room on floors 14-16 - great view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PastorPastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, SC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

Right off the interstate, and it's across from the mall and Civic Center. Clean, affordable and worth a stay if Charleston is a stopping point.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackstraw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I can't say enough about the smart maintenance engineer and helpful van driver at this hotel.

We had brought along a Netflix DVD to watch. My husband was able to get the sound of the DVD but not the picture. We called down to the front desk for help. They said they'd send an engineer to the room within 15 minutes. Only about 5 minutes had gone by when the engineer arrived. He told us that the TV settings weren't correct to play a DVD so he promptly corrected this. He then showed my husband how to toggle between the DVD and cable channels. We got to watch our movie and were vey happy.

The van driver gave us some good dinner recommendations and dropped us off at one of these restaurants. The driver told us to call him if we wanted a ride back. The restaurant was indeed good. We called for a ride back and the driver was there within 10 minutes. What a great experience!

Also, the cook making omelettes and waffles for breakfast was terrific. My husband raved about the waffles, saying they were light and tasted almost like a doughnut. Also, my husband and 2 other guests complimented the cook on his eggs.

The room we had on the 14th floor was nicely renovated. The colors were soothing and the room seemed to be more spacious than I remembered. We had a great stay and we'll be back.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Macybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I have stayed at this hotel once or twice a year for the last twenty years. It had started to show some wear and tear over the years, but we always enjoyed it because of it's great location near the Town Center Mall, Civic Center, Capitol Building, minor league baseball park and numerous dining options. We knew the last time we stayed, about 1 1/2 years ago, that they were making several renovations.
What a great surprise when our family of 3 checked in early July and found an elegant, remodled, modern hotel that now matched the excellent service, location and comparatively low cost. Not only are the rooms much nicer, but also, the hallways and check in area. We didn't get to try the hotel restaurant this time, but have found it quite good in the past.
If you are visiting Charleston, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WVtravelers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott Town Center

Property: Charleston Marriott Town Center
Address: 200 Lee St E, Charleston, WV 25301-1508
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unmatched travel experience at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Charleston, West Virginia, our hotel offers guests superior amenities, gracious service, and comfortable accommodations. Our guest rooms and suites are designed to facilitate relaxation and productivity, boasting features like high-speed Internet access, plush bedding, and expansive floor-to-ceiling windows. Begin your morning in our state-of-the-art fitness center and indoor pool, before exploring a variety of local attractions, including the adjacent Charlestown Town Center Mall. However you choose to spend your day, we invite you to dine with us at our popular on-site restaurant, Brick Salt Bar+Kitchen, which features modern American cuisine. If visiting Charleston for business, you'll be delighted by our comprehensive on-site corporate facilities, which encompass 17,500 square feet of modern meeting room space. We look forward to your visit here at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Charleston Marriott Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Charleston Town Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing