We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff; overall average to slightly below average Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff; overall average to slightly below average Marriott”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I spent one night at this Marriott when I was driving through Charleston. As a gold elite member, I stay at a decent amount of Marriotts. I thought this hotel was pretty good (my room seemed like it was somewhat recently renovated). I ate breakfast at the hotel. The buffet was pretty good. I also had dinner at the bar since I arrived to the hotel late at night. The food was good, too.

I didn't like that the balcony doors only opened 4 inches. And I think the parking garage--at $12 per night--is definitely overpriced.

The staff at the hotel were all very friendly. I would return to this hotel if I'm in Charleston in the future. I thought the bed was incredibly comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewBVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It is our pleasure to serve you and we certainly want to hear from guest that the service was excellent. We certainly appreciate all your comments which will help us to continue to improve as we strive to be a brilliant hotel. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    210
    111
    36
    8
See reviews for
115
100
28
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
MI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel as a halfway stopping point. It was easy to find and in a good location across the street from the mall. When we checked in we were warmly greeted and advised there was a large party going on at the hotel and she asked me if it was okay to let my children have a free movie. Then after mentioning it was a long drive, she offered my kids a snack. A few hours after getting settled, my daughter got sick at the same time they were delivering our pack and play. I was embarrassed and was trying to get things cleaned up, while holding my baby so he didn't get into the mess. My husband had just went to the store to get some medicine for her. The nice lady named Kathy was so kind to my daughter and rushed to get her some ginger ale and crackers. Then she and another lady named Mary came back and helped get things cleaned up and were both super helpful and kind.

They beds were comfortable and a refrigerator was delivered upon request to keep the babies milk cold. We did not make it to the pool since my daughter was sick. We did not hear the party at all. Parking was for a fee and garage was right next to hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookieBMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your positive responds in regards to your current stay. We are in the service business and it is our number one priority to be the best. When a guest gives us feedback that we have accomplish that during their stay it is something that will be passed on to the entire staff. Thank you for taking the time to encourage the entire staff and motivating them to continue to strive to be the best. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This was the most disappointing Marriott stay I have ever had. I am a Marriott rewards member and still had to pay for parking and internet. Who pays for in-room internet service today? The balcony doors are locked as well, so don't think of that as an amenity. Plus, I was surprised to find a drop ceiling in the shower. Not sure why there is a drop ceiling, where you can lift up the ceiling tile in the shower. Disappointing...will not stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vineyard413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback it is always appreciated and does help us to improve. I certainly understand your concern in paying for internet and parking at the hotel. Currently all full service Marriott hotels are charging for internet service as it is a brand standard. Marriott does have other brands such as the Courtyard, Fairfield Inn, Residence Inn and several others that do provide free internet as well as parking and these may fit your needs even better than the full service brand. Most downtown hotel properties do charge for parking as the parking facility is run by another management company but I do understand how this does add to the expense of staying. In regards to the drop ceiling in the showers that is where all the AC units exist when the building was built over 30 years ago and is the only way to access those units for repairs. I certanly apologize for all the things that made your stay disappointing. Thank you again and give me a call if you would like to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Pros: beautiful modern hotel with clean rooms and great food / bar. Convenient to several restaurants within walking distance. Very reasonable parking rates.
Cons: it is a little pricey for a Charleston, WV hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gooch146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It never gets old hearing a guest compliment the hotel in regards to product and service. Ir is our pleasure to serve you and we take pride in being one of your favorite hotels. We look forward to your next visit and continuing to be one of your favorite hotels. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukwonago, WI
Level Contributor
191 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Whats not to love??? Right off the freeway, and across the street from a great shopping mall with good restaurants. The front desk staff is very friendly, there is covered parking and the rooms spacious and clean. I asked for a refrigerator and they promptly brought one up. Would definitely stay here again. The Chop House (across the street in Mall) was yummy too!!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are nice, not much of a view. I am on a high floor and it is nice and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
It is our pleasure to serve you and we truly appreciate your business. Your positive comments go a long way in helping us to continue to improve our guest service. We do appreciate you taking the time to share all your positive comments in regards to your stay. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The service is outstanding! Everyone when above and beyond to make sure we were well accommodated! Truly a wonderful experience! If I were to get nit-picky, my only grievances would be that the bathrooms are ridiculously small and the pillows on the bed were not comfortable at all, made it very hard to sleep. Overall, excellent stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your positive and encouraging comments in regards to your stay. The entire team works very hard to provide top notch service and when a guest acknowledges that we were very successful in that area it helps reinforce what we are doing is working. Thank you again for taking the time to give us your comments and these will be shared with the entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The room was nice and clean but the walls are paper thin and we could hear the people next to us like they were in our room. They charge $12 for parking and $13 for wi-fi, which should both be included for a hotel that is supposedly high end. Dinner at the Bricksalt lounge was bland and WAY overpriced. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLY23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us honest feed back. We can not improve without the help of our guests letting us know what we can do better. Although all Marriott full service hotels charge for parking and internet we do have brands that do include those charges in the rate, such as the Courtyard, Residence Inn, Fairfield Inn, Springhill Suites and others. I certainly understand your concern with the charges and Marriott as a company continues to evaluate how to resolve these concerns for all guests. Again thank you for your comments as you are part of helping us become even better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
119 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott Town Center

Property: Charleston Marriott Town Center
Address: 200 Lee St E, Charleston, WV 25301-1508
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unmatched travel experience at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Charleston, West Virginia, our hotel offers guests superior amenities, gracious service, and comfortable accommodations. Our guest rooms and suites are designed to facilitate relaxation and productivity, boasting features like high-speed Internet access, plush bedding, and expansive floor-to-ceiling windows. Begin your morning in our state-of-the-art fitness center and indoor pool, before exploring a variety of local attractions, including the adjacent Charlestown Town Center Mall. However you choose to spend your day, we invite you to dine with us at our popular on-site restaurant, Brick Salt Bar+Kitchen, which features modern American cuisine. If visiting Charleston for business, you'll be delighted by our comprehensive on-site corporate facilities, which encompass 17,500 square feet of modern meeting room space. We look forward to your visit here at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Charleston Marriott Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Charleston Town Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing