We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“excellent customer service”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel very well maintains the excellent quality of a Marriott hotel. Staff are helpful and courteous, and show an interest your satisfaction. The hotel room is very nicely appointed and clean. They offered an excellent price on the rooms due to the conference. The Gauley Room restaurant offers excellent food, and is a bit pricey ($4 for a cup of tea or coffee). The Brick Salt Bar & Kitchen is a great alternative for a continental breakfast at a reasonable price. The conference facility is well maintained and comfortable. Lunch was served to us at the conference, and staff were efficient and professional. Food was better than most conference foods. The break foods were always ready on time. Offer shuttle service to/from the Yeager Airport, and to locations upon request.

Room Tip: large mall directly across the street with Macy's and Sears as the anchors. There's not muc...
See more room tips
Green Features: they provide a recycle bin in your room, and offer the option to not change the bedsheets and towels on a daily basis.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much for your positvie comments. It is our pleasure having you as a guest and it is always great to get feed back in regards to great customer service. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    210
    111
    36
    8
See reviews for
115
100
28
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
MAYSVILLE, KENTUCKY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have stayed in fancier properties but none that were friendlier ! The hotel is going thru a remodel and there was construction ongoing but it did not interfere with our visit. The front desk staff was super and answered all our questions accurately. The location is right across from the mall, next to the convention center and within walking distance of a large cinema as well as many restaurants. We used the transport van available at the hotel and Keith gave us good advice about the area as well as pick up and delivery right to our destination. Don't skip the breakfast buffet - it is full course cooked to order complete with fruit, pastries and grits !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAPARONIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us this oustanding feedback in regards to your stay. It is very important that all areas of the hotel meet and exceed your expectation and based on your omments we were able to do that for you during your stay. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is in the downtown area across from the mall. It has a bar and eatery downstairs. The rooms are smaller and older but clean. The eatery and bar serve great food and drinks. I would stay here just for the food. The location is quite nice and within walking distance to many eateries. The staff were great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your very positive comments in regards to the food and the great service. We are very dedicated to service excellence to all our guests and when we receive comments that support our efforts for great service we know that we are going in the right direction. Food quality is a high priority for the hotel and your comments in regards to excellent food will be given to the Chef to share with the entire kitchen staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is in a prime location as it is connected to the mall and within a short walking distance to many restaurants and bars. As my experience with other Marriotts, it was very clean and comfortable. The minor downside is it is a bit pricey for West Virginia standards. I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpackerboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feed back in regards to your stay. We appreciate all the positive things you commented about and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way back from Niagara Falls. This hotel is situated bang in the middle of the downtown, about 1.5 miles from Capitol Building and couple of blocks from river. In addition, the towncenter mall is right across the road which makes the location perfect.

Coming back to the title, Brian greeted us at frontdesk. He recognized my platinum status, apologized for Concierge lounge closure and offered breakfast in the restaurant. Since we were 4 adults, I asked if getting a bigger room was possible. He was really helpful offering us many different combinations and ended up offering a huge room almost like a 2 BR suite!! This was a huge upgrade and I want to recognize Brian for going the extra mile ensuring we have a comfortable night. Thanks Brian!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinay2543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
That you so much for outstanding comments in regards to our facility and service. I will make sure your comments in regards to Brian are passed on, as well as, he will receive an actual copy of your letter. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay downtown. Great location, easy access to highway and close to many local attractions. The hotel is top quality with great service. Employees were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floors show a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Nana61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks about the hotel. Our goal is to provide the best service possible and a clean and well kept product. Thank you from letting us know we hit the target. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
368 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The building looks old and could use a good cleaning on the outside, and the lobby could use a little work particularly replacing the cheap looking, amateuristic signage. Had a bar and a gift shop, which there didn't seem to be much to. A lot of the guests look a little rough too. Unfortunately, this leads to inaccurate impression of the accommodations.

The room was clean and modern. It was furnished with an HDTV with a portion of the channels in analog. The bathroom had a granite vanity. Tile tub could probably be replaced and updated. I did feel that they spared on the mattress, which was just OK. The balcony was nice only if you could go out on it......the door was rigged to where it only opened four inches. I found this strange. Is this to keep people from throwing things off, or are the balconies structurally unsound due to the age of the building?

One really nice feature was a mall directly across the street, which had a Macy's and a rather unusual mix of semi-upscale and average tenants. The mall had a few sit-down type places to eat at too.

The hotel has a parking garage. Self-parking is $12. Considering the convenience, downtown location, lack of street parking, and typical parking charges in a downtown location of any large city, I thought this was reasonable.

Understand this is only a three star Marriott, so don't expect to be overwhelmed. However, it was clean and much cheaper than Marriott typically is. Not bad, but it is definitely a lower end Marriott for the previously mentioned reasons. Just consider where you are....you won't do much better.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NoCleverCreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback. Your input will help us improve in many areas. The answer to the balcony door question is about several issues keeping in mind this hotel was designed over 30 years ago. Yes people do throw things which can cause harm to others. Little children should never be out on the balcony. The last reason is security as individuals could jump from balcony to balcony. We appreciate that we were able to meet your expectations for cleanliness and service which are the two things we have control of and need to impress our guest. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
119 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott Town Center

Property: Charleston Marriott Town Center
Address: 200 Lee St E, Charleston, WV 25301-1508
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unmatched travel experience at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Charleston, West Virginia, our hotel offers guests superior amenities, gracious service, and comfortable accommodations. Our guest rooms and suites are designed to facilitate relaxation and productivity, boasting features like high-speed Internet access, plush bedding, and expansive floor-to-ceiling windows. Begin your morning in our state-of-the-art fitness center and indoor pool, before exploring a variety of local attractions, including the adjacent Charlestown Town Center Mall. However you choose to spend your day, we invite you to dine with us at our popular on-site restaurant, Brick Salt Bar+Kitchen, which features modern American cuisine. If visiting Charleston for business, you'll be delighted by our comprehensive on-site corporate facilities, which encompass 17,500 square feet of modern meeting room space. We look forward to your visit here at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Charleston Marriott Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Charleston Town Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing