We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Marriott but clean and fairly well kept up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
lanex
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Older Marriott but clean and fairly well kept up”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Good location, convenient to most areas of Charleston. Older but in good shape. Snafu with room service picking up our order for breakfast one morning. Friendly staff. Would return. There may be a possible billing problem, waiting for credit card charge to move from pending status.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 894robertj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie c, Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for providing us with positive feedback regarding your stay. We continusouly work to improve our service and your comments have been shared with those areas in which we did not meet your expectations. Again that you for your feedback and we hope to see you again for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    213
    114
    36
    8
See reviews for
119
102
28
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel definitely has location going for it being next to Macy's and the Civic center. As a frequent traveler I did expect the rooms to be kept a bit better. Rooms overall are showing age and could use some updating. The large pillows on the bed had yellow stains under the cases so those were discarded into the chair for the night. Overall cleanliness was ok otherwise. Lobby is nice, did not try the restaurant

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stomer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie c, Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel with your feedback. Although we were not able to meet all of your expectations by providing amazing service, it is our goal to provide that type of service for our guests. Your comments let us know that we need to continue to work on the area of providing brilliant service. Thank you again and we hope to host you again for future visits to Charleston WV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is across the street from Macy's and a couple of blocks from the riverfront. We were there on the evening of the Fourth of July working our ways towards Washington, D.C. There was lots going on along the riverfront, and we found a restaurant we really enjoyed. The lobby of the hotel itself is nice enough but the rooms, especially the bathroom, are very small. Breakfast was not included, and the only available breakfast type food was at a Starbucks coffee bar in the lobby that a few bagels and a little bit of fruit. I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie c, Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. While it looks like there were many positive aspects of your stay it appears that there were a few opportunities that we did not meet. Although we do have a full breakfast buffet available on the weekends in our Brick Salt Bar+Kitchen available to our guest, we also offer room rates that do include that breakfast for future visits to Charleston. Marriott also has a variety of brands which include complimentary breakfast such as our Residence Inn property in Charleston which may better suit your needs. Again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallipolis, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a large Marine Corps League Convention. I couldn't have been more pleased! We were very late checking in and was unable to get the double room with a fridge I requested. The front desk quickly upgraded us to a king suite without questioning and had a rollaway setup in less than 30 minutes. Room was clean and inviting; AC worked well. Bed was comfortable, even the rollaway. Housekeeping staff, Jackie, introduced herself in the hallway and offered assistance as needed. Turndown service checked on us each evening. Front desk staff was always friendly and efficient. The hotel handled the large crowds efficiently.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Berent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie c, Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for the positive comments in regards to our staff and the hotel product. Providing brilliant service is what we teach and expect from all our associates so I is very encouraging to hear that on of our housekeepers did exactly that. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My review and scoring is based on the excellent room price offered at this hotel. I received a government rate of $102/nt. That is an incredibly reasonable price for what you get. I'm from Alaska and a Marriott Hotel in Downtown Anchorage would run you several hundred dollars per night in the summer.

The Marriott is a nice hotel in an excellent location within walking distance of many Charleston attractions and restaurants. My room was clean, reasonably sized, and had a nice bathroom. The bed was comfortable and I had a nice view. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful and they have a small store with snacks and drinks.

The negatives were a loud air conditioner and the fact that the balconies are not accessible. The sliding doors only open 4 inches. Seems like a waste. They also only provide a shower gel with no bars of soap. I must also add that the conference breakfast that was provided each morning was almost inedible.

The hotel location is within an easy walk of several restaurants. They also provide a free airport shuttle.

Everything considered, for $102/nt this hotel was an excellent value and well worth the money. At this price I must give them a 5 star rating. Again, overall I would normally rate this hotel as a 3 or 4 but the price dictates a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKPROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie c, Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for such positive comments in regards to service and cleanliness. These are two very important areas to all customers. Although we need to continue to improve your response tells us were moving in the right direction. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I hadn't been in Charleston in many years, and it was in credibly odd to make hotel reservations in a town which you once lived. However, I am very happy that I chose the Marriott. Tastefully redone, great staff, clean and a good location. One tip, although I was upgraded to an large king room, I would ask to be away from the ice machine next time. Ask for a high floor with a view of the Kanawha...It was as close to waking up to "home" as you can get if you grew-up in Charleston. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cntrygal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie c, Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Coming back home always brings back so many memories. We are so grateful that you chose our hotel during your visit back to WV. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington wv
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in the heart of Charleston with the mall being right across the street as well as several chain restsurants. Within walking distance of the Civic Center. The rooms are very nice but they are EXTREMELY small. This Marriott is pretty old although it seems to be well maintained. The beds were extremely comfortable. They should have never closed off the balconies as there are some great views. They only open 4 inches for ventilation which was very disappointing to say the least. Overall this hotel is not as nice as most Marriott's in the bigger cities but it's still a pretty nice hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie c, Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We certainly appreciate your positive feedback regarding our property, the location and comfortable beds. Unfortuntley we did not meet all of your expectations including the balcony doors. The safety and security of our guests is most important which only allows for our balcony doors to open just a bit for ventilation. We thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in Charleston WV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott Town Center

Property: Charleston Marriott Town Center
Address: 200 Lee St E, Charleston, WV 25301-1508
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unmatched travel experience at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Charleston, West Virginia, our hotel offers guests superior amenities, gracious service, and comfortable accommodations. Our guest rooms and suites are designed to facilitate relaxation and productivity, boasting features like high-speed Internet access, plush bedding, and expansive floor-to-ceiling windows. Begin your morning in our state-of-the-art fitness center and indoor pool, before exploring a variety of local attractions, including the adjacent Charlestown Town Center Mall. However you choose to spend your day, we invite you to dine with us at our popular on-site restaurant, Brick Salt Bar+Kitchen, which features modern American cuisine. If visiting Charleston for business, you'll be delighted by our comprehensive on-site corporate facilities, which encompass 17,500 square feet of modern meeting room space. We look forward to your visit here at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Charleston Marriott Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Charleston Town Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing