We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel, but over priced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed 11 September 2009

The Marriott Hotel is an average hotel and not a 4 star property. It is a 3 star property. That being said it a bit overpriced for it 4 star declaration. I used Priceline and got my room at $80 (before fees) and asked the front desk what another would cost for a midweek night, and they replied $169.00. The room was comfortable and not dirty but neither was it totally clean. The breakfast room service was prompt and the food was delivered as declared. Check in and check were efficient and the wake up call feature functioned. If you are a TV junky, make sure you ask if there satellite feed or cable is in good order. If you need a lot of space for business materials then I would investigate getting a bigger room than the basic room. If you can get a good price on your room and not be expecting a 4 star property then you'll have a fine time. And keep in mind parking is $9.00 extra.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbmd82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
There are newer reviews for Charleston Marriott Town Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2009

I stayed here for two weeks in May and liked this property. The restaurant was good, the marriott burger especially and room service was responsive with food which arrived hot.
The rooms are a little dated but the bed was super comfortable, internet (wired) functioned well and TV was a nice flat screen and large.. There is some noise from neighboring rooms but nothing too bad. The location makes up for any negatives in dated decor as it is near convention center, mall, movie theater and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpjc121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

This property feels a little shabby, and the staff is less than responsive. This is my second Charleston stay in less than a month, and my first was at the Residence Inn because it was rated so highly. Honestly, the Residence Inn is cleaner, newer, and nicer. But I felt a lot more comfortable at the downtown Marriott. The pool and whirlpool are old and stained, but not full of children. This property is well designed for guests and doesn't feel overcrowded even when it's full. The restaurant is pretty good.

This hotel feels more like part of the not-city that is Charleston, while the Residence Inn feels like the suburbs. My next stay is at the Embassy Suites and I hope to decide by the end of the fall what the best hotel in Charleston is for me.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
Thank MeliWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We stopped here on our way back from VA Beach and were pleasantly surprised! The staff were very accommodating, even moved the hotel van so our vehicle with bikes/bike rack could be secured for the night. The indoor pool was nice, the kids enjoyed a swim.

Staff provided menus to nearby restaurants, and the hotel is next to a mall. We ate at Tidewater, and it was really delicious, fresh catch and a nice wine selection, great service.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scorpio5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Very nice hotel. Typical Marriott and met ALL standards one has come to exprect of the Marriott name. Clean good size rooms. Maid service was excellent, altho beit a little slow (but in their behalf the hotel was sold out every night of our stay). Restaurant breakfast was a typical buffet and the quality fo the food was very good. Coffee shop in lobby was great. Staff was friendly and attentive to all needs. We had a small issue with the room, which was handled immediately. The hotel is in the BEST location, next to the convention center and directly across the street from a great mall. There are plenty of resaurants within a short walk, from the inexpensive to higher priced seafood and steak houses. I will definitely stay at this hotel every time I am in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy-Milford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed here one night on the way home. The hotel is right downtown, across the street from a shopping mall. The hotel is "full service", so there is a bell hop who has to take your luggage to your room. So be prepared to tip!
We booked this hotel on Priceline for $64/night + tax. It was the best deal we could find.
Parking is $9 and is in a garage adjacent to the hotel. A bit of a bummer, since to get back to the car required some walking.
The staff were friendly enough, but seemed a bit annoyed with some of my questions. There isn't much in the way of restaurants around the hotel, so I be prepared to drive somewhere if you want to eat decent.
The hotel pool seemed nice, but there were a bunch of really obnoxious pre-teens in it, that we decided to skip it altogether. When I went to the business centre to check my email, the same annoying pre-teens were using up every computer. Of course, this is not the hotel's fault, but was a bit aggravating to us nonetheless. This hotel was VERY busy and large, so that is something we didn't expect.
The rooms were okay, but the hotel needs some work (ceiling tiles in the hallway were very stained from water damage). The room needed a good cleaning and overhaul too. Small bathroom and there was a large red stain on the carpet. Who know what that was? Ick! Otherwise, if you are just passing through, this hotel is decent for the price, but we were happy to get outta there and get home!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I stayed at the Charleston Town Center Marriott with my 13-year-old daughter and one of her friends for two nights for a concert. The location is really great and if you go for a concert, this is the place to stay. Taylor Swift was staying here, which definitely added to the excitement. We didn't run into her, but the girls had fun watching for her. The adjacent mall is quite nice and has a good selection of stores.

The rooms are fine, but not exceptional. The bed linens are nice and the beds are comfortable. The towels are horrible. The pay-per-view movie service was not working while we were there, and there's not much to do in the area after the mall closes. I will complain again about the $13 per day that Marriott charges for internet service. It is ridiculous. Plus, it is for a noon-noon 24-hour period. So, if you check in at 8 p.m. and want internet, you have to pay for an entire 24 hours. Total rip off and every Marriott I've stayed at has the same internet policy.

The pool and hot tub were not so great. The hot tub had so much chlorine in it that it was foamy and burned our eyes. The Whitewater restaurant is horrible. Walk across the street to one of the chain restaurants which are better and a lot cheaper.

I doubt there's anything better in downtown Charleston and for $90 a night it's fine. Just don't expect anything out of the ordinary and don't eat there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deathbycupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#8 of 23 in Charleston
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott Town Center

Address: 200 Lee St E, Charleston, WV 25301-1508
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £82 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unmatched travel experience at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Charleston, West Virginia, our hotel offers guests superior amenities, gracious service, and comfortable accommodations. Our guest rooms and suites are designed to facilitate relaxation and productivity, boasting features like high-speed Internet access, plush bedding, and expansive floor-to-ceiling windows. Begin your morning in our state-of-the-art fitness center and indoor pool, before exploring a variety of local attractions, including the adjacent Charlestown Town Center Mall. However you choose to spend your day, we invite you to dine with us at our popular on-site restaurant, Brick Salt Bar+Kitchen, which features modern American cuisine. If visiting Charleston for business, you'll be delighted by our comprehensive on-site corporate facilities, which encompass 17,500 square feet of modern meeting room space. We look forward to your visit here at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charleston Marriott Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Charleston Town Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing