We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stop”
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Easy to locate, friendly staff and clean, big room. Equipped with a fridge and everything else we could have needed. Breakfast allowed all kinds of choices, the eggs and fried chicken were good food. Clean and comfortable beds made a good night's sleep. The staff was very helpful and courteous. Excellent value for the cost. -

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

Nice room..small but nicely decorated and clean. Friendly staff. Very good breakfast lots to choose from and excellent fruit salad. Rate is higher here than what I am used to, but the rates are across the board are high in this town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AEboylston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My wife and I have driven in 47 states over the past 27 years so we've stayed in our share of motels and I have to say that the Sleep Inn outside Charleston, WV ranks as one of the most pleasant surprises we've had. We've been in a lot of the Choice Hotel chain motels but never a Sleep Inn, considering it to be at the low end of the chain. However, we were stunned by what we found. The rooms are compact, yes, but include everything you'd want, including a fridge, microwave, coffee-maker and the best lighting, both bedside and indirect, we have ever encountered. No tub, but the shower looked brank-new, as did everything in the room and motel, yet we were told it was several years old. There was a large, flat-screen modern TV attached to the wall, enabling a long dresser to have a clean top, There were nice touches, like the bed-covers, a sliding door for the bathroom and did I mention the great lighting? The breakfast room was very pleasant and well supplied. My wife spoke with a desk-clerk and the breakfast room attendant and both seemed proud to be working there and both said the local owner takes great pride in his motel. That was very evident!

Room Tip: A room facing the front might be better what with an interstate not far behind the motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evergreen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a great find for Charleston WV area. Clean, nice decor, very friendly staff, 10 minutes from downtown. Free breakfast choices just ok. The rates are reasonable. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We drove past the Bridgeport options to get to this Sleep Inn based on the recommendations and on the fact that the hotel's website said rooms could sleep 5. When we got there, at 9:30 p.m. with kids in tow, the front desk worker said they changed the policy of allowing rollaway beds about 2 months ago and would not give us a room, we would have had to buy two. This was completely unacceptable given that I was looking at the hotel's own website, not one of the broker ones like Orbitz or such.

We drove down the road and found a HI Express. There is a reason we are priority club members there. We had no problems. No Sleep Inns for us in the foreseeable future given that unforgivable website error. There is no excuse for not changing that when the policy changed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Ginger1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stay a lot of places when I travel but this hotel is like home away from home for me. The staff know my name and are always friendly and genuinely care about me and my comfort. It is always clean and well kept. Rooms are in great condition (ask for room 100!) and they will do what they can to give you the room you want. Breakfast is typical free food offered by others, but it is always plentiful. Only drawback is no real selection of eateries close by. There is a family restaurant on site next door but if that's not what you are looking for, it is a 10 minute drive. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: First floor rooms seem to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukcatfan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room was cozy however the bed was not the most comfortable. Also, there was a weird sweet smell upon entering the room. There was a large variety of breakfast foods that were actually pretty good.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank amadkay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charleston South, WV
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 2772 Pennsylvania Ave, Charleston, WV 25302-4911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £70 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
Charleston Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing