We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with wonderful breakfast staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was a great hotel. We stayed the night of September 12, morning of September 13 and the food was great in the breakfast area. There was a woman (outside the kitchen)and man (cook in the kitchen who came out to bring more food) working especially hard to ensure everything was great. The eggs and potatoes were EXCELLENT. Room was clean, everything was great about this hotel and I would definitely stay here again. What a Holiday Inn should be!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seashells988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Seashells988, Thank you for the compliments and I am very happy to hear you had such a great time while here. I am glad the staff made such an impression on you and we truly look forward to a return visit when you come back this way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stay was awesome. Greeted by Mia with a smile and a complimentary drink for the day. Staff went above and beyond to answer my questions. Chef wasn't even on duty but personally prepared my lunch anyway...even though they don't offer lunch. Great staff here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandalawrence7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

amandalawrence7, I want to thank you for staying with us and I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed it. Thank you for the compliments on the staff and service and we look forward to seeing you when you return to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I have been traveling for business over the last two months spending every other week in Charleston. The Holiday Inn and Suites on Second Ave SW is my home away from home. Mia always greets me with a smile and warm welcome. Tonight she said "Welcome Home" when I walked in the door. This hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious. All of the staff are polite and friendly. The complementary breakfast in the morning is very good and the hostess always ensures I have what I need. Staying here makes my time away from home much more enjoyable. I work long hours and I often order room service. The food and service is very good and reasonably priced. I will continue to use this Holiday Inn as my home away from home for travel in WV. Thanks to all of the staff for all that you do! It is obvious that customer service is a priority for you!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Janine B, It's humbling to be called a second home, and I thank you for it. We do our best to provide every guest with exceptional service. It is wonderful to hear that you have so thoroughly enjoyed your stays with us and we appreciate the great compliments you have had for the staff and hotel. We hope to continue to be your Home away from Home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I love staying at this hotel. I stay here frequently for business. I enjoy every stay and every time I arrive, Mia welcomes me with a smile and excellent hospitality. I love this hotel and the owners. I will continue to stay at this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Michael W, Thank you so much! I am so happy to hear you are enjoying your stays with us. I appreciate the compliments to the hotel and staff and we look forward to seeing you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I was so very pregnant and driving about 8 hours, I needed help with my bags and was traveling with a large dog. Mia greeted me and was so patient and kind, the manager on that night was extremely friendly and accommodating. I felt like tey went out of their way for me, but in all honestly I think that's just how this hotel was. Ill definitely be back if I ever drive through again. Clean rooms, comfortable beds and great service at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arosehendrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Arosehendrix, We greatly appreciate the comments, and are happy that we could provide you with the excellent service all our guests deserve. I thank you for the compliments to the staff and I'm happy you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to your return when you come through Charleston again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have stayed at several different Holiday Inns in the past. So much so that I joined their rewards program and am now a Gold Member. When I arrived for my stay, the desk clerk told me I had booked two rooms. I told him I must have made a mistake and what can we do about it. He told he couldn't do anything. Being a Gold Member or even Silver, they are suppose to have you a goodie bag with water, crackers, ect. Well this guy just said, thanks for being a gold member you want some water or something? So I was upset from the beginning. The rooms were clean and comfortable as always. When I called customer service, they refused to refund my money. Im quit upset and doubt I will stay at Holiday Inn anymore if this is how they treat return visitors.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouAnnJustice11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear LouAnnJustice11,

I am terribly sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with our front desk and your reservations when you arrived at the hotel. We will work to improve the items you have brought up and I would like to discuss this with you at your earliest convenience. If you would please contact me at the hotel, at (304)-744-4641 and ask for the General Manager so we could talk about what occurred.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were very tired from driving and were looking for a campground. Couldn't find one so we were in need of a dog friendly hotel. How nice to find this one. Mia was so helpful and friendly. She made checking in so easy. Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHAEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Michael B, I am so glad we were able to provide you with a pet friendly place to stay, and that our staff was so friendly and helpful. We certainly would love to see you the next time you come through Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charleston
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
3.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Address: 400 2nd Ave, Charleston, WV 25303-1216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £82 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West is the solution for your leisure and business travel to Charleston, WV. With an indoor pool and splash pad, fitness center, on-site restaurant and lounge, we offer everything you need for the perfect stay! The hotel is also pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing