We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredibly dirty” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Incredibly dirty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

First the good: The lobby, pool, weight room and rooms had an incredibly layout. The staff were sweet but didn't quite act like they should and seemed to focus too much on remembering to say ma'am or sir instead of telling you where the elevators are or which room you're in.
The bad: When we first walked in the room, it looked absolutely incredible. That is until you look a little closer. The fridge had insane dents in it, the couch was broken, there was hair and dried semen (or so it looked) on the bed. The stools were rotting (one of them broke just by moving it) and the room looked like it had not been dusted since it opened. Not to mention how dirty the rest was. The inside of the fridge was dirty, the dishes in the room had stains and dried food on them, the carpets looked like they hadn't been vacuumed in a few weeks and the mirrors were covered in finger prints from at least a few different people.
They switched our room, no problem, but the second room wasn't much of an improvement.
On a better note, the food, although it was bar food, it was great and worth the price but certainly did not make up for the rest of it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Pennsylvania,

Thank you so much for your comments and concerns. We always appreciate your feedback so that we can make any necessary improvements. Please accept my sincere apology for your experience and my humble regret that we did not meet your expectations or mine. I assure you this is not typical of our Holiday Inn & Suites and I have shared these comments with my entire team. Changes will be made. We would love to be able to show you our sincere regret and would value the opportunity to speak with you directly. Please feel free to connect with me at the hotel for further discussion.

Sandy Arnold-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    106
    49
    16
    12
See reviews for
158
68
13
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were tired and looking for a pet-friendly hotel in Charleston. We were so pleasantly surprised and lucky to find this hotel. Unfortunately we did not have the opportunity to enjoy the lovely pool and fitness center, but we did obtain a decent meal and beverages when we arrived at 9:00 pm. We had to pay an extra $25 for the dog, but overall we could not have been more pleased with our experience here. This is our first time traveling with a pet and it would be nice if Trip Advisor would add pet-friendly as a category. Will definitely return when passing through. The service was very good with no exceptions, even the server at the breakfast buffet - very customer oriented.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank browns_1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
browns_1950, I'm happy to hear we were able to accommodate you and your pet, and I do wish you had had more time with us, but I understand busy schedules while traveling. Thank you for the compliments and we will be looking forward to your return visits when you pass this way again. Thank you so much for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hil, WV
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I stayed the night at this Holiday Inn overnight after a Brad Paisley concert we were going to. I booked this hotel because of the price and good reviews. It is a VERY good value. We checked in promptly at three and the check-in was seamless. There was a very nice gentleman that checked us in. We were notified that there would be a free breakfast buffet the next morning, which I knew about from the reviews on here, but was not advertised with booking. We went to the room, went to eat, then concert, then back to the resort about midnight. I went to the lounge area starving only to find out that we barely missed the kitchen closing. Someone nearby was eating a pizza and it looked good. They did have a market with some microwave goodies, chips, and such. The bartender was abrupt and did not at all seem to enjoy her job. The hotel market sufficed. The hotel itself is well-appointed and nice. The pool and hot tub area seemed nice, but we didn't utilize it. The room was clean, but there was an odor of cleaners - reminded me of powders used to clean up after pets. This is a very pet-friendly hotel. The pillows were too soft for our liking. If it had been a longer stay, we would have likely requested new pillows. Breakfast was plentiful with a good selection. Check-out was again seamless. Overall, a good stay. I would stay here again. Price was definitely right!

Room Tip: We had room 101, very quiet. No complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Couplesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Couplesgirl, I would have loved to see the concert, I'm glad you got the chance to go and happy that we were able to be your hotel of choice for your stay. I am sorry to hear about the issue with our bartender and want to assure you that that is not typical of our service. I will address that, so we can provide a better experience to all our guests. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

A great hotel. Great pool and hot tub. Good breakfast buffet and Very friendly staff. A special thanks to Andrew who went above and beyond during our stay. He went out of his way to help!

The only complaint that I have was that trip advisor requires 200 characters to submit!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happystaytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Happystaytoday, Wonderful! Thank you so very much for the compliments especially for Staff member. I would love to see you again during another trip and show you the same great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Super nice employees. Great breakfast. Great comfortable room. We were totally pleased! THANK YOU for allowing us to bring our little dog with us. We will be staying there again as long as they keep the pet policy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haymaress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Haymaress, What wonderful compliments! I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay, and were pleased. We are pet-friendly hotel and have no plans to make any changes to that in the foreseeable future. Thank you for staying with us and I will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

A good hotel, staff was very friendly, stayed there one night. Only complaint was bathroom floor was dirty, and tub stopper did not work. Bed was extremely comfortable, quiet sleep. But other then that great, complimentary breakfast was great. All restaurant staff was friendly, lava cake was great

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank countrygirl507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
countrygirl507, I apologize for the issues with your bathroom floor and tub stopper want to make you aware that we have taken care of this issue with the staff. Thank you for the compliments to the Restaurant staff and I'm glad you enjoyed the Lava Cake! I look forward to seeing you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I have been attending an Early Childhood Conference for 15 Years and always stayed at the Marriott...I found this hotel and will never go back tot he Marriott again..This hotel is nicer, pet friendly,free Wi-Fi, free breakfast with every stay, plus cheaper than the Marriott...We rode the free shuttle with a young man by the name of Andrew and he was such a delight...I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, with or without children or pets..I came for business but also as a mini get away with hubby and kids...we will most certainly return next year if not before.. .Truly a great find...:)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Stephanie W, I am so glad you found our hotel such a great place to stay for your conference! I appreciate your compliments to the staff, especially to Andrew, and I wanted to thank you for the pictures you posted while you were enjoying the hotel. I can't wait to see you again the next time you are in Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
3.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
2.9 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Address: 400 2nd Ave, SW, Charleston, WV 25303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West is the solution for your leisure and business travel to Charleston, WV. With an indoor pool and splash pad, fitness center, on-site restaurant and lounge, we offer everything you need for the perfect stay! The hotel is also pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing