We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stopped on the way home, too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
South Bend IN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stopped on the way home, too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Couldn't have been more pleased. The staff, especially, was super; friendly, helpful, etc. Rooms were clean and updated, beds comfortable, great pillows. We stayed here the first leg of our trip. When we were returning home, we decided to make sure we made this hotel our stop-over, as well. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bullmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear bullmar,

A complete circle. So glad you came back. It is guest like you that write these comments that make the team proud.

Thanks,
S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    108
    50
    16
    13
See reviews for
163
69
14
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

This is my third time staying here. The rooms are clean - the staff are always nice and very helpful - food in the restaurant is surprisingly good with a free continental breakfast. They have shuttle service - Yeager Airport, Amtrak, Greyhound Depot (24-hr), and to the local mall (7am-11pm). They have a pool, fitness center, and allow dogs. Don't forget to say Hello to Mosa, the owners parrot, who u might hear whistling near the lobby in the mornings.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank flaxenmane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
flaxenmane,

Mosa says Hi back to you as well. Thanks for all your comments about the Holiday Inn & Suites in South Charleston, WV.

S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Ridge, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We were driving cross country and needed a first stop for the night. We've stayed in Charleston before but never at the Holiday Inn. The room and breakfast were great. The kids wished we had time for the pool which looked really nice. Short drive to downtown.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KDonley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear KDonley,

Next time we hope you will be able to enjoy the great indoor pool area. Maybe on your way back. Thanks for the review.

S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty Hawk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Have stayed here before but this time sheets were very pilly, A/C did not work properly, took forever for water to heat up and grabbed yogurt and a banana on way out in the morning. The yogurt, although in a mini fridge in the lobby, was NOT cold and the banana was mushy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken and Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Jackie C,

I regret that your visit this time may not have been as perfect as in the past. Please accept my sincere apology and know I have addressed the areas you mentioned. I hope you stopped at the front desk and shared these same concerns so that they would know the room number. I appreciate the feedback and look forward to your return visit so we can show you our improvements.

S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Very modern looking hotel. Clean and lots of amenities. I only stayed here for the night as I passed through and just needed a bed. The room was just big enough and comfortable.

The tub didn't drain very well though. I understand maintenance things like that can happen, so didn't let it bother me too much (we were only there for 10 hours anyway. I made sure the front desk knew so they could get it fixed.

They also had free continental breakfast (stay away from the "eggs"!) and they have free wifi

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wherenow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Wherenow3,

Ten hours is definitely not enough time to really enjoy all the amenities of the beautiful indoor pool, fitness room Jacuzzi and video room. Sorry that your tub drained slowly but really appreciate that you told us about it so that we could address the repair. We look forward to a return visit soon.

Thanks,
S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was traveling with my dog and needed an overnight stop as I couldn't make it all the way home. I was referred to the hotel by Bringfido.com. I will never stay here again. The room was dirty, hairs in the shower, no drinking glasses, no bags in the trash cans, candy or icing on the floor in the bathroom, looked like someone laid on the one bed, I was going to go to another room, but it was worse & I was so exhausted from driving 10 hours I just sucked it up and stayed. But I will not return. It was a shame I had to pay to stay in such a place. I had just come from another Holiday Inn at Asheville North Carolina & it was awesome in every way. So sad this was not up to the same par. The breakfast was so so. The breakfast hostess was very friendly & helpful and the check in staff was pleasant. But that is not enough to make up for the other.

Room Tip: Room on the small courtyard seemed better than those facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaJoyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear OliviaJoys,

As a pet owner who travels I understand the joy in finding a hotel that welcomes my dog, I am so sorry for your experience and I would really appreciate the opportunity to speak with you so that we can make this right. We value all our guests and when we do not meet their expectations we want to be told about it prior to your departure so that we can make any necessary changes and improvements. I have shared your comments with our managers and we will address all the issues. Again please connect with me so that we can discuss how to make this right.

Thanks, S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainelle, West Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel. Not fond of the location but not much you can do about that. The free breakfast was good and plentiful. The pool was nice. Restaurant was good. All stag I came into contact with were friendly. Parrot was a little distracting during the class I was taking in a conference room, but a cool touch to the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brandon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Travel/ByBrandon,

Thanks for the review and the positive comments. Mosa, our parrot can be frisky some days but is always something to talk about. Especially when she decides to whistle. Come back soon.

S. Arnold, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
2.9 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Address: 400 2nd Ave, SW, Charleston, WV 25303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West is the solution for your leisure and business travel to Charleston, WV. With an indoor pool and splash pad, fitness center, on-site restaurant and lounge, we offer everything you need for the perfect stay! The hotel is also pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing