We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun all day and night long”

Kanawha State Forest
Ranked #8 of 47 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A convenient location, just seven miles south of Charleston, plus a large swimming pool, playground, hiking and biking trails and a 9,300-acre forest, make this recreational area one of the most popular in West Virginia.
Winfield, West Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fun all day and night long”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

we go for the day and we go camping at days at a time. There are areas for the grandkids to play. It's peaceful . We fish we just enjoy family time. We go all the time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank kimberlygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    34
    10
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Took a drive through the park and ended up staying for hours!”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Everyone we encountered was friendly and was happy to share points of interest in the park and in the immediate surroundings.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
274 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Decent park”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Maybe I shouldn't write this because we didn't spend much time here, maybe an hour and a half to take a walk and get outside. But from seeing what is available on the park map, it certainly does not rate with the best W Va state parks. But given its proximity to Charleston, its nice to have the opportunity to visit it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank chazzq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to hike, mountain bike, etc”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Kanawha State Forest offers many great hiking trails. Lots of people come here to mountain bike as well. It's close to Charleston but seems far away from the city. Lots of picnic areas, there's a small dam/lake where many people fish, great camping spots are available - very nice area to enjoy the great outdoors!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LF3245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a trail run”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We were in Charleston for the Frozen Sasquatch 50K trail run in the forest. It is a beautiful park with lots of great hiking trails and picnic areas.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kanawha State Forest also viewed

 

Been to Kanawha State Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing