We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the perfect dining experience!”
Review of Laury's Restaurant

Laury's Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 276 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$40
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely the perfect dining experience!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Laury's is an elegant restaurant where you can get excellent food and service in a great atmosphere! We look forward to going to Laury's at least once a week.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenPauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    17
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Very fancy and very good”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is an elegant joint and is obviously where Charleston's masters of the universe go for dinner. It's in an old train station which has been beautifully converted into a lovely restaurant space, broken up into small areas of about four tables each. (There's also a balcony and I guess there are tables up there. Super high ceilings, lots of chandeliers and such. Servers in tuxes (or faux tuxes). Dressy patrons. (I wore a nice blouse and nice slacks and nice scarf and felt barely adequate.)

The servers, in addition to (in spite of?) being so elegant and tux-clad, were very nice. Good wine list, also lots of fancy artisan cocktails. I had a delicious sea bass (no, not the endangered one) with tomato, basil, and a creamy sauce. The skin was very very crispy and delicious, and I ate it all (and I'm usually not too crazy about fish skin). It came with fairly plain and uninteresting rice, although it was a good vehicle for the sauce.

It's kind of a strange part of town (because of being in the old train station), actually in South Charleston, across the river. If you're crossing the river on the South Side Bridge from downtown, it's a bit challenging to get on McCorkle, and very VERY challenging to get back to the bridge when you leave the restaurant. Ask for advice - I wish I had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieOnAHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott Depot, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in West Virginia”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Make a memorable evening and try one of the finest restaurants you have ever visited. Cuisine is spot on every time, exceptional service, classy atmosphere, casual or elegant dress everyone is always made to feel welcome. The staff gives the best customer service experience which many places lack any more, but in 19 years of dining at Laury's I go back time and time again as noone compares with service and exquisite cuisine. There are so many items on the menu to try I cannot name all of them but my personal favorite is the beef maison.....so delicious, melts in your mouth....no knife needed here a simple fork will cut through the most tender filet you have ever had. The location is in a beautiful old train station located on the Kanawha River and has perfect views for the fireworks during the 4th of July or Live on the Levee. You will be sure to enjoy the best dining experience by visiting Laury's! I hope you all try it and return many, many times as we have done over the years.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbin, Kentucky
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Attended a wedding here, food was outstanding!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A friend of mine had her wedding and reception here.

The location made for a beautiful wedding and reception location. The food, drinks, and service were exceptional.

I had some sort of seafood appetizer that was fantastic, spinach with pear vinagrette salad, and roasted duck. It was the best roasted duck I have had, and the salad and appetizer didn't disappoint either. My date had the filet mingnon and was very satisfied with it as well. This was the ABSOLUTE BEST meal I have had at a wedding hands down.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank abfarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful as always”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I have been going to Laury's for over 20 years and have loved the food and service each and every time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilserenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laury's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Laury's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing