We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite part of Downtown Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taylor Books Cafe

Taylor Books Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Favorite part of Downtown Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

My favorite little bookshop! A cafe, bookstore, art gallery and generally ecclectic place to be! This store is very unique in comparison to other stores in the area. They sell a different variety of books not found in B&N or Walden's. The art gallerty features local artists and state-wide artists at a absolutely affordable rate. This includes Glasgow glass, which is manufactured approximately 20 minutes up Rt. 60.. This is the only place I would go to for solace in Charleston.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    22
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
692 reviews
409 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“A wonderful and surprising gem in Charleston, WV”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

My colleague and I had some free time during a business trip so we decided to walk around Charleston. The front desk person at the Marriott told us that if we got the chance to stop by Taylors we should. Taylor’s is divided into three sections.

First, there is a bookstore. If want to peruse a classic bookstore that is not Barnes & Noble or Amazon.com, then this is your place. They have all the bestsellers and then some. I was able to pick up a cute children’s book for my son.

Second, there is an art exhibit/showroom off the bookstore where local artists display their creations.

Third, tucked into the front of the bookstore is a cute (for the lack of a better word) café. They have an expansive menu for such a little shop and their drinks were excellent. I ordered a s’mores coffee drink and it was full of great flavor.

If you are in Charleston and a bookstore/art exibit/coffee house is of interest to you, then I highly recommend Taylor’s Books and Café.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psudino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“stopped in, didn't buy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stopped here with a co-worker in the morning. He was buying coffee, I just browsed the store. Very nice selection of books. Coffee bar looks similar to starbucks or any coffee bar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChassidyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great selection of books!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stopped in to browse while we were waiting for our pizzas to cook next door at Pies and Pints. Very nice staff and atmosphere. Great selection of books, and many people seemed to be enjoying their coffee and desserts.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontheroadagain7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Coffee and books”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Excellent selection of books for every member of the family. The coffee was great, I highly recommend the Highlander Grog. The live music was nice too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrienNVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taylor Books Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Taylor Books Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing