We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vandalia Grille - CLOSED

Vandalia Grille
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Spanish, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pennsy
Level Contributor
169 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Food was yummy when we went. Staff was friendly and prompt. Would go back again if back in the Charleston area!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank terrifina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    4
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Food - Service Poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Tried this place tonight for dinner - waited 15 minutes for someone to come up (placed was packed and they looked overwhelmed). They have a decent menu with small plates and a good variety of burgers. Ordered the Pork NoChos (homemade potato chips in lieu of nacho chips) and they were really good - but we also ordered a pasta dish and a salad and it all came out at the same time which was a bit of an issue. Server was frazzled and a little curt but I will say that had to do with the crowd and lack of help. Overall I would go back there maybe for lunch next time

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jsabatini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pricey but Glad we Went”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

This place has a good vibe. I liked the atmosphere. Our waitress was less-than-helpful. We asked for her recommendations on the menu, and she didn't have any specifics. She also served me a beer that had just been tapped and was extremely cloudy. When I asked about it she didn't know if it was supposed to look like that, but she did bring me a new one, which was clear.

While our food was tasty, the fries were not as good as others had claimed. They were undercooked and the portion was quite small - especially considering we had to pay extra for them (fries not included in the price of a sandwich). The marinade on the chicken was very flavorful, and it went well with the Gouda cheese. My husband's filet sliders were tender and nice combinations of flavors.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jcraft26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
223 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Different and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

The menu has some different items on it, but the food is pretty good. The atmosphere is trendy and comfortable. The service is pretty good. We were satisfied, but not blown away.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelAddiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

If you go, you have to get the Sweet Potato fries and Fried Cheesecake! Those are the best things on the menu! Excellent! A+++

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank adtaylor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vandalia Grille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing