We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Indian food, attentive staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Little India

Little India
Ranked #36 of 275 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
somewhere
Level Contributor
288 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Good Indian food, attentive staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Good indian food. The staff was attentive even with the buffet. The buffet was restocked and replenished several times while we were there. No menu offered. Parking is a nightmare, be prepared to drive around the block several times and to walk 2 blocks at least. No parking is the most common sign you see in this area.The picture that Tripadvisor is using has nothing to do with this establishment, they do not have a wine cellar but they do offer limited beer and wine selections. Appears to be a mostly local lunch crowd keeping this place going.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenluck007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    42
    11
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Lamb, goat, chicken, and lentils are all amazing. They really know.what they are doing with Indian food. Heat levels are controlled well so don't be scared. Mild food is very tasty without the heat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank youngg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miamisburg, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant I have ever been”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The kabob platter was basically a half cooked chewy tasteless. The breads (rotis) seemed like were reheated and served, it was oily and 'crispy'. The chicken dish was absolute trash.
The waiters could not care less about our complain of the food.
Avoid at all cost.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank kingsammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food is FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

First off, let me say the food here is FANTASTIC! I absolutely love everything I have ordered here! And the atmosphere is just great! Try to sit near the back, where the stained glass windows are! This place is in an old firehouse, and you can still see the firepole, I love it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MyLittleBlackDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“NEVER A DISAPPOINTMENT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Our office has ordered from Little India MANY times. Today, we honored the birthday of an employee. Because we had a large order (12 different items), we called about 1 hour ahead of pick-up time; the food was bagged and ready-to-go after 45 minutes. As always, the food was hot and smelled incredible!

We always get Chicken Tiki Masala, Baigan Bartha, and Aloo Ghobi with a mix of other items; too, we order a mix of mild and medium spice.

In summary, the food is ALWAYS delicious, hot, and given the right amount of spice. Thank you for great service, folks!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reebee2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little India also viewed

 

Been to Little India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing