We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My vehicle was damaged in the parking lot by someone scratching the trunk with a key. Manager was very unresponsive. Police never came to take a report after repeated calls. Parking lot is not monitored by security cameras. Beware of vehicle damage due to folks transiting across the hotel parking lot.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varsrch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    69
    54
    34
    25
See reviews for
56
52
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Our son suffered a massive stroke and we had to go to Charleston WV from our home in Florida to stay with him. The Fairfield Inn went out of their way, far beyond what I have ever experienced from any hotel I have ever stayed in, to help us out. The front dest was outstanding, very soliciitatious and anxious to help us any w ay they could.
Their full breakfasts were outstanding server by a very competent staff..
The rooms were very clean and warm and welcoming.
It was wonderful to be able to come "home" to such a warm place.
Kudos to Ms Linda Taylor and her staff!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I found this hotel to be very nice, including in regard to other Fairfield Inn properties. It appeared to have been updated within the last few years and the lobby and rooms were very clean. All staff that I encountered were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located very close to downtown, convenient when you have business in the area. My only complaint is that the fitness room is tiny and one of the two treadmills was broken, so several people were waiting to use one machine. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LT2379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach Shores, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed two nights in Nov, '11. The hotel is in fair shape, but in need of updating. The staff here is friendly and competent. Cost was moderate, so we got what we expected. Good location, just off the highway, but no noise from it..

Room Tip: Stay on top floor(9), so no parties or elephants can stay above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tree56LO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I thought this hotel was a little dirty and definitely smelled like smoke. The air in my room was musty and when I tried to make it cooler, the room got very humid. Very hard, old beds. Did not have a very comfortable stay, but the staff was very very nice.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123MReD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Las Vegas in Charleston. If you missed Las Vegas in the 70's you can get an idea of what the decor was like by spending a night at the Fairfield Inn. The lobby, like many hotels, does not reflect the rooms. The place looks and feels dated, but our room was clean. If you are traveling, the location is the primary reason to stay here. It's convenient to downtown and right off I-77. Restaurant choices are limited, but there is a nice mall about five blocks away (walking distance if weather is good) and there are several good places to eat there. Staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York State
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The hotel has a rather dated look, but it is clean and the rooms are comfortable. It is located downtown, so there is little going in the area at night. We walked quite a few blocks to a shopping mall and ate at a very good seafood restaurant.

The location of this hotel is good for us as we travel home soi we have stayed here each of the last two years and we will probably stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagillaLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Capitol Hotel

Property: Charleston Capitol Hotel
Address: 1000 Washington St E, Charleston, WV 25301-1711 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Capitol Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHARLESTON TRANSFORMATION We are excited to announce that the Charleston Capitol Hotel is currently being renovated to enhance the experience of all our guests. Please note that most of the renovations will be out of the guests view through some public areas and the utmost efforts will be made to limit the amount of noise or any disruption during the construction. We thank you in advance for your understanding and cooperation during this time while enhancements are being made. WELCOME TO CHARLESTON CAPITOL HOTEL Charleston Capitol is conveniently located in the beautiful city of Charleston, WV, situated across from the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences, just a mile from the State Capitol Building, walking distance to Downtown, Civic Center and Town Center Mall. We offer a unique hotel experience with comfort and courteous service for both business and vacation travelers. At Charleston, we have business services and high-speed Internet access in the lobby and complimentary Wi-Fi access in the guest rooms, along with complimentary parking for hotel guests. AMENITIES Charleston Capitol Hotel has a spa tub, a 24-hour fitness center, and a seasonal outdoor pool. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in public areas. Additional amenities include dry cleaning/laundry services and a safe deposit box at the front desk. Complimentary self parking is available on-site for guests. 24-hour fitness facilities 24-hour front desk Air conditioning Cable TV service Coffee/tea maker Connecting/adjoining rooms available Daily housekeeping Desk Dry cleaning/laundry service Free cribs/infant beds Free local calls Free long-distance calls Free newspaper Free self parking Free toiletries ACCOMMODATIONS The 136 air-conditioned guestrooms at Charleston Capitol Hotel include complimentary newspapers and coffee/tea makers. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access is provided. Televisions are equipped with cable channels. All accommodations provide desks and phones; local calls are free of charge (restrictions may apply). Bathrooms offer shower/tub combinations, hair dryers, and complimentary toiletries. In addition, amenities available on request include refrigerators and microwaves. Housekeeping is offered daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Charleston Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Fairfield Charleston
Charleston Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing