We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no compensation for smoking next door and willingness to take a room without fridge and microwave.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great location next to Clay Center but smoke was clearly smelled through our room/bathroom as our room was non-smoking. Room had an odd oder to it to begin with. Nothing but "I'm sorry" offered. No more Fairfield Inn. No adjustment to nightly rate after booking ahead of time which offered microwave/fridge. Once checked in, you can have a room but it will not have microwave/fridge. That's fine but how about a drop in price per night.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Deb K, thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not pleasant. I would like to further discuss this with you and do whatever I can to make you happy. Please feel free to call me at the hotel. Again, I apolgoize and hope that I can remedy the situation and that you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Charleston Capitol Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We recently visited this hotel while traveling to NC. Kristen at the front desk was extremely friendly, professional and helpful. She recommended a great restaurant and when we had a minor issue with our room she went above and beyond to take care of us. I observed this high level of service with everyone who interacted with her during my stay. Great job! The Fairfield is lucky to have her!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Susan D, thank you for the kind remarks regarding your stay. I am glad that Kristen was able to help you with all of your requests. We look forward to serving you again during your next visit to Charleston, WV.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Coordinator Josh Gross set up our stay and it was wonderful! Rooms were awesome, they even had breakfast earlier for us because of our early departure. Felt real welcomed there! We will definitely stay there in the future and we have our trip in March already booked!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EUP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

EUP2013, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to have your tennis team stay with us during your recent visit to Charleston, WV. We wish you the best this season and look forward to seeing you again in the spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I recently visited this hotel and was very impressed by the friendly staff and comfortable accomodations! The rooms are very basic but comfortable and clean. The breakfast area is also clean and inviting. The staff was super nice and helpful for everything I needed! Its a convenient location and easy to find in Charleston. I definitely plan on returning!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Rachel, thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that our friendly staff was able to accommodate your needs. We are happy that you enjoyed the breakfast during your visit. We look forward to serving you again during your next visit to Charleston, WV.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel is an older property but is very clean. The lobby is very nice and there were cookies and apples available when we arrived. There is ample parking and the lot is well lit. The location is within walking distance of the downtown businesses and restaurants.

But the best attribute of the hotel is the front desk staff. Heather and Kristen went out of their way to provide recommendations and directions to the downtown locations. I would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Scott H, thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed the fresh cookies and apples upon your arrival. I am glad the front desk staff was able to provide you directions to all of our local eateries and attractions. We look forward to serving you again during your next visit to Charleston, WV.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Heather, She greeted us when we first arrived made us feel like we where at home. Heather's knowledge of the area helped us navigate the city very well.

Everything was so close! We walked to the carriage trail and to Capital Market. I believe SOHO restaurant was on the food network as a must stop. This hotel is also directly across the street form the science center. This hotel had a full breakfast every morning with fresh cookies everyday! Once again if you stay say hello to Heather she made are stay supper easy!
Thanks will stay here again for sure!!!!

Room Tip: Room facing toward Washington Blvd.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Janette P, thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We apprecaite your comments regarding the friendly staff and clean rooms. We are glad you could enjoy the local attractions during your stay in Charleston. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel is an older building but was well maintained and clean. Large parking lot that is well lit. The room was nothing to write home about but it was clean. There was a strange smell but I think it might have been from the cleaning products used in the room.

What stood out to me in this hotel is the customer services and friendliness of the staff. Everyone was incredibly friendly with a smile on their face. It made me feel like they would go out of their way to make you comfortable. Amenities you forgot can be found at the front desk and they serve a free breakfast in the morning. WiFi is free as well.

I wouldn't say this property is a 15,000 Marriott property - for that I was disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrettyLittleCeliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

PrettyLittleCeliac, thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your honest comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the smell in the room and will notify the housekeeping manager so she can check into this matter. I understand your concern regarding the number of points it takes for a nights stay. If you would like to discuss this with me, I would be happy to do so. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
0.6 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Capitol Hotel

Address: 1000 Washington St E, Charleston, WV 25301-1711 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: £59 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Capitol Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHARLESTON TRANSFORMATION We are excited to announce that the Charleston Capitol Hotel is currently being renovated to enhance the experience of all our guests. Please note that most of the renovations will be out of the guests view through some public areas and the utmost efforts will be made to limit the amount of noise or any disruption during the construction. We thank you in advance for your understanding and cooperation during this time while enhancements are being made. WELCOME TO CHARLESTON CAPITOL HOTEL Charleston Capitol is conveniently located in the beautiful city of Charleston, WV, situated across from the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences, just a mile from the State Capitol Building, walking distance to Downtown, Civic Center and Town Center Mall. We offer a unique hotel experience with comfort and courteous service for both business and vacation travelers. At Charleston, we have business services and high-speed Internet access in the lobby and complimentary Wi-Fi access in the guest rooms, along with complimentary parking for hotel guests. AMENITIES Charleston Capitol Hotel has a spa tub, a 24-hour fitness center, and a seasonal outdoor pool. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in public areas. Additional amenities include dry cleaning/laundry services and a safe deposit box at the front desk. Complimentary self parking is available on-site for guests. 24-hour fitness facilities 24-hour front desk Air conditioning Cable TV service Coffee/tea maker Connecting/adjoining rooms available Daily housekeeping Desk Dry cleaning/laundry service Free cribs/infant beds Free local calls Free long-distance calls Free newspaper Free self parking Free toiletries ACCOMMODATIONS The 136 air-conditioned guestrooms at Charleston Capitol Hotel include complimentary newspapers and coffee/tea makers. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access is provided. Televisions are equipped with cable channels. All accommodations provide desks and phones; local calls are free of charge (restrictions may apply). Bathrooms offer shower/tub combinations, hair dryers, and complimentary toiletries. In addition, amenities available on request include refrigerators and microwaves. Housekeeping is offered daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Charleston Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Fairfield Charleston
Charleston Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing