We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my fiancé while he was testing for a job. So scary. The hallways smelled like urine and there were sketchy people walking around. The room was dingy and dirty. There were stains on the bedding and the bathroom was dingy. This hotel made me not want to move to Charleston.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HannahNanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

I've stayed here several times over a 6 yr span. The property is older and now appears it is no longer a Fairfield Inn. Our room was OK, but the bed may be too soft for your liking. Bathroom vanity definitely small if you or a companion have a makeup case. Breakfast was good with plenty of seating and standard choices of fare. Nice to have skim milk. Very friendly staff helped fix a booking error not their fault, but first assigned room was occupied when we got to our floor. I've noticed homeless men sleeping on the steps of a nearby church, too, but no problems walking to nearby restaurants. Police cars do patrol regularly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The hotel is definitely showing it's age. Furniture is worn and upholstery not the cleanest. Carpet along the walls was dirty. No frig/microwave. However, we found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast area was large with access to coffee/hot chocolate whenever you like. Fresh baked cookies in the lobby. Good breakfast. If you can get past the fact that this is an older hotel in need of upgrades, you will be very satisfied.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomad062_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed one night in the hotel in early March. Rated 3 diamonds by AAA, probably 2.5 diamonds in reality. Room was showing its age. It is a couple of blocks to walk to any stores or restaurants. We were approached twice, once in the hotel parking lot, by beggars. Staff was very helpful and provided a great reference for a restaurant open on a Sunday evening in downtown Charleston which we were able to walk to.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Property was nice, people were good, room was average. I would stay there again but if there were other options I would check them out. This is just a average place to stay, nothing bad to say but nothing great stood out either. pretty much middle of the road.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balucanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This hotel is definitely worn around the edges, and I would suggest being very aware of your surroundings. It has a great location if you have business at the hospital or the Arts Center. You do not have much choice of restaurants within walking distance and if you are not in a group you probably would not want to walk at night anyway.
The hotel, while worn, is clean and the service at the desk is good. The breakfast area is tiny for a hotel this size. The fitness room is fairly large, but the equipment is older.
My room, on the 7th floor, overlooked the postal facility. This is a main facility and is noisy with trucks and mail carts. It is especially noisy in the early morning (4-5 am). I am an early riser so it did not bother me, but if you want to sleep in get a room on the other side of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherpa2286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This place has to be a old Marriott hotel that finally wore out and instead of tearing it down, Marriott converted it into a Fairfield Inn. Big mistake. The property is old and worn, the rooms and baths are really small, the décor is dated, and the hallways stink. Can't believe that Marriott would try to pass this place off as a Fairfield as I normally will go out of my way to stay at a Marriott branded motel.
In addition, looking at the neighborhood where this place is located, I would not dare to go outside after dark as it is located in downtown Charleston which is very old and deteriorating with many vacant building and small groups of people standing around on the street corners and alleys.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.6 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charleston South, WV
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Capitol Hotel

Address: 1000 Washington St E, Charleston, WV 25301-1711 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: £61 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Capitol Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charleston Capitol is conveniently located in the beautiful city of Charleston, WV, situated across from the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences, just a mile from the State Capitol Building, walking distance to Downtown, Civic Center and Town Center Mall. AMENITIES Charleston Capitol Hotel has a spa tub, a 24-hour fitness center, and a seasonal outdoor pool. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in public areas. Additional amenities include dry cleaning/laundry services and a safe deposit box at the front desk. Newspapers and coffee/tea makers. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access is provided. Televisions are equipped with cable channels. All accommodations provide desks and phones; local calls are free of charge (restrictions may apply). Bathrooms offer shower/tub combinations, hair dryers, and complimentary toiletries. In addition, amenities available on request include refrigerators and microwaves. Housekeeping is offered daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Charleston Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Fairfield Charleston
Charleston Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing