We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrenceburg, KY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay and friendly staff”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Recently stayed at Residence Inn in Charleston on way to Baltimore. Hotel seemed very busy but front desk was very helpful. There is no place nearby to eat at but they very accommodating with a list of recemmendations, cuisine and distance from hotel.
I had never been "to" Charleston and certainly not downtown but it was a very pleasant visit.
Breakfast selection was good.
The hotel is very convenient to I-64, I-77 and I-79.
Seemed to be newer and more modern than recent Residence Inns I have been to.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PopesReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    78
    18
    11
    4
See reviews for
97
48
5
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I traveled there meeting my sister for a "girl" weekend. I had to bring my elderly dogs and this hotel was pet-friendly. I had asked for an early check in, only they didn't really have an appropriate room ready for my pets who have some challenges getting around. I would have had to wait. Since we had had a 4.5 hour drive, they were ready to settle down, so I had to accept the interior room. The one bedroom suite was perfectly appointed, neat and clean, along with the bathroom. Here are my couple of changes:
1. How about an ice cream scoop in the room? You have some utensils as a Residence inn, but how about adding that one.
2. The pet walking area was chock full of the #2 left behind by owners who neglected to clean up after their pet. UGH. As a responsible owner, I was apalled. Residence inn - you can help. How about providing guests with a few bags to clean up after their pet upon check in. Better yet, how about a bag/waste station in that area?
3. Don't hide your area attractions/map station. Was hidden to the entrance to the pool area which we unfortuantely didn't visit (looked inviting though)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WNC G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Recently while moving a friend I stayed at the Residence Inn. Greg Bolles, has developed a proffesional staff, which exceeds all expectations in cutomer service. From the moment you check in, you are made to feel like you are at home surronded by good friends. In all my years of traveling and staying at various hotels, this was without a doubt the finest experince I have ever had.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Found this place while looking for a pet friendly hotel to stay during my road trip, while passing through Charleston, WV. The room is very good, clean, and I appreciated the full kitchen - I used the microwave and always appreciate rooms with a fridge that we can actually put something in, instead of those mini-bars that are cluttered with sensored stuff with no room for your own humble bottle of water. This is certainly a room designed for longer stays. I liked the location too, very silent and peaceful and at the same time, not too far from the city. However, the pet fee - US$ 100 - it's too excessive, especially comparing to other hotels who also accept dogs. If I travel by myself or with people, I would definitely return to this hotel again. Can't complain, it's really good for the price. But with my dog, I will choose somewhere else where the pet fee is a little more "friendly".

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlfromipanema2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed at Residence Inn for 3 nights and what a pleasant experience! The rooms are all suites with kitchenettes and they have a great breakfast in the mornings. This is my second stay here when visiting family in Charleston and it is a perfect fit for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbpetlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsy
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I've spent many, many nights here on business travel. Not my favorite, but better than other local hotels.

Staff is lovely, but that's the best thing here. Rooms a re so-so, many are musty. Kitchen facilities are almost unusable except for fridge.

Food is atrocious. Get a pizza.

Room Tip: Don't sleep anywhere near and entrance door on the first floor. You'll be up all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrifina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neptune, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here for a conference and work in WVA - location is a bit odd as its in the top of a hill in a business park like area so there is nothing in walking distance to. Rooms were just renovated a year or so ago and they were clean and fresh. Food in breakfast area was a little weak but it was free so I can't complain that much. Front Desk Staff was amazinging helpful - I forgot my mouse for my computer and they gave me the one from her desk! Overall a great experience

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsabatini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston

Property: Residence Inn Charleston
Address: 200 Hotel Cir, Charleston, WV 25311-1267
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing