We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the better Charleston hotels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Charleston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“one of the better Charleston hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

It always amazes me how expensive hotels are in Charleston. This is one of the better ones. Conveniently located to the highway and airport. It is clean, has a good breakfast, and a decent "reception" on some days. I stay here about once a year. The suites are nice if you are staying with other people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michellalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    66
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
86
43
5
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

It used to be that Residence Inns offered a pretty nice evening buffet called a Welcome Home Reception, or something like that. But, fewer and fewerRIs are doing much more than beer, wine and a snack. You can expect the minimum in Charleston, WV. More concerning than that is that on my second night, the room was made up but the computer desk, kitchen table and the kitchen counters all had stains and crumbs from my evening dinner from the night before. There were also crumbs on the kitchen floor. I REALLY like Residence Inns but the competition, Homewood suites is quickly becoming the obvious choice over RI if you are looking for the evening buffet. Their Welcome Home reception has complete meals starting with salad and maybe soup, plus a main course. I wrote this on a Tuesday evening. No evening meal so far this week. The posted evening reception offerings on my frig are for last month (the new one for the current month has not been posted). Nothing more than alcohol and a snack the last two nights (I do not drink). We’ll see if there is anything meal-wise tomorrow. It can only get better... or can it?

Room Tip: Third floor, north end, has partial city-lights view. They have fireplaces in the rooms. Nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin1402849036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, General Manager at Residence Inn Charleston, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are always interested in our guests impressions and appreciate being made aware of their experiences.
I am sorry that there was not a current calendar on your fridge. I am also sorry that housekeping did not do a thourough job in your room. We always want our guests to get a clean comfortable room and be able to relax and enjoy their stay. Our social experience is devised to be a light meal that gives our guests to get a chance to come down and enjoy a few snacks. We have social on Tues, Wed and Thursdays. Last night (the night you are refering to) we served a large green salad, cheese and crackers, cookies and non alcoholic drinks.

Tonight we are serving pulled pork sandwiches, macaronni salad, brownies and non alcholic drinks.
Thanks again for your comments. We continue to look at new ideas and items to serve during our social experience. Hope to see you at social.

Sincerely,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a clean and relatively new hotel. It is located away from the town but that is okay as long as you have transportation. The hotel is cleaned regularly and the staff are nice. The rooms were comfortable.

Room Tip: Stay away from the basketball court as it can get a little loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, General Manager at Residence Inn Charleston, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, and thanks for the great compliments. Although we are not new we do our best to make the hotel like new. We have a great crew who take great pride in taking care of our guests, hotel and each other.
We will keep an eye out for making sure the sport court doesn't get too intrusive.

Thanks again we look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed here several times and have been very pleased. Nalisa at the front desk remembers us when we walk in to check in, she is very nice and professional. The hotel is clean and quiet. We enjoyed the evening "meals" and the breakfasts are good too. It's nice to stay at a hotel that isn't right next to a busy highway. And there are nice restaurants in downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Litequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, General Manager at Residence Inn Charleston, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We always share our guest comments with the associates, it give us a chance to recognize great associates like Nalisa.

We look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent a Saturday night here before heading back to home. Very nice facility, very clean and well-appointed as expected. Good breakfast in the morning with pleanty of choices. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Go_Fish22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were on our way to Hilton Head on a much needed road trip, and chose this location as our midway stopping point. We arrived and were promptly and cordially greeted by the front desk staff. Our room was clean and in very good condition. The breakfast was both ample and adequately stocked. We enjoyed our stay so much that on the way back home we decided to stay here again as our overnight on our return leg.

Room Tip: Dont choose a lower level rear room by the basketball court if you turn in early.. the bouncing ball...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tentmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, General Manager at Residence Inn Charleston, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your nice comments, traveling can be very tiring, we are glad we could be there for you and glad that you found all that you were looking for.

Safe travels and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Oh where, oh where is my Residence? We were weary travelers driving through Charleston, WV. Our pack of six needed to rest. We are a very picky crew. We only seek the best. When our GPS directed us to a Marriot we were thrilled. We knew that we would have a good nights rest. However, this place is very difficult to find. Perched atop a hill with a very small sign at the end. Barely noticeable. Larger sign please, maybe a little higher off ground, Marriot!
Staff was very friendly. Rooms outstanding with a full modern kitchen, living room with pull out sleeper, fireplace, two bedrooms with two baths. Very comfortable beds! TV in all rooms. What more could a person ask for other than a balcony?
Breakfast in the morning was free and standard. The boys loved the basketball court. The only negative thing I have to say is that the outdoor pool was closed. Either heat it or get an indoor one. This is usually the highlight of our hotel stays!
If we are ever in the Charleston area again this would be the hotel I book.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston

Property: Residence Inn Charleston
Address: 200 Hotel Circle, Charleston, WV 25311
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing