We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and truly pet friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Charleston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Comfortable and truly pet friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I and our Cocker Spaniel spent a few days in Charleston, West Virginia to visit our son and had a great stay at the Residence Inn. The hotel is located just a few miles from downtown Charleston near shopping, restaurants and the government center. Our dog was welcomed with a bag of treats by the front desk staff and we were given information about pet services in the area. They have a designated pet walk area. The staff were friendly and accommodating for us and our pet. Some pet friendly hotels just tolerate pets but this one welcomed him. Our one bedroom suite with kitchen was great as is usual with the Marriott brand. They provided a full breakfast included in the room rate. There is also a lovely outdoor pool. There is a one time charge of $100 additional for the pet for cleaning fees. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip. Also, check out the casual restaurant, the Tricky Fish in downtown Charleston. They welcome pets on their porch and brought our dog a water bowel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryannfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, General Manager at Residence Inn Charleston, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Maryannfm,

Thank you for your comments and for choosing the Residence Inn in Charleston. I will make sure that I share your comments with the entire staff.
We work hard at doing the little things that can say alot and make a big difference.
We look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    66
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
86
43
5
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was the first time I've stayed at this marriott and I couldn't be happier. We stopped here after a 7 hour drive with two children. It was a long day. On arrival the staff greeted us like they knew us and asked how our day was. After listening the manager said he wanted to upgrade our room so we could get a good night sleep and the extra space was wonderful. The hotel was clean, good outdoor pool and nice breakfast. Location was 3 min drive to restaurants downtown. Will def recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GabbyCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, General Manager at Residence Inn Charleston, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear GabbyCharlotte_NC,

Thank you for choosing Marriott and the Residence Inn in Charleston WV. What a great comment and what a great feeling to know that we helped to make your short stay a restfull one. We know that traveling is not always easy and if we can make things a little better for our guests we will certainly do it.
I will make sure I share your comments with the entire team.
Once again thank you for choosing Marriott.

Sincerely,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I booked this place after reading all of the reviews!! It was a comfortable enough place. The service was fantastic!! I was booked into building 11. Didn't like it! I wonder what one needs to get to the other buildings. We got to the hotel around 12am after 14 hours of driving. All I did was shower, play clash of clans, sleep .... Now having breakfast!, very good.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KCFoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

It always amazes me how expensive hotels are in Charleston. This is one of the better ones. Conveniently located to the highway and airport. It is clean, has a good breakfast, and a decent "reception" on some days. I stay here about once a year. The suites are nice if you are staying with other people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michellalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

It used to be that Residence Inns offered a pretty nice evening buffet called a Welcome Home Reception, or something like that. But, fewer and fewerRIs are doing much more than beer, wine and a snack. You can expect the minimum in Charleston, WV. More concerning than that is that on my second night, the room was made up but the computer desk, kitchen table and the kitchen counters all had stains and crumbs from my evening dinner from the night before. There were also crumbs on the kitchen floor. I REALLY like Residence Inns but the competition, Homewood suites is quickly becoming the obvious choice over RI if you are looking for the evening buffet. Their Welcome Home reception has complete meals starting with salad and maybe soup, plus a main course. I wrote this on a Tuesday evening. No evening meal so far this week. The posted evening reception offerings on my frig are for last month (the new one for the current month has not been posted). Nothing more than alcohol and a snack the last two nights (I do not drink). We’ll see if there is anything meal-wise tomorrow. It can only get better... or can it?

Room Tip: Third floor, north end, has partial city-lights view. They have fireplaces in the rooms. Nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin1402849036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, General Manager at Residence Inn Charleston, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are always interested in our guests impressions and appreciate being made aware of their experiences.
I am sorry that there was not a current calendar on your fridge. I am also sorry that housekeping did not do a thourough job in your room. We always want our guests to get a clean comfortable room and be able to relax and enjoy their stay. Our social experience is devised to be a light meal that gives our guests to get a chance to come down and enjoy a few snacks. We have social on Tues, Wed and Thursdays. Last night (the night you are refering to) we served a large green salad, cheese and crackers, cookies and non alcoholic drinks.

Tonight we are serving pulled pork sandwiches, macaronni salad, brownies and non alcholic drinks.
Thanks again for your comments. We continue to look at new ideas and items to serve during our social experience. Hope to see you at social.

Sincerely,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a clean and relatively new hotel. It is located away from the town but that is okay as long as you have transportation. The hotel is cleaned regularly and the staff are nice. The rooms were comfortable.

Room Tip: Stay away from the basketball court as it can get a little loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, General Manager at Residence Inn Charleston, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, and thanks for the great compliments. Although we are not new we do our best to make the hotel like new. We have a great crew who take great pride in taking care of our guests, hotel and each other.
We will keep an eye out for making sure the sport court doesn't get too intrusive.

Thanks again we look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed here several times and have been very pleased. Nalisa at the front desk remembers us when we walk in to check in, she is very nice and professional. The hotel is clean and quiet. We enjoyed the evening "meals" and the breakfasts are good too. It's nice to stay at a hotel that isn't right next to a busy highway. And there are nice restaurants in downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Litequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, General Manager at Residence Inn Charleston, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We always share our guest comments with the associates, it give us a chance to recognize great associates like Nalisa.

We look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston

Property: Residence Inn Charleston
Address: 200 Hotel Circle, Charleston, WV 25311
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing