We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

When I booked this hotel, my major criteria was location. The cost of the room was also a plus. However, from the time I entered the front door until I left, I was pleased with the experience. The friendliness of staff, decor of my room, cleanliness, and the customer focus made this an unexpectedly pleasant experience. I will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Regenia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

I've stayed at this hotel when visiting Charleston for the past year or so. For many years I stayed at the Embassy Suites in town but found the hotel to be noisy and aging. The daily rate had risen beyond the value I had perceived so I changed hotels to the Hampton Inn. I'm very pleased with the Hampton. This hotel is quiet and clean with just the right amenities. The staff is courteous and efficient. Access to the hotel is perfect and parking is easy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel was incredibly clean. looked brand new, and the staff was amazing; very helpful and courteous. We would definitely go there again. We had never been to Charleston and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Location is great! Rooms are clean and quiet! Staff is more than friendly and professional! Flew in with no luggage! They eased my frustration with their warm welcome and offerings of the little things (that count). Lots of outlets to plug in phones, laptops, Kindles, etc. Everything you expect from Hampton Inn. This is where I stay anytime I visit Charleston, WV.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Their continental breakfast is amazing! The staff are always courteous and helpful. The facility is very clean and updated. The room are comfortable and relaxing. Definitely a good value. I never stay anywhere else when in Charleston for business!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

If you're in the area and must choose a hotel, choose this one, great location, has everything you want and need. staff great. room great. no bar so bring your own if required. breakfast was great, more than we expected.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 764petert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed with my family on a Saturday night of the time changing forward and my son was paging at the WV State Capital final session until 1 am. Wake up call set for 8:30 am actual call came at 7:30 am! So tired but did get a "we are sorry about that"! Use the alarm clock in the room instead.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Address: 1 Virginia St W, Charleston, WV 25302-2357
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £83 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere six blocks from downtown Charleston, The Hampton Inn Charleston-Downtown is a perfect stop for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of the city, find shops, restaurants, parks and more within walking distance of the hotel. Easily accessible from I-64, I-77, and I-79, and with free weekday shuttle service from Yeager Airport, getting here couldn’t be easier. Enjoy a free hot breakfast, free internet service, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing