We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Hampton - may want to check their schedule before booking.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I found this to be a typical, consistent Hampton - friendly staff, clean rooms, standard breakfast, small workout room. I would stay here again.

The only reason I mention check their schedule before booking is that during my stay there was a children's dance competition (5-15 yr olds) over the weekend that caused a lot of grumbling with guest due to kids running up and down halls to the pool loudly and making the breakfast area look like there had been a food fight on Saturday and Sunday. I have kids so it didn't bother me and every girl I met was just excited to be there. I was more suprised by those that it seemed to REALLY BOTHER.

Apparently, this happens about the same time every year and they also have some kind of band competition once/twice a year that may have the same issues for other travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

An older bldg., but fairly well maintained, and clean. A busy weekend in town, but we were able to book one Q and one K on Thurs. Staff was very accommodating to our need due to family funeral. Again, hoping that soon Hampton makes arrangements for breakfasts, but if you don't expect restaurant-type service with "real" eggs, one can be content.
I do suggest that in some way the hotel could offer (by vending or from desk) to provide cough drops and something like Chloroseptic throat spray.
At night and Sundays, one must drive to a Wal-Mart to get such items.
We walked around town and finally found cough drops at the BP station just beyond the overpass that runs behind the hotel. Desk clerk was apparently unaware of that possibility.

Room Tip: Hwy right outside our window, but not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Very clean room, friendly staff, and great breakfast. Beds could be more comfortable and it's a bit noisy next to the highway. Good location, within walking distance of river and downtown. We arrived early and they allowed for early check-in.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Talspray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Hotel was well managed and a good value. Road noise from the adjacent Interstate highway was inevitable. The walking path along the river was close at hand. If I go to Charleston again, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor at the back of the hotel to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffy_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

From the first person you meet at the desk, you have the feeling that you are in the right place. The room was very clean, staff were outstanding.

Two blocks away from the Charleston Downtown stores. What more can you ask for

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stay at Hampton Inns every time we travel, because of consistancy in the rooms and staff behavior. This stay was a little different in that on the morning after our arrival the toilet backed up on first use and spilled over onto the floor. I called the desk, and 20 minutes later a staff member arrived with a plunger. It may not seem like a big deal but being unable to use the toilet first thing in the morning certainly feels like a big deal. Twenty minutes is a short period of time unless you are in need of a bathroom and your only choice is 4 floors down. In addition, we are unaccustomed to jumping out of bed and making ourselves presentable at an early hour...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was happy to find this Hampton Inn when my wife & daughter were driving on a long trip through WV. I had called the Hotel to ask a question and the phone was answered by a manager, Vicky. She was so pleasant and explained all about the property. They arrived after 7pm and their room was nice, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was second to none. I just did a survey from Hampton and it got all 10's. Keep up the good work, our favorite hotel brand: Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rprichied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Address: 1 Virginia St W, Charleston, WV 25302-2357
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £80 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere six blocks from downtown Charleston, The Hampton Inn Charleston-Downtown is a perfect stop for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of the city, find shops, restaurants, parks and more within walking distance of the hotel. Easily accessible from I-64, I-77, and I-79, and with free weekday shuttle service from Yeager Airport, getting here couldn’t be easier. Enjoy a free hot breakfast, free internet service, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing