We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice facilities and good location, staff half-and-half”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio City, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“nice facilities and good location, staff half-and-half”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stopped in at this downtown Charleston, WV, location on the way to the southern U.S. for a one-night stay. As a diamond-level Hilton brand member, I have stayed at Hampton Inn's all over the country. This hotel is close to all of the major highways, so it is a very good loction for people passing through town.

My room was clean, amply large, and equipped with a fridge and microwave, both of which are very helpful while traveling. The hotel has a small workout room and swimming pool, which are also nice when one is travelig. The front desk staff were helpful.

However, when I left my room to go downstairs for the (free) breakfast, the cleaning staff made me feel uncomfortable by nudging me to checkout from my room earlier. It was 10 AM and checkout time is noon, so I felt this behavior inappopriate. I called the front desk staff to ask for a late checkout at 12:30 PM and made sure to insist that the front desk inform the cleaning staff.

Room Tip: This is a busy hotel during the week, so getting a room on an upper floor will make life less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ddan7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    178
    88
    35
    19
See reviews for
178
150
44
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed here in April/May for business. As always, the staff are very accommodating. I had one issue while I was staying there. I left some magazines on my bed before heading out for the day. When I came back to my room expecting my bed to be made, I instead found a note that said "Too many personal belongings on the bed. Couldn't make. Enjoy your stay." I've never stayed at a hotel not make my bed regardless of whatever was on the bed. I called the front desk and told them I didn't want the girl to get in trouble but that I just wanted them to be aware. They were very receptive to my call and promptly came up and made my bed for me; which I greatly appreciated after a long and stressful day of working away from home. Other than this minor mistake, which was quickly and efficiently resolved, I always have the best stays at Hampton Inn!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking lot and if at all possible on the end of the hotel furthest away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Carmel Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on three different nights within a ten day period. Our first night was perfect and went off without a hitch, they even let us check in a couple hours early. The third night was also great. The second night was a disaster! We booked online as usual and when we checked in it never occurred to us to make sure we were getting the room we actually booked. After the front desk clerk checked us in with only a moderate amount of politeness We found our room on the dingy fourth floor and to our dismay instead of finding the king bed we reserved we found a teeny tiny full size. And it only got worse from there. There were hairs in the shower and on the bathroom floor. When I turned on my bedside light the bulb popped and so we thought it blew and called the front desk, by this time there was a shift change and though the man seemed upset at first he came up promptly and politely fixed the lamp. Unfortunately we had to call this poor man back up after discovering that the bedsheets would not stay on the bed (at first we thought it was too small but after changing it ourselves,which we were happy to do, we are a bit worried that it was just used). While he did bring up the sheet promptly he only brought up the bottom sheet and so that's the only fresh sheet we had. My husband and I are quiet people and would never submit complaints but the sheets and dirty handprint on the top of the shower wall were too much for me. I had hoped that when we checked out we would have an opportunity to let them know about the room but we handed in our keys and the young lady dismissed us with a thank you and went back to the computer without ever asking if everything was okay. I suppose I should also mention that the drink machine on the fifth floor (the fourth was out of water) dispenses HOT drinks. Our other two stays were on the second floor and the level of cleanliness was incredibly better than the fourth floor. I would advise to bring your own clorox wipes as we did have to clean up some coffee off the desk but those little things don't bother us.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MoshuaJisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Overall this is a nice hotel. Although our room was claimed to be non-smoking, there was certainly an odor that made me believe the contrary. The breakfast was adequate, but if you're looking for a place to sit and eat, it wasn't available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Daryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is average, the staff is excellent, and the downtown entertainment is out of this world. Who would have thought that Charleston would have river front entertainment. While I was there on business, the front desk staff shared the river front entertainement. I saw Mother Nature and a lead singer who sounded alot like Stevie Nicks. The free concert was out of the world! I will not stay at this hotel for pleasure but will go back to Charleston just for the entertainment. Thank you Hampton for asking my opinion!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickson, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My stay was very pleasant and the staff were very helpful and courteous. The location of the hotel allowed easy access to where I needed to go. The breakfast was healthy and provided many choices. The hotel also present many perks, i.e. fitness room and pool that make for a nice stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Charleston, WV and would love to stay there again when I go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Lyme, CT
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed one night while we were on the road. It's adjacent to the highway so road noise might be an issue w/ rooms on that side, we stayed on the opposite side from the highway and didn't have any problems. The A/C unit was quiet too. The shuttle driver will take you wherever you need to go. Took us to the Kroeger in the evening and waited for us (said he doesn't like to leave people there after dark, as it's a "bad" part of town) Good free b'fast as with all Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Address: 1 Virginia St W, Charleston, WV 25302-2357
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere six blocks from downtown Charleston, The Hampton Inn Charleston-Downtown is a perfect stop for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of the city, find shops, restaurants, parks and more within walking distance of the hotel. Easily accessible from I-64, I-77, and I-79, and with free weekday shuttle service from Yeager Airport, getting here couldn’t be easier. Enjoy a free hot breakfast, free internet service, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing